We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Agriturismo Tenuta Castel Venezze
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 August 2011

Our goal was to find a nice country resort in the Venice area to allow for a one day visit to the city. We stayed two days in one of the rooms in the main building.
Good room. Airco was a great plus in this very hot period.
Very friendly staff.
Option to have dinner is very good too.
In a 50 min drive you can reach the Fusina ferry to Venice.
Ella & Ronald
Luzern, Switzerland

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ronald115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (203)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

47 - 53 of 203 reviews

Reviewed 27 August 2011

Travelled with great expectations, however progressively disillusioned as we approached the uninspiring area and with growing concern as the car was assaulted by the long unkempt drive past a derelict castle. The place itself was as advertised. Our reception was OK but on requesting dinner we were told we would need to be squeezed in as we should have booked 24 hours in advance. We stayed in a self catering house which was large, immaculately clean and comfortable. We had a big problem with shade. The lack of a canopy / parasol or similar made it impossible to sit / eat outside of the accommodation. The grass was also unkempt / uncut making our garden uninviting whilst we were there. The lack of shade continued at the pool with only one umbrella. We raised this with the staff to be told that guests broke the umbrellas so they did not replace them and we should move the (eight foot cast iron) table under the trees ( amongst the mosquitoes! thistles and longer grass). We felt this hotel needed to develop a customer service ethos.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DPBDON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Castel-Venezze, Manager at Agriturismo Tenuta Castel Venezze, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2011

Dear Sirs,

Thanks for your review, that will give us the possibility to improve our service, but please allow me also to give you our point of view.

In our website is clearly reported that guests who have not booked the half board accommodation, but wish to have dinner in our resort during their stay, are required to book it at least one day in advance. The reason for that is quite simple. Our philosophy is to cook and serve only fresh food of the day. Every morning we go to the market, we buy the ingredients for the number of guests booked, we cook homemade pasta, we have no "à la carte" menu in order to keep every day a high quality and freshness. Moreover, our small dining room is for up to 30 people. We are not a restaurant with 200 seats, we are an "agriturismo" with a specific "slow-food" identity and without a capacity of a traditional restaurant.

The "derelit castle" and the broken street you mention really exist, you are right. But they are respectively an ancient Venetian villa of the 15th century, recognized by all major cultural association (like "Ville Venete e Castelli", as you can see in our website) and an original medieval and roman street, once used by horses and coaches to reach Padua and Venice from Ferrara. Maybe you'd have preferred a much more comfortable asphalt road, but this is also far away from our philosophy.

About the grass and the shelter...our gardener mow the grass each week, on saturday morning, and both the swimming pool and the apartments are surrounded by trees and plants, as you can see from the many pictures in the website. We prefer them much more than modern "beach umbrellas" . The freshness of our garden is one of the most beloved aspect of our resort.

Anyway, I'm really sorry you have not apreciated our services, but a resort of the 15th century in the middle of the venetian country does not have (and must not have, from our point of view) the same standards of a traditional modern hotel or à la carte restaurant in a town centre.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2011

Hotel in name but not in nature. A unique location in many ways. We prefer to stay in the apartments (one side of the complex are modern, the other side traditional) and in this case, you self-cater and are left alone to enjoy the facilities (you can still book hotel meals).
As a 'hotel guest', the fantastic homemade dinners are a highlight. Comfort Rooms are just that, perfectly adequate for purpose: the Superior rooms simply offer you more space.
The pool is excellent and as a lot of people go exploring the region by day, you can often find yourself enjoying it virtually to yourselves.
Some might find the relaxed environment a little frustrating because there are times when the reception will be unmanned (the owner lives on-site so she can often help out instead)but this is a small price to pay for this unique experience.
In summary, a beautiful location, quiet and relaxing, which is centrally positioned for several tourist areas.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lowey6463
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2011

Authentic location. Superb housing. Marvelous starting point to explore the Veneto : Ferrara, Padova, Vicenza, Venezia, the laguna, the Palladio villa's...
We had both dinner in our private little garden/terrace (with BBQ) and booked in table in Maria's restaurant with superb own cooking at reasonable prices.
A warm thank you to Riccardo, Maria and especially Suzanna.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OlivierM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2011

My favorite place on our two-week trip. Among smaller towns and lovely farmland, yet close to major transportation routes. It was a beautiful setting, well-maintained and appointed facilities, yet with a rustic flavor. The rates were very reasonable--ours included breakfast and dinner, and everyone was friendly, gracious, and accommodating. I would not hesitate to recommend it.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julietraveler_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2011

My girlfriend and I rented one of the apartments (Leccio) because we enjoy doing our own cooking. It was very well furnished and the kitchen was well equipped (except for the odd omission of a spatula!)

Every part of the Venezze is very old, but has been updated tastefully. There's a fireplace (which we used twice), a grill outside and excellent air-conditioning. The pool is lovely and just the thing after a day of travel.

We chose to to focus out day trips on Padua and some of the nearby medieval towns (Este, Monselice), but it would be an easy drive to Bologna and Verona, too.

Maria, the owner, and very much the "face" of the Venezze, is an energy force. She is on top of every detail to a level only found in 5-star hotel. She's really nice, too! We did not eat at the hotel as we did our own cooking.

We've done house rentals before and found the Venezze to be top quality.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarolnRobb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2011

We have stayed in the apartnement with our children aged 8,9 and 11. The apartment has 2 nice bedrooms, a great kitchen and an lovely sitting room also for the colder evenings. The breakfast is basic but allright.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Utrechtfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Martino di Venezze
1.2 mi away
Agriturismo Corte Carezzabella
Agriturismo Corte Carezzabella
#2 of 2 in San Martino di Venezze
74 reviews
5.1 mi away
Agriturismo Millefiori - Corte delle Rose
10.2 mi away
Corte Bussari
Corte Bussari
#1 of 3 in Arqua Polesine
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Agriturismo Tenuta Castel Venezze? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agriturismo Tenuta Castel Venezze

Address: Via Feniletti 420, 45030 San Martino di Venezze, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Rovigo > San Martino di Venezze
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in San Martino di Venezze
Price Range: £55 - £415 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tenuta Castel Venezze is an orginal Venetian Villa of the sixteenth-century, built on the ruins of a Medieval Castle. The original antiques furniture and ornaments of the rooms reflect the elegant style of the past centuries. It is the ideal destination for a relaxing rural stay, in a natural oasis of peace, full of history and culture, surrounded by the greenery of 200 hectares of fields and woods.Its central location, in the heart of the Italian North-East allows you to discover all the main cities of art of the region: Venice, Verona, Padua, Ferrara, Bologna, the natural treasures in the Po Delta, the medieval small villages on the Euganean Hills ...and much more. All these destinations are just 30 - up to 60 minutes drive.For lovers of sports, a Horse Riding Centre and a nice Golf Course are only 5 km away. There are some more Acivities and Excursions you can do during your stay at Tenuta Castel Venezze, like our Hands-on Cooking Lessons and the Wine Tasting Tours with our Sommelier. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your Agriturismo Tenuta Castel Venezze reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tenuta Castel Venezze Rovigo
Tenuta Castel Venezze Hotel Rovigo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing