We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful location spoiled by ineptitude and rudeness”
Review of Kembu Cottages

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Njoro
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Kembu Cottages
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
56 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Beautiful location spoiled by ineptitude and rudeness”
Reviewed 21 March 2014

We stayed in Kenana cottage which was spacious and comfortable with beautiful surroundings. We did not use the restaurant or bar and the kitchen was well-equipped for self-catering. Our rating would have been much better if it weren't for the checkout process. As we waited to pay for accommodation at the end of our stay, one of the staff checked the cottage and discovered that a towel was 'missing', claiming that she had checked the number of towels with us on arrival - which was a blatant lie. We were then barred from leaving the property until the towel had been 'found' and were subjected to the insult of having our bags and suitcases unloaded from the car and searched; after which, surprise, surprise, no towel was found! Although the owner was very apologetic at this point, such a state of affairs should never have occurred as no inventory was shared and signed on our arrival. Either implement a system that works or leave guests unharassed! This left a bitter taste on our departure and we were late for an important appointment. ...and the promised apology from the female staff member (Mary?) never materialized.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Pete H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    14
    2
    4
    2
See reviews for
21
14
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Level Contributor
60 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2014

Whilst a bit of a bumpy trek to reach, this sprawling but well maintained set up is worth it. We were self catering camping but upgraded to a cottage with THE most amazing outdoor area. Inside it was beautifully decorated and colonial in style. The lit fire and the steaming hot baths were very welcome. My only complaint is the whiskey was expensive and there was a mouse loose about the house.

Great open fire pit outside too.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cider_with_rosie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

We were there last week-end, the place is nice and well kept but definitely overpriced, no value for money. The breakfast was extremely poor (they have a dairy farm but no fresh yoghurt or cheese was offered for instance) but it costed us 1750 Ksh. The accommodations are nice but as well way too expensive. It could be a nice break from Nairobi but I think for that money it is possible to find something better.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank EQNairobi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cesena, Italy
Level Contributor
1,178 reviews
198 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3,066 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2013

this is a great place if you wanna visit Nakuru National Park.
we spent two nights in there camping, the area is spacious, clean and green; showers are quite often cold but we are in africa and we can't complain. in the evening staff usually prepare a fire where you can stand relaxing and watching sthe starry sky. you can play ping pong, darts or pool. Nice place. very recommended

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lymington, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 17 December 2013

This was a wonderful stay. The owners Zoe and Andrew were the perfect hosts and this trip felt like a home from home. The farm is lush and green with the most amazing plants I have ever seen. Each cottage has it's own personality and privacy. The staff were polite and unintrusive, especially Issac who was amazing. The food was plentiful and delicious cooked on your own cottage. So great to have a cosy fire to curl up in front of at night after a perfect days sightseeing. They have a cosy bar and pizza oven on site.
This is a real treat and I cannot recommend it highly enough if you are travelling this way.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Havelock north nz
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Fantastic comfortable spacious accomodation.great food and wonderful setting on a working farm, it gave us a chance to tour a working farm in Kenya, we enjoyed seeing some excellent woollen products being exported from the farm.
we came into a roaring fire each night, and enjoyed the hearty food served at each meal.

Room Tip: All the houses were lovely, but we had the large homestead furthest from the restaurant, it was luxu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoEHavelocknorthnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
derbyshire
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013

This was my 3rd visit to Kembu, I have previously visited with my family and had a perfect February stay in Albizia cottage where I really enjoyed sitting in the sun reading a book knowing that it was snowing at home. On my most recent visit in July I was with a group of 36 camping in our own tents. Two of our party chose to stay in Acacia cottage and like all the other cottages you feel like you've got your own private garden and it's very peaceful. Zoe and Andrew are both very helpful and assisted us to book transport including a great game drive in Lake Nakuru Park. We had pizza one night from the pizza oven which was delicious.
It was a first visit for the rest of the party and they all want to return and I will definitely be back.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrs_sun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Njoro
15.4 mi away
Sarova Lion Hill Game Lodge
Sarova Lion Hill Game Lodge
#1 of 3 in Lake Nakuru National Park
829 reviews
11.5 mi away
Midland Hotel Nakuru
Midland Hotel Nakuru
#1 of 17 in Nakuru
59 reviews
17.7 mi away
Lake Nakuru Lodge
Lake Nakuru Lodge
#3 of 7 in Lake Nakuru National Park
664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.2 mi away
Mbweha Camp
Mbweha Camp
#4 of 7 in Lake Nakuru National Park
85 reviews
16.0 mi away
Maili Saba Camp - Nakuru
Maili Saba Camp - Nakuru
#5 of 7 in Lake Nakuru National Park
80 reviews
7.3 mi away
Ziwa Bush Lodge
Ziwa Bush Lodge
#1 of 33 in Nakuru
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kembu Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kembu Cottages

Property: Kembu Cottages
Address: C56 Road | between Njoro & Elburgon towns, Njoro 20107, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Njoro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Njoro
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Self catering and Fully Serviced Holiday Cottages based on a beautiful Up-Country Farm in Highland Kenya. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing