We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Compton House
Nearby Hotels
US$108
PremierInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Penscot Inn(Shipham)
US$110
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$87
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$84
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$72
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$59
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Days Inn Sedgemoor M5(Cheddar)(Great Value!)
US$59
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$97
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$117
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$108
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rookery Manor(Edingworth)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (45)
Filter reviews
45 results
Traveller rating
36
9
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
36
9
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewselizabethan roombeautiful housecheddar gorgefour poster bedcomfortable staycooked breakfastnight staywellspubscountrysideglastonburyweddingbath
Filter
Updating list...
29 - 34 of 45 reviews
Reviewed 1 June 2013 via mobile

Really feel here that you are at home here even though it may be nothing like your home. Don't let front of house look put u off. Inside and back and garden lovely. Spacious and chracterful. Let the owner cook u an evening meal available on request. Delicious and excellent value. Spent couple of nights here and would def return. Handy for cheddar and wells

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wavesport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Beautiful house and as you are greeted at the door by Patricia you feel relaxed very welcome and feel at home.
We stayed in the Elizabethan Room and it really was a fantastic room. The four poster bed was so comfortable, The bathroom was outstanding, everything was so clean.
Patricia served us tea in the garden when we arrived and the garden is outstanding, She really made me feel like lady of the manor.
Breakfast was Fantastic and we also had that served to us in the garden.
Great place to stay if you are visiting Cheddar Gorge & Wookey Hole.
We can't fault Compton House. Fantastic A**********

Room Tip: The Elizabethan Room Is Perfect and it's A Huge Room With a lot of History.
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2013

We stayed for one night at Compton House and booked the Panel Room.
What a beautiful house and the Panel Room made us feel very special. It really felt like stepping back in time, but with enough mod cons to make it a lovely comfortable stay. The bed was incredibly comfortable and having shutters at the windows kept out lots of light, so we had a lovely restful night. The view from the bedroom was stunning and the garden is gorgeous.
Patricia was absolutely lovely and nothing was too much trouble. She made us a wonderful breakfast with a huge selection of goodies and a fresh cooked hot breakfast.
The only disappointment was that we weren't able to stay longer. An absolute delight and a real treat.

Room Tip: The Panel Room has a four poster bed and looks out over the garden and fields beyond. It also has a standalone bath in the room - lovely!
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FloraPink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2013

Amazing house - I can't wait to have an excuse to go back. The room was beautful, the breakfast excellent and the owner very welcoming. All very good value too. I wish we had more time to explore the house and the garden. A must for anyone visiting the area.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dominic S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2012

This really is a stunning house and the views from the back rooms are to die for. Patricia was very welcoming and made us a lovely tray of tea when we arrived. Breakfast was a little disappointing. Lovely cereals. yoghurt, toast with tasty preserves and fruit. The toaster sounded as quirky as the house...it only toasts on one side!!! Cooked breakfast was limited to 2 rashers, 2 eggs, grilled toms. Sausages would have been welcome but ut was fine.

No restsurant/meals at the hotel but a couple of nice pubs in the area. The Lamb Inn a 5 min walk down to the pretty village is worth a visit.

The only down sides...no shower in the Panel Room and the door to the ensuite loo and sink does not seal ...good job I know my hubby very well!! Not one for a first weekend away with your new boyfriend!! And our son enjoyed watching tv in the bath in the room.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BecsSurreyUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews