We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oliver is a master teacher who also teaches other pros!”

American Tennis Academy
Book In Advance
More Info
US$67.33*
and up
St Martin 4-Person Tennis Clinic
Ranked #20 of 66 things to do in Saint-Martin
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: American Tennis Academy is a complete tennis facility located on the French side of St. Martin. We offer tennis training programs for Juniors and Adults of all skill levels as well as tennis vacation packages, tennis lessons, tennis clinics and court rentals. For tennis lessons with Oliver it's best to reserve in advance. We can also set up games for tennis players who are on vacation on St. Martin. 2 lighted tennis courts, open 7/7, Snack Lounge with Wifi access as well as an Outlet store where you can find the top brands at great prices.
Reviewed 11 November 2013

That's right. He is invited to instruct teaching pros each year in the Dominican Republic which just showed me how effective and passionate this guy really is. I recently took four one-hour lessons from him at his beautiful facility located just 10 miles from the Oyster Bay resort on the French/Dutch border. He completely re-engineered my forehand (after having developed numerous bad habits over several years of playing), made my serve more consistent and fluid, and tweeked my backhand to enable more pop (and control) for the buck! After each session, I wrote notes of the main points of his instruction and reviewed the notes with him at the begining of the next session. Since returning home in Massachustts, I have taken my ball machine out and have been able to begin putting together all of his finer points and getting into a new grove of shot making. I was so impressed with his teaching skill that I
literally gave up snorkeling, fishing, and jet skiing in trading for his instruction. Oliver has constructed his facility from scratch and his courts and pro shop are a marvel of leading-edge technology. His wife Jennifer is a gracious host and partner. Tennis players: do yourselves a favor and try a lesson with Oliver Becaud. I guarantee you will not be able to take only one...look what happened to me!!

Thank robert p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Les900, Owner at American Tennis Academy, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2013

Dear robert p,

Thank you for sharing your positive experience with this travel community. Tennis is my job but also my passion and I thank you for pointing out that I put my heart and soul into making better tennis players. Your review reflects this very well. Oliver

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (131)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"bad habits"
in 10 reviews
"pro shop"
in 6 reviews
"taking lessons"
in 4 reviews
"great lessons"
in 3 reviews
"valuable tips"
in 2 reviews
"american breakfast"
in 2 reviews
"ball machine"
in 2 reviews
"his passion"
in 3 reviews
"visit st"
in 3 reviews
"oliver"
in 112 reviews
"court"
in 48 reviews
"techniques"
in 30 reviews
"strokes"
in 9 reviews
"teacher"
in 14 reviews
"teaching"
in 21 reviews
"technician"
in 6 reviews
"vacation"
in 21 reviews
Filter

95 - 99 of 131 reviews

Reviewed 8 November 2013

We came to St. Martin to celebrate our 35th wedding anniversary. We decided to take some tennis lessons while we were here. Words can't explain what we learned in a very short amount of time. Oliver misses nothing and handily corrected all of our tennis strokes. His patience and diligence really pays off. He genuinely cares and doesn't give up until he downloads what is needed into your brain. We have revisited St. Martin fir many years for its fine food and beaches, now we will visit St. Martin for its fine tennis instruction as well! Definitely going back to see Oliver and his lovely wife and are excited to see what other improvements we can make while we are here. Dave and Robin

Thank Robin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Les900, Owner at American Tennis Academy, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2013

Dear Robin J,
Thank you for taking your time to share your positive experience at American Tennis Academy. I'm glad to hear that you were very satifsfied with your tennis lessons and with what you have learned. We are looking forward to seeing you on your next visit. Oliver

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

I originally signed up for one lesson and ended up taking two. I had clear instructions and it really helped me fix my forehand. I had not been playing in a while due to an injury and my strokes were a little funky. These lessons really got me back on track. By the way Olivier, I won my first two matches when I returned from vacation! I am considered a 4.0 player and was pleased that the level of instruction was appropriate. I would recommend instructions to anyone who wants to fine tune their game or learn to play tennis. In fact, I have recommended you to a few of my friends. Keep up the good work.

ps I could have done without the tshirt sales hype....

Thank Norbert20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Les900, Owner at American Tennis Academy, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2013

Dear Norbert20,
Thank you for taking your time to write a review. We are happy to hear that your lesson experience met your expectations and that you have won your matches! Hope to see you again on your next visit. Best Oliver

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

My family arrived on the island for a beach vacation with not intention of playing tennis. We brought a skim board not tennis rackets, but while on the island as i was lining up things it to i read that American Tennis Academy was the top ranked attraction in St. Martin. It was on the exact oppposite side of the island from us (we were staying at Simpson Bay) but i was so intrigues i had to check it out. I love the game but play only occasionally however my two sons play competitively in highschool and after school leagues respectively (they are 16 and 11). I arranged for a 2 hour lesson for the 3 of us. Oliver provided the raquets and fortunately we all brought tennis shoes. The lesson was so great that by the end of my one week vacation we had made the trip 3 times for a total of 6 hours of lessons and i would have done more if i had the time! Oliver is an outstanding instructeor, a technician as he likes to remind us. We have had several instructors over the years and he was by far the best at breaking down what we were doing into its essential elements and improving, correcting and rebuilding it. He was able to relate to all 3 of us in easy to comprehend terms with exercises and explanations that were intuitive and immediately effective. He encouraged video taping of his lessons and aided in the camera shot set up. His energy is infectious and his dedication to our improvement was remarkable. Tennis aside, his dedication to serving his student is inspirational to anyone who provides a service to another. Oliver trains champions but he gave us the same level of attention and commitment. I am a physician and i was jealous of his bedside manner. My children and i agreed that we had learned the most in the shortest period of time with Oliver and we could really see the improvement as we were ripping balls precisely across the court. I've never seen my boys play so well. Oliver's wife Jennifer is the perfect host and i understand she is an impressive athlete as well. She made my wife feel right at home as she waited off court for us for hours over the course of our vacation. In spite of all the other amazing things we did on our trip from scuba to windsurfing to jet skiing to a day trip to St. Barts, i really got the most out of my time with Oliver and Jennifer. If you love tennis or just want to learn dont miss this opportunity.

1  Thank Aaron S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Les900, Owner at American Tennis Academy, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2013

Dear aaron s,

Thank you very much for sharing your positive experience at American Tennis Academy in such a detailed way. We are happy to hear that your entire family had an excellent time and that you have very much appreciated Oliver's professional instruction. We wish you and your family all the best, until your next visit.
Kind regards,
Oliver and Jennifer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 27 July 2013

My family had the pleasure to take lessons with Oliver this summer. This turned out to be one of our favorite highlights of staying in St. Martin. The lessons we learned were invaluable not only for our tennis skills, but for life. My kids loved him, he made it fun and educational and I will never forget to move like a tiger next time I face an opponent on or off the court.

Thank sfrenk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Les900, Manager at American Tennis Academy, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2013

We are glad to hear that your time at American Tennis Academy made your vacation extra special! We will see you on your next trip.
Jennifer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed American Tennis Academy also viewed

Saint-Martin, St Martin / St Maarten
 
Orient Bay, Saint-Martin
Saint-Martin, St Martin / St Maarten
 

Been to American Tennis Academy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing