We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Silver Peaks Lodge
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Excellent 5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Manor Motel(Dunedin)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (107)
Filter reviews
107 results
Traveller rating
79
17
8
3
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
79
17
8
3
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsb bnew zealandsheep shearingeggsdelicious breakfastfarm staysausagerolling hillsat homemade us feelbeautiful viewsilver peakunforgettable experienceclose to the airportroom was largeeach morningnext morning
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
66 - 71 of 107 reviews
Reviewed 25 October 2013

Silver Peaks Lodge is a working sheep farm and we enjoyed the farm demonstrations. The accommodations were nice and the views from the "farm house" were fantastic. The lodge offers fully cooked breakfasts which were outstanding. The weather during our stay was rather cool but some of the rooms didn't have heaters and electrical outlets, particularly in the bathrooms, were limited.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank intrepidPhoenix_AZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SilverPeaksLodge, Owner at Silver Peaks Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2013

Thank you for your lovely review. We are really sorry you felt the cold during your stay and we do apologize for not checking with you. We have a heat pump in the guest bedroom area and there are fan heaters in all the bathrooms plus in the winter we have underfloor heating. We would certainly have given you another heater if we had known you were feeling the cold. If you ever come and visit us again please don't hesitate to ask. Many thanks again and best wishes.
Chrissie and Michael.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

When we first went to Silver Peaks, we thought we were at the wrong place. We sure were glad it was correct. It was a big and beautiful house with a farm full of friendly animals and fantastic view. Everyday we hear the beautiful chirping of birds with the wonderful view of hills and mountains and farm animals. There was even a farm demonstration and hot or cold breakfast depending on your preference. The hosts were very kind, friendly and helpful people. Would have loved to stay there longer or even retire in a place like that.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CHUAYH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SilverPeaksLodge, Owner at Silver Peaks Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2013

Thank you so much for the review. We thoroughly enjoyed meeting you and hope to see you again one day when you're ready to retire!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013

We had a great time in otago. The sights,the beer, and sliver peaks lodge. The location has breathtaking scenery. A little out of the city, but as we had a rental car it wasn't a problem. Great services, excellent breakfast. Sorry we to had take the shield back to hawkes bay with us

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Craig H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SilverPeaksLodge, Owner at Silver Peaks Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2013

Ha Ha!! Thanks for the review - was nice to meet you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2013

We stayed at the Silver Peaks Lodge for just one night as a stop over in Dunedin, on our way to Queenstown. We were travelling with another family so had 3 rooms. The rooms were comfortable and very clean. Breakfast was divine. We had a fully cooked breakfast, cereal, fruit, tea, coffee etc. It was delicious. The breakfast table was set up so nicely and the view from the dining room was fantastic. The house has a lovely country feel. We had an enjoyable time, although it was a short stay we would highly recommend it. Chrissy is a lovely lady and will be sure to look after you. Thanks Chrissy for making our stay a pleasant one!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nette1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SilverPeaksLodge, Owner at Silver Peaks Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2013

Thank you so much for the wonderful review! We're really pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and hope the rest of your holiday in New Zealand went well. Best wishes Chrissie and Michael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2013

We took the biggest room for 2 night stay in end May 2013. The weather was surprisingly cold and even snowed. The room and bathroom did not have heater. Fortunately, we were the only occupants staying there for that 2 nights, we requested for the portable heater along the corridor to be pushed into our room. Chrissy was very nice to let us bring it in.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GiseleLow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews