We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Conveniently located.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Quality Hotel Oceans Tutukaka
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Tutukaka
Certificate of Excellence
Franklin, Tennessee
Level Contributor
106 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Conveniently located.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2014

If you want to go diving - you can't be it for location. Other than that it's not got too much going for it. It has the basics - basic restaurant, basic rooms, basic service. There is no WIFI in the rooms, but it is available in the bar and restaurant. It's basically okay. It's fine for one night.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynne08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    95
    73
    32
    13
    5
See reviews for
27
124
14
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2014

We went here with a voucher, a couple of years back, that included accommodation, breakfast and dinner. The dinner here was fabulous, i'm not much of a food fanatic, but I managed to finish everything on my plate, and was in awe of the taste! My partner felt the same about his food.
The service from the hotel staff was friendly, warm and welcoming. The stay wasn't long enough, but we are aiming to make another trip to this great resort, with great staff and very good facilities.
Anyone thinking of visiting this place, should definitely give it a try...

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karishma B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
59 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2014

Hotel itself quiet with front rooms and apartments with lovely view over the harbour. Didn't stay long enough to get a full sense of the place, but low key and very pleasant with comfortable rooms. Pool and bbq for residents. Friendly staff. Great location for trips out of Tutukaka. Four restaurants nearby and good tourist shops, including grocery store and one where you can buy reasonable snorkelling gear and other seaside stuff for a good price. Petrol station at back too.

Room Tip: Go for the rooms facing the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Obzerva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014

Again a repeat visit for me to this hotel, I thank Bianca for her caring and warm service to make sure my stays both times were comfortable. The room was beautiful and had an amazing view .
The hotel service was great. Everyone made sure you had what you needed and then some!
I truly enjoy the stay here. Wonderful pace to relax after diving .
The restaurant has a new wonderful menu worth giving a try .

Room Tip: For quiet room try and get a corner room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sheryl r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland NZ
Level Contributor
155 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014

Having stayed here a few years ago it seemed a good idea to visit again – booked for two nights we needed to cancel the second which was dealt with very efficiently by the receptionist without penalty. Thank you for this Miss Receptionist and Oceans Resort which was greatly appreciated.
Our room was excellent, adequately furnished and very clean. The openable room-width window allowed a direct view of the boat ramp so after shifting the convenient table we were able to sit with an evening glass and pizza to watch the main endeavours of the village – boating.
Breakfast cereals and bread were purchased at the next-door superette and using our permanently packed plastic picnic set we continued watching the early morning goings-on at the ramp.
Comfortable room, good bathroom, cleanliness: what more could one need or want. Thank you again Oceans Resort.
Amazingly friendly staff at the pizza place which, incidentally, is for sale – that’s the business not the staff. (Perhaps Oceans should buy the business and close it down to eliminate one competitor leaving only, as I see it, only two.)
This time around we did avoid the Oceans Resort restaurant for dinner due to high prices and due to having been tipped off about the Marina Pizza place nearby. Pizza and fries, despite the Boxing Day holiday 15% surcharge, went down very well with an agreeable white (Carried with us). Great meal, great stay.
In an earlier review I favourably mentioned the nearby superette and the excellent service provided there. It hasn’t changed one bit. A village store with a customer-helpful difference.
There’s not a lot at Tutukaka but relaxation is plentiful. Enjoy.

Room Tip: Insist on a Marina view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Probian9910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2013

Stayed a Saturday night for a conference-dinner. Warm friendly welcome on arrival, and a realxing afternoon in the cafe outside the front. Very comfortable room and great breakfast the next morning - good value for money.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TrishAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013

We have just had a most incredibly stay at this great Hotel.
Everything about this Hotel are just A one,the cleanliness,the rooms ,the food ,the bar ,and in particular the amazing friendly staff.I would have no hesitation in returning or recommending the hotel to everyone

Room Tip: The rooms are extremely well priced at around $100 ,if you want the sea view expect an extra $30
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tutukaka
1.0 mi away
Pacific Rendezvous
Pacific Rendezvous
#1 of 3 in Tutukaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 595 reviews
13.4 mi away
Comfort Hotel Flames Whangarei
13.6 mi away
Distinction Whangarei Hotel & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Tutukaka Coast Motor Lodge
0.6 mi away
The Light House Lookout
The Light House Lookout
#2 of 3 in Tutukaka
5.0 of 5 bubbles 8 reviews
8.7 mi away
Lupton Lodge
Lupton Lodge
#1 of 34 in Whangarei
5.0 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Hotel Oceans Tutukaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Hotel Oceans Tutukaka

Property: Quality Hotel Oceans Tutukaka
Address: Marina Road, Tutukaka 0173, New Zealand (Formerly Oceans Resort & Hotel Tutukaka)
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Tutukaka
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Tutukaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Quality Hotel Oceans Tutukaka 3.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Northland's Tutukaka Coast, our friendly, relaxed hotel has well-appointed rooms and apartments with sunny terraces, salt water pool, a light, airy bar overlooking the marina and an award-winning restaurant. The hotel has free Wi-Fi, Sky TV Guest Select, free parking, BBQ, tour desk and luggage storage. Rooms include coffee and tea making facilities, modem connection, satellite TV, bathtub and shower. Just 90 minutes from the Bay of Islands, Tutukaka is the gateway to the Poor Knights Islands Marine Reserve, rated as one of the world's top 10 dive sites. Other activities include kayaking, sailing, fishing, day cruises, snorkeling, horse riding and golf. A unique, private setting for a special wedding ceremony, event or conference. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quality Hotel Oceans Tutukaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oceans Resort And Hotel Tutukaka
Quality Hotel Oceans Tutukaka South Pacific - New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing