We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel”
Review of Beamish Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Beamish Park Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Marley Hill
Certificate of Excellence
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel”
Reviewed 6 June 2012

We stayed at this hotel for two nights whilst we visited the open air museum. We were looking for some luxury and selected a deluxe room; not cheap, but we were not disappointed. The presentation of the room was excellent; comfortable, with lots of extra little touches to make you feel welcome. We had asked for skimmed milk to be provided for my wife, and not only did they have a supply in the kitchen for her exclusive use, but they also put a jug of it in the fridge in our room.
The bed was comfortable and there was plenty of circulation space, although the room also contained a two seat sofa and a separate armchair. The carpets were so sumptuous in the room and in the corridor that you couldn't hear anybody walking past the room. Our room was situated at the back of the hotel and there were a lot of trees on the other side of the access road, which made the room a little dark, but this wasn't a problem.
The food was excellent. Breakfast comprised a buffet selection of cereals and fruit, etc., followed by cooked breakfast if you wanted it; you are charged separately for breakfast. Dinner was from a set menu although they did post two or three specials on a board. It was obviously freshly cooked to order and was most enjoyable.
We did have a problem with the room safe, but this was attended to immediately. We also found that the refrigerator wasn't working properly; the compressor was running continuously, but the fridge was warm inside. We reported this and they exchanged the fridge for a working one.
All in all, this hotel scores very highly in our book and we would love to be able to go back there.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SMBP020, Director of Sales at Beamish Park Hotel, responded to this review, 8 June 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor.

We are absolutely delighted with your comments as being an Independant Hotel we strive to go the extra mile to ensure our guests are happy and return.

We certainly look forward to welcoming you again very soon.

Many thanks

Kind regards

Sandra Devlin
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

394 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    262
    89
    33
    9
    1
See reviews for
83
162
7
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2012

as we were going to spend the FULL sunday at the beamish open air museum we decided to get a sat night hotel right near the museum itself. Well it was a pure chance google earth search that my cursor hovered over & then a click to the hotels own online booking & it was done. All on the night before we travelled.
Stay there was excellent - sat out in beer garden looking out over valley all evening & had a meal that was TOP quality - all the flavours & cooked to perfection. The staff all knew their jobs & would do anything to help make our 1 night there perfect - which it was.
Biarra Moretti on tap at the bar - italy's favourite beer (which we found out when in venice only 2 weeks before) - pumps are kept immaculate as those 'telltale' rings were all down the glasses at end of the pint.
It has a 9 hole 'par 3' golf centre attached - if golf is your thing...

Room Tip: you cant go wrong with ANY of the 42 rooms here
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank g t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SMBP020, Director of Sales at Beamish Park Hotel, responded to this review, 8 June 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor.

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and all the favourable comments.

We look forward to your return soon.

Many thanks

Kind regards

Sandra Devlin
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stanley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 20 May 2012

Yet another pleasant Sunday at Beamish Park. Choosing from the interesting menu is always difficult , but a very enjoyable difficulty !! The baby in the party took along her own food and bowl. After it was empty a staff member took it away with our dishes and returned it freshly washed. This is the kind of touch that makes Beamish Park special. Looking forward to next time.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Localresident776618
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SMBP020, Director of Sales at Beamish Park Hotel, responded to this review, 23 May 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor.

We are delighted with your comments and look forward to your return tosample more delicious food from the menu.

Many thanks

Kind regards

Sandra Devlin
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2012

We have now visited The Bistro Conservatory Restaurant at the Beamish Park several times now for Sunday lunch and as a recent member of Trip Adviser I would like to add my comments about the standard of food. Excellent Sunday lunch with a good choice on the menu for those preferring a change from the traditional fare. Deep Fried Goats Cheese with Figs, Parma Ham, Hazelnuts & Honeycomb and Butternut Squash, Tomato and Ginger Soup were lovely, and I defy you not to eat all the bread before the starters arrive. Beautiful tender roast beef with all the trimmings and a melt in the mouth beef and mushroom stew with dumplings went down a treat, unfortunately there was no room for dessert but the ones we saw being served looked fab. Service attentive, and nothing too much trouble. Well recommended.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SMBP020, Director of Sales at Beamish Park Hotel, responded to this review, 18 May 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor.

We are thrilled with your comments and Head Chef and The Team have been duly informed. We certainly all look forward to welcoming your return very soon, to experience more of our award winning food.

Kind regards

Sandra Devlin

Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2012

Sunday lunch is perfection. The choice is excellent, with locally sourced Beamish lamb and Chowell pork, and the vegetables are always cooked absolutely perfectly. Efficient, pleasant staff and mid range price. By far and away the best Sunday lunch. I've not been at another time, but would love to try it.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ands1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SMBP020, Director of Sales at Beamish Park Hotel, responded to this review, 18 May 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor.

We are absolutely delighted with your comments regarding our PERFECT Sunday lunch.

I am confident that when you next dine in our Bistro whether it be midweek or weekend you will find the same standard of food and service.

Thanks again we truely appreciate your comments.

Kind regards

Sandra Devlin
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 May 2012

The Beamish Park is certainly worth a visit, I have never been disappointed with the food, Sunday lunch is by far the best in the area, high quality and an excellent array of vegetables, dessert is a must, always fresh and always delivers. Don't just try the Sunday lunch as lunch or dinner any day of the week is high quality, and has a contemporary and ever changing menu. Drinks are always served well too, wines are good, and they serve good soft drinks, never flat something that so many other places in the north east don't seem to be able to deliver on!!!!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Restaurantguru2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SMBP020, Director of Sales at Beamish Park Hotel, responded to this review, 14 May 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Tripadvisor.

We are absolutely delighted with your comments as its always good to hear that not only on a Sunday but also midweek our standards have proven to be once again consistent. As an Independant Hotel and Bistro we strive to maintain our very high standards at all times.

We look forward to welcoming your return in the very near future.

Kind regards

Sandra Devlin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle and Gateshead, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2012

We had visited this Hotel Restaurant some 8 years ago on a foggy winters night and could not appreciate the views its location offers. This time it was a sunny evening and sitting in the conservatory lounge we could get full benefit.
The menu was interesting with a good selection of dishes each with its own subtle take on vegetables and sauces.
We moved from the lounge into the dining room and were shown to a round table in the middle of an empty room which was more suitable for a party of four not the six we were.The result was that we felt uncomfortable and the whole room lacked presence in that the tables were a hotchpotch of shapes and sizes giving the feeling of being in a canteen rather than a quality restaurant. This was a shame as the food was excellent and served well and thoroughly enjoyed by all of us . The only slight criticism was that the sweet menu lacked the originality of the starters and main courses. So nobody ordered one although it could have been that we had no room after enjoying the starters and main dishes !
Coffee in the lounge and time to sit and chat undisturbed rounded off a lovely evening . The cost including pre dinner drinks and a couple of bottles of wine came to £35 per head
So if you are looking for a nice meal out of town you could do a lot worse than try Beamish Park Hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MitchellTyne_Wear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SMBP020, Director of Sales at Beamish Park Hotel, responded to this review, 11 May 2012
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for taking the time to review your recent visit to Beamish Park Hotel as an independent hotel we appreciate all of our customers feedback. Its great that you have returned to the hotel and I have to agree that on a nice evening the views are quite breath taking. I am sorry that you found the table to be a little on the small side for your party and had you requested a larger table I am confident that we would have happily made this available for you. Your comments about the food and service are much appreciated and I have passed these onto the team. I am sorry that you found the layout of the Bistro a little informal. Our aim is to serve excellent food in relaxed surroundings and this is the ethos behind the Bistro as we do not want to make it a formal restaurant and we have found that this style has been well received.
Once again thank you for your kind comments and we look forward to welcoming you back to Beamish Park Hotel.

Kind regards

Sandra Devlin
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marley Hill
0.9 mi away
Best Western Beamish Hall Country House Hotel
1.3 mi away
Premier Inn Newcastle South Hotel
Premier Inn Newcastle South Hote...
#40 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
266 reviews
5.9 mi away
Lumley Castle Hotel
Lumley Castle Hotel
#5 of 19 in Durham
2,044 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Ravensworth Arms
Ravensworth Arms
#13 of 20 in Gateshead
462 reviews
2.2 mi away
Park Farm Hotel
Park Farm Hotel
#1 of 20 in Gateshead
271 reviews
3.8 mi away
Angel View Inn
Angel View Inn
#12 of 20 in Gateshead
285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beamish Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beamish Park Hotel

Property: Beamish Park Hotel
Address: Beamish Burn Road, Marley Hill, Gateshead NE16 5EG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Gateshead > Marley Hill
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Marley Hill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Beamish Park Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your Beamish Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Beamish Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing