We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Be adventurous”

The Restaurant at Cavas Wine Lodge
Ranked #1 of 2 Restaurants in Agrelo
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$40 - US$70
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: At Cavas Wine Lodge’s we are convinced that the best-tasting food is organically grown and harvested in ways that are ecologically sound. The menu changes every 3 months, designed to be appropriate to the season and composed to show off the finest ingredients obtainable. The restaurant is open for lunch and dinner Monday through Sunday, by reservation only. Lunch served from 11:30 am, dinner starting 7 pm. We welcome children over 12 years of age.
SF bay area
Level Contributor
126 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Be adventurous”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2013

We were staying at the lodge, so we had breakfast and dinner there. The breakfast was good, buffet (fruit, yogurt, cereal, sliced ham, cheeses, etc.) with made-to-order eggs. The service is friendly and attentive. The dining room has a lovely view of the Andes behind the vineyard.

For dinner we had squid stuffed with sweetbreads, green salad, goat prepared 3 ways, and lamb. The squid and goat were both excellent. The only disappointment was the lamb which was not as tender or moist as other slow cooked meats we have had in Argentina. We also had ice cream which was not as good as Freddo brand (a bit gummy and with weak flavors).
700 pesos ($150 US) for 2 without wine.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BusyMomof4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    132
    42
    8
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Nice!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2013

I was staying in Cavas for three days and enjoyed the restaurant with my wife. The menu is great and the wine list is wide.
If you're visiting Mendoza, it's a great place to visit and enjoy a great food experience.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank NikadVise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edgewater, New Jersey
Level Contributor
275 reviews
159 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
“Great food and ambience.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2013

Dinner at the Cavas wine lodge was a very enjoyable experience.
We dined in their private wine cellar.it was quite and romantic. The food and service was excellent. This is a must visit in the wine country.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lawrence O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
448 reviews
184 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 215 helpful votes
“Wine tasting dinner under the stars - yum”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2013

House party atmosphere with thirty multi national and multi cultural guests around a cruciform table outside lit by naken flares - very romantic.

Food was excellent with the de rigeur Argie steak.

Vertical tasting of wines from one of the local wineries with detailed briefing - a hedonists' delight

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sm0ky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mendoza, Argentina
Level Contributor
63 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Still has the atmosphere and food quality BUT”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013

I have to say my favorite dining place in Mendoza has taken an annoying turn during the last 2 years. Cavas Wine Lodge is still a 10 out of 10 in atmosphere and food quality, but prices have risen dramatically. That is understandable cause inflation has appeared in all aspects of life here. The part I can¨t overlook is the size of the servings especially the starters. Come on Cavas I know you are French gourmet and that doesn¨t equal large portions- but I'm not looking for that--only a starter that you can share with another person and manage to get more than a very small mouthful. The quality and artistic design does not make up for the lack of size, charge a few more pesos and keep us all happy!!!! On every other front you are still managing to easily stay on top!!!!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank rosino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DiscoverMendoza, Propietario at The Restaurant at Cavas Wine Lodge, responded to this review, 15 April 2013
Dear rosino, thank you so much for sharing your opinion on our restaurant. We are happy when patrons come back and back again. Regarding your comment on portions we are truly not pretending to be French gourmet in Argentina. Since our guests have big meals during the day with the wine pairings at the wineries, we like to offer a formula with starter, main course and dessert that does not make you feel heavy. But as you say, we strive to be at the top and that means listening to our guests, so we will carefully look into your point wih our chef- who is talented and open minded-and see whether a sharing portion would be best in the starters section. We thank you for taking the time to write 2 reviews and look forward to having you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Restaurant at Cavas Wine Lodge also viewed

 
Mendoza, Province of Mendoza
 

Been to The Restaurant at Cavas Wine Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing