We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Beamish Park Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Beamish Park Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Marley Hill
Certificate of Excellence
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2013

Stayed at this wonderful Hotel for the first time with my coach party of 26 passengers last weekend.Our stay was just perfect. Rooms are very comfortable, food is of a very high standard and the staff are courteous, efficient and very friendly.All my passengers thoroughly enjoyed their stay. Would definitely recommend

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank siddulpe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SMBP020, Director of Sales at Beamish Park Hotel, responded to this review, 8 August 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor.

We are absolutely delighted with all your comments and it was a pleasure to have your Group stay with us.

We certainly look forward to your return very soon.

Kind regards

Sandra Devlin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

353 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    236
    77
    30
    9
    1
See reviews for
74
135
6
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
berwick upon tweed
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

We were given this hotel as late rooms had double booked our stay in gateshead as originally planned
As we were travelling with our dog it was important it was right.
The reception staff was ever so helpful,room was lovely with parking right outside our door and plenty of walks for the dog,dogs are not allowed in the hotel where guests are as this day in particular there was a wedding party on and we wouldn't have interupted in that either nevermind we found a great little pet friendly place 2 minutes over the road from the hotel called the Causey Arch and they were lovely and ever so pet friendly,Our dog even had his meal with us,a proper little hidden gem with lovely meals and friendly staff,would def book again

Room Tip: ROOM 20 - away from all the noise and hussle and bussle of wedding parties around the back with park...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bonnet5050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SMBP020, Director of Sales at Beamish Park Hotel, responded to this review, 2 August 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor.

We are absolutel delighted with your comments and look forward to welcoming your return.

Kind regards

Sandra Devlin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taunton, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2013

A clean and pleasant hotel, however we wished that we had been informed that there was a wedding function taking place at this hotel the night we had booked. Although the disco wasn't directly below us the noise carried to the back of the hotel. The people shouting outside the room at 2.30am didn't make for the sort of nights sleep we had expected for the price. A staff member helpfully suggested we brought ear plugs next time!
We also felt it would have been helpful had it been pointed out that breakfast wasn't included in our rate on booking in as this was a pricey added extra to our bill. I've found that hotels in this price band tend to include breakfast so we hadn't really thought about it - our mistake!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie_01234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SMBP020, Director of Sales at Beamish Park Hotel, responded to this review, 2 August 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor.

As it is now the season for weddings you will find most Hotels do have weddings on a weekend and even though our function room is situated away from the bedrooms we cannot police guests returning to rooms in the early hours. Please accept my sincere apologies for your discomfort.

However, thank you for your comments regarding our clean and pleasant Hotel.

Please feel free to contact me direct when visiting again as I will certainly be able to offer you a bed and breakfast inclusive rate.

Many thanks

Kind regards

Sandra Devlin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2013

I couldn't help but write another review! I visited BPH on a Thursday late afternoon it was a lovely sunny afternoon and was able to take advantage of sitting on the decked area that they have to the side of the hotel. Again it was a great experience the service was first class. We decided to eat at the hotel and was offered the lounge menu. The food was fantastic, tasty, hot and well presented.
If you haven't been to BPH you must pay it a visit its a great location fantastic views, great staff, great service and excellent food.!!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MPW2873
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SMBP020, Director of Sales at Beamish Park Hotel, responded to this review, 18 July 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor.

It is not often our guests can take advantage of our outside sitting/eating area but due to the fabulous weather we are having its a pleasure seeing this so busy.

We are absolutely delighted with your comments and pleased we were your first choice when thinking of somewhere to visit.

Looking forward to your return soon.

Kind regards


Sandra Devlin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2013

We stayed here for two nights with friends and thoroughly enjoyed the hotel, restaurant and amenities. Can't believe we've missed this little gem for so long as although it's not far from home it felt like a little slice of paradise!
Upon check-in we were warmly greeted by a friendly and helpful receptionist. This theme continued with all the staff we encountered from the bar-staff and waiters to the housekeeper all who couldn't have done more to help us enjoy our stay.
The bedrooms had a clean fresh airy feel and were very elegantly decorated in a way you would expect from the most luxurious hotels worldwide. Had two fantastic nights sleep as our bed was was one the few hotels I can say was better than sleeping at home!
The bar had a funky yet elegant feel with much care and attention to detail with including beautiful fresh flowers creating a lovely finishing touch.
Was a little worried about the food after reading a recent review saying it was over-rated, not sure if they just had an unusually bad day but we could NOT fault a thing. Having previously worked and dined in numerous high end restaurants and being uber critical everywhere I dine - this place knocked our socks off. The duck salad was to die for, the steak was cooked to perfection with tantalising vegetable trimmings and yummy home-made chips, then dessert (chocolate torte) was just divine. We were recommended a white wine to complement a fish dish my partner chose and it teamed perfectly with the dish. I can certainly see why this place has held the 2 AA red rosette award for the past 12 years. It was so good we went for lunch the next day despite having dinner plans elsewhere later that day. Will definitely return for food with friends and family as prices were very reasonable particularly for the high standard on offer.
Before our second dining experience we had the opportunity to practise a few shots on the driving range which has lovely views and we were just disappointed we didn't have time to do the full 9 holes as the course looked very well maintained.
Although a little further out of Durham and Newcastle than most people venture, both are only 10 minutes by car and we feel like we've uncovered a real little gem here that we'll definitely be going back to very soon!

Room Tip: Downstairs rooms great for pulling your car up outside and unloading straight to your room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SMBP020, Director of Sales at Beamish Park Hotel, responded to this review, 18 July 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor.

We are absolutely delighted with your comments and happy you had such a wonderful visit to our hotel.

We look forward to welcoming your return soon.

Kindest regards

Sandra Devlin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
126 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2013 via mobile

Friendliness - great!
Service - on the rare occasion I found someone behind the bar it was very friendly, very good.
Rooms - clean and really nice.
Location - lovely countryside (nothing nearby though)
Food - overrated. The black pudding starter was dry and hard on the outside? The lamb was served with a goats cheese and mushy pea something or other which was too strong a flavour to go with a lamb dish. No encouragement there to buy their own recipe book.
Wine - tried the Portuguese red and the merlot. Not great. With only four reds to choose from I'm sure they could do much better than that!
Wifi - throughout the hotel but so slow!!
Bar/ lounge area - lovely, cosy, relaxed.
For an overnight business trip where you just need a bed to crash in this is great.
I'm not a golfer but I'm told there are some good courses on the doorstep.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stillrovin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SMBP020, Director of Sales at Beamish Park Hotel, responded to this review, 18 July 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor and we are happy with your comments overall.

Due to the huge popularity of our Bistro and Cookery Book Sales and being awarded 2AA Rosettes for the past 17 years which certainly does not come easy......we feel immensley proud......however we have taken your comments on board as we are constantly trying to improve.

We look forward to welcoming your return very soon.

Kind regards

Sandra Devlin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whickham Tyne and Wear
Level Contributor
69 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2013

Both my company and family have used this hotel and restaurant for many years and it has always been very good. In 2012 we had our best steak( ribeye) here of any restaurant that we visited in the UK, France and Belgium. A visit this week maintained the high standard of steak(rump) but there was one quite serious niggle. Spending a lot of time in the Bordeaux area we enjoy wine but when in Belgium and the UK l also enjoy good quality beer. The choice here was dismal . Only one draught ale ( Theakstons) which was sour and had gone off and certainly not the fault of the brewery and the choice offered was either John Smiths or bottled Newcastle Brown Ale. When one considers the wealth of good local breweries and also a good supply of local bottled ale from some of the micro breweries this is not good enough. The staff were apologetic and handled the situation well but the hotel management should remember that there is a lot of nearby competition and all aspects of the meal are important

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WAG1940
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SMBP020, Director of Sales at Beamish Park Hotel, responded to this review, 10 July 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor.

As a valued customer your very valid constructive comments have been taken on board and the beer was immediately corrected and we have extended our beer line.

We are delighted with your loyalty to our Hotel and appreciate your overall comments regarding our food and service.

We look forward to welcoming your return very soon.

Kind regards

Sandra Devlin
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marley Hill
0.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Beamish Hall Hotel
2.2 mi away
Park Farm Hotel
Park Farm Hotel
#1 of 20 in Gateshead
5.0 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
4.0 mi away
Newcastle Gateshead Marriott Hotel MetroCentre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Ravensworth Arms
Ravensworth Arms
#12 of 20 in Gateshead
4.0 of 5 bubbles 449 reviews
1.3 mi away
Premier Inn Newcastle South Hotel
Premier Inn Newcastle South Hote...
#41 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
5.9 mi away
Lumley Castle Hotel
Lumley Castle Hotel
#5 of 19 in Durham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,959 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beamish Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beamish Park Hotel

Property: Beamish Park Hotel
Address: Beamish Burn Road, Marley Hill, Gateshead NE16 5EG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Gateshead > Marley Hill
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Marley Hill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Beamish Park Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Beamish Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Beamish Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing