We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best holiday we've had for a long time, hope to go back next year.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Harbour View Guest House
Ranked #3 of 5 Newlyn B&B and Inns
Scotland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best holiday we've had for a long time, hope to go back next year.”
Reviewed 13 July 2009

We booked this holiday in January 2009 as it was a working fishing port which my husband has a keen interest in being an ex fisherman. In this respect it met all our expectations. As we arrived late at night we did not meet Joy until the next morning at breakfast, where we were warmly met by Joy and other guests. For breakfast there was fresh fruit, yogurt, cereals, full english breakfast or any combination thereof. Also tea, fresh coffee, toast either white or brown bread with a choice of preserves. This standard maintained for the full 10 days of our holiday. The first thing we noticed when we entered our room was the panoramic views of Newlyn harbour. There was a king sized bed which was spotless and very comfortable. There was a washhand basin and shower in our room and the dedicated toilet facility for our room was four steps across the corridor. there was personal touches such as shower gel, hand soap and paper tissues that were replaced when required. Guests are also encouraged to use the kitchen facilities downstairs for tea/coffee, also guests can bring in take-away meals. Joy was helpful and informative on places of interest locally which helped us to plan our daily activities.
As we do not drive we found Mousehole and Penzance within comfortable walking distance and the local bus service for further afield allowed us to expand our range. We enjoyed some of the local pubs and restaurants and met with a warm welcome from local people anywhere we went, especially the Fishermans Rest where we were made to feel welcome, comfortable and included. Overall we had a brilliant holiday and Joy Collinson who we feel is now a friend was an excellent hostess who we hope to see again next year.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank freedomcampbell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    57
    24
    2
    3
    5
See reviews for
23
46
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
South Lakeland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2009

Our only disappointment was a smallish room, however the view more than made up for that, the house is aptly named. The bed was comfortable and the room was warm and cosy. The home, for that is what it felt like, was very comfortable and clean. The location is good, being in a quiet situation within easy walking distance of Penzance and Mousehole along the coast. The breakfasts were very good, and there was plenty of choice. We particularly liked the easy going atmosphere and the freedom to make hot or cold drinks whenever we wanted. The lovely view, the location, the friendliness of the Landlady making it good value for money and we will recommend it to anyone visiting the area.

Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank westhammers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth WA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2009

Our stay in Harbour view B&B was great. The B&B is clean and comfortable and also convenient to Panzance and area. The breakfasts were great and Host Joy very friendly and helpful.

Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Notya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
totton
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2009

The only drawback is that you have to pay for overnight parking,would suggest negotiating with the local council for concessionws for tourism.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TottonYarrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corby
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2009

This is an excellent B & B for those on a budget.
We expierienced both good friendly service and clean accomodation.
The Location is very good, overlooking Sea views and being near to a
pay car park.
The room was on the small side but adequate and functional.
Breakast was good and well above average.
Recommended.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tony1765
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 June 2009

We had a really nice time staying there, the room had a nice view over the harbour and further away you could see mount saint-Michael.
Joy was very helpful and knows a lot about the area.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ceclasolaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lazy_kitty
Level 6 Contributor
200 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2009

We were greeted by the lady owner which were very friendly and polite. The rooms were not all ensuite but not a problem as the toilet was marked clearly only for the use of our room. Clean and comfortable room with nice view of the Newlyn harbour, shower in the room. The room are facing the main road with a little bit of car passing by noises but we got no problem with that.
We got nice lovely english breakfast (sausage, bacon, egg, tomatoes, mushroom), watermelon, different kind cereals and coffee,tea,orange juices. We paid for only £50/night and I think its a good price in Penzance. They do not have a private carpark but we park at the public carpark just a few steps from the b&b. 5pm-10am its only £3.30, beware that the carpark are first come first serve, might get full up by late evening as its only a few lots available. Or can park at the bigger carpark at the harbour and have to walk up to the b&b, not far only 3minutes.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lazy_kitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newlyn
1.7 mi away
Hotel Penzance
Hotel Penzance
#1 of 4 in Penzance
799 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Queens Hotel
The Queens Hotel
#3 of 4 in Penzance
458 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Lamorna Cove Hotel
The Lamorna Cove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lamorna
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Higher Faugan Parc
Higher Faugan Parc
#21 of 82 in Penzance
126 reviews
1.2 mi away
Artist Residence Cornwall
Artist Residence Cornwall
#7 of 82 in Penzance
558 reviews
0.9 mi away
Westbourne Guest House
Westbourne Guest House
#33 of 82 in Penzance
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbour View Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour View Guest House

Property: Harbour View Guest House
Address: 22 Fore Street | Penzance, Newlyn, Penzance TR18 5JW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Penzance > Newlyn
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Newlyn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newlyn harbourside Guest House has stunning views from all front double rooms across the harbour and Mounts Bay - situated between Penzance and Mousehole in SW Cornwall - 10 miles from St Ives and Lands End. There is a warm, friendly and relaxed atmosphere with free tea/coffee, and free wifi. We are the only B&B in Newlyn which has direct 180 degree views across the bay, and we are the cheapest. Free Breakfast is served in the dining room overlooking the harbour. All rooms refurbished this year. We have 3 double rooms, overlooking the harbour, with CH, wifi, digital tv, tea/coffee tray, hairdryer, alarm clock radio, toiletries and private or ensuite facilities. Suite 3, sleeping 4, has a double bedded ensuite room overlooking the harbour, a sunny rear twin room, and adjoining that a private bathroom. It can also be booked as a triple or a twin. Suite 3a (the front double ensuite) can also be booked as a double or single occupancy. Suite 3b (the rear twin) can be booked as a twin or single occupancy. There are plenty of pubs serving food (the nearest being 4 doors' away) and 3 restaurants. Our local village is 300 yards down the hill with a variety of shops, a fish and chip shop serving freshly caught fish, and a cinema. We are on the coastpath, cycle route 3, a main bus route and have coastal walking in both directions. Buses can be caught in the village to Land's End, Sennen Cove, Porthcurno beach and The Minack Theatre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Harbour View Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbour View Guest House Newlyn, Penzance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing