We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good clean an friendly”
Review of Beamish Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Beamish Park Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Marley Hill
Certificate of Excellence
Chester-le-Street, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good clean an friendly”
Reviewed 23 September 2012 via mobile

We had a excellent time the staff were all pleasant and helpful rooms very clean and well decorated good choice of top quality food all food was hot .the breakfast was also well presented the only bad thing the bed was two beds that could be separated if need be so the was a crack down the middle .the bar beer prices were a bit pricey.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank matyjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SMBP020, Director of Sales at Beamish Park Hotel, responded to this review, 25 September 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor!

We are very happy with your overall comments regarding our Hotel, Food and Staff!

To be more flexible with guests requirements some of our beds can be split but we also have Kingsize Beds that cannot!

When you next visit the Hotel please contact me direct and I will be more than happy to allocate you a bed to suit!

Many thanks

Kind regards

Sandra Devlin
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

394 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    262
    89
    33
    9
    1
See reviews for
83
162
7
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2012

We stayed here for 1 night, the night before Great North Run. The reason we booked it was it was pretty much the only free hotel within 15 miles of the city centre and it seemed ok. We arrived to see a wedding in full swing, which wasn't too much of a problem but meant we couldnt get a seat in the bar for a while whilst they turned the function room around for the evening reception.

We arranged to eat in the restaurant and the staff were very friendly and helpful but the food was trying too hard to be something it wasn't. As a pre-run meal I just wanted a simple pasta dish. The simplest one I found was Penne with chicken pine nuts tomato, thyme, lemon breadcrumbs, garlic and whatever else the chef could get his mits on...! It wasnt great so I just ate as much as I dared, hoping it wouldnt do anything dodgy to my bowels!! It didn't, but the point is that the food is all very fussy. Over promises and under delivers. They had a big stand outside the restaurant selling the chef's very own cook book and if you're going to put yourself on a pedestal like that you'd better come up with the goods.

Moving on.... (!)

We were given a quiet room at the back of the hotel. Wasn't impressed with the decor - very random, quite dated, but clean and generally ok. We actually weren't disturbed at all by the wedding and got an early night in.

Breakfast was ok, better than dinner and again the staff were nice. As me and my wife only ate 1 bowl of cereal a couple of pastries and 1 x tea between us, they only charged us for one brekkie which was noted - and nice of them, but overall it was a forgettable experience.

Room Tip: ask for a room at the back of the hotel as this is quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ben C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SMBP020, Director of Sales at Beamish Park Hotel, responded to this review, 25 September 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor.

In response to your comments regarding the food in our Award Winning Bistro, we have held 2AA Rosettes for the past 17 years. We are clearly doing something right as these are not awarded to just anyone! They are awarded for good quality food and service and you must adhere to a very strict criteria and guidelines on ingredients and menus.

However, we cannot cater to everyone's personal taste but had you spoken to a member of the Team the Chef would have been more than happy to create a dish more suited to your taste.

We are also immensely proud to have our very own cookery book, which has been a huge success and sales have been brilliant! This was produced on the fact we have held these awards and to celebrate 30 years of being a well established and successful Hotel.

Your comments regarding our 'friendly' staff are appreciated and we look forward to welcoming your return when next in the area.

Kind regards

Sandra Devlin
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Airdrie, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2012

We were extremely lucky to find this absolute gem of a hotel looking for a last minute deal. It felt like a home away from home. The staff were really friendly and we also discussed with management about the possibility of using the hotel for long term stays for work purposes which they were more than happy to accommodate and even gave us a full tour of the rooms available for that kind of stay - extremely helpful. The room was lovely, homely and the bed was one of the most comfortable I've ever slept in, and it was huge! You have you're own private parking space and room door to the car for ease of packing the car and the setting it idyllic. There is also golf facilities but on a short stay we didn't get a chance to try this out.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Claire_S_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SMBP020, Director of Sales at Beamish Park Hotel, responded to this review, 20 September 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted with your comments regarding our Hotel and I remember personally showing you the different room types we have.

I certainly look forward to being of assistance to you when you return to work in the area.

Kind regards

Sandra Devlin
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2012

In excess of 30 family and friends stayed her over last weekend whiolst in the area for our son's wedding. The staff, food and service were all excellent and we would certainly consider staying here again when we are in the area.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grimsby56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SMBP020, Director of Sales at Beamish Park Hotel, responded to this review, 20 September 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor.

We are absolutely delighted with your comments and we look forward to welcoming your return in the near future.

Kindest regards

Sandra Devlin
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hunstanton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2012

We stayed for four nights at this beautiful hotel starting from 31st July 2012. The hotel room was extremely large and the bed one of the most comfortable I have ever slept in. Everything about our stay was perfect. The staff could not have been more helpful, the food was excellent and even the weather was kind to us. Thank you all at Beamish Park.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lenlyn48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SMBP020, Director of Sales at Beamish Park Hotel, responded to this review, 20 August 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor.

We are absolutely delighted with your comments regarding every aspect of our Hotel.

We look forward to welcoming your return in the near future.

Many thanks

Kind regards

Sandra Devlin
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2012

Attended a family celebration here catering for over 30 people.
Had a large room to ourselves with its own bar.
Enjoyed a lovely three course meal which was beautifully cooked and presented.
All the staff were pleasant and polite and we all had a good afternoon.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Geoffs-Angels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SMBP020, Director of Sales at Beamish Park Hotel, responded to this review, 2 August 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor.

We are delighted with your comments regarding our Tanfield Suite, Fabulous Food and attentive Staff.

We look forward to your next family celebration so we can continue to deliver our usual standard of service.

Many thanks

Sandra Devlin
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2012

I had my wedding here dec 2011 and it was fantastic , the staff are excellent and they really look after you . Food was stunning as per usual as we often eat here . Love this little place as it doesn't feel like I'm just along the road from my house I feel in a different place love it . Prices are excellent and overall is great can't fault it in any way x

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karli c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SMBP020, Director of Sales at Beamish Park Hotel, responded to this review, 2 August 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor.

We are absolutely delighted with your comments regarding our Hotel and fabulous food.

As an Independant and unique Hotel we strive to deliver a service which outshines all others but also offers value for money.

We look forward to welcoming your return to our Award Winning Bistro.

Many thanks

Kind regards

Sandra Devlin
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marley Hill
0.9 mi away
Best Western Beamish Hall Country House Hotel
1.3 mi away
Premier Inn Newcastle South Hotel
Premier Inn Newcastle South Hote...
#40 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
266 reviews
5.9 mi away
Lumley Castle Hotel
Lumley Castle Hotel
#5 of 19 in Durham
2,044 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Ravensworth Arms
Ravensworth Arms
#13 of 20 in Gateshead
462 reviews
2.2 mi away
Park Farm Hotel
Park Farm Hotel
#1 of 20 in Gateshead
271 reviews
3.8 mi away
Angel View Inn
Angel View Inn
#12 of 20 in Gateshead
285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beamish Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beamish Park Hotel

Property: Beamish Park Hotel
Address: Beamish Burn Road, Marley Hill, Gateshead NE16 5EG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Gateshead > Marley Hill
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Marley Hill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Beamish Park Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your Beamish Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Beamish Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing