We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Business Trip”
Review of Beamish Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Beamish Park Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Marley Hill
Certificate of Excellence
Droitwich, England, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Business Trip”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Excellent hotel in a peaceful location but only a 10 minute drive from the centre of Newcastle. Friendly and professional staff, super rooms with patio doors, clean and very well equipped. Super restaurant with good value and tasty food selection and you can see why they have AA rosettes for many years. Excellent breakfast with fully stocked buffet and freshly cooked selection.
Great value for money and great for doing business in Newcastle and the surrounding area, will use again when next in the area.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms have patio doors opening onto a driveway allowing you to park outside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SMBP020, Director of Sales at Beamish Park Hotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor.

It was lovely to meet you and thoroughly delighted with all your comments regarding our Hotel.

We look forward to welcoming your return very soon.

Kind regards

Sandra Devlin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

400 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    265
    91
    34
    9
    1
See reviews for
87
163
8
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ongar, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Very pleasant staff. Nothing is too much trouble. Rooms are a good size and very clean. The food is excellent, especially the breakfast. Absolutely delicious. You will not even have to think about having lunch! All in all a lovely place to stay.

Room Tip: The rooms on the ground floor have a space for the car right outside the French windows, so you can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoycieB123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SMBP020, Director of Sales at Beamish Park Hotel, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor.

We are absolutely delighted with your comments and look forward to your return very soon.

Kindest regards

Sandra Devlin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

We chanced on this hotel for dinner because of our disappointment at our hotel.
We just took a chance and were extremely impressed by ALL the staff. Nothing was a problem, we were escorted to the dining room, given the table of our choice and had an exceptional meal.
Following the meal, we took coffee in the comfortable lounge area. So impressed were we with the establishment we asked for details for future reference. Even though it was now passed 9.30pm. we were invted to inspect the rooms. They are of a very high standard. There is no doubt that when we visit this area again this will be the hotel of choice. Keep up the good work and your staff. Thank you.

Room Tip: The bistro is top class
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bigaldevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SMBP020, Director of Sales at Beamish Park Hotel, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted with your comments and it was a pleasure to meet you.

We look forward to your next visit when you stay overnight.

Kindest regards

Sandra Devlin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

We have just stayed for two nights in this hotel and would return with the greatest of pleasure. This hotel is hidden away and I booked it by mistake but was definitely not disappointed. The room was booked via laterooms.com and cost £179 for two nights on a room only basis.
Firstly, the place is spotless, better than some of the 5* hotels I have been in abroad. The beds are comfortable and everything works as it should. We had a ground floor room with the patio door out on to where the car was parked. A great idea, I could open the boot from my bed. The hotel is quiet, not deathly but just peaceful and restful with great views over the Durham countryside. Coming from this area I am used to the welcome as mentioned in other reviews.
Undoubtedly the star of the show is the restaurant, the food is great! Simple as that. The food is bistro style and could put quite a few London restaurants out to pasture in quality of ingredients and portion size. My Wife had the crab starter, I had tempura prawns. Both were hoovered up in short shrift. My main was the fillet of beef, my wife had the fish pie on the specials list. The beef was to die for; I made the mistake of having it medium when I should have had it medium-rare and will not make that mistake again. A good fish pie can stand up against all comers and this one did not disappoint. After this, two coffees as we were too full. Total cost was £65 including a bottle of SA Chenin and a glass of merlot for me. For this standard of cooking and ingredients this was very satisfactory. The front of house staff should be congratulated for the service. Not too much time but not too little. The waitress even decided that our wine bottle was too warm and went back to get a colder one. I cannot complain at all, not one single thing. If you want a quiet restful place with very good food and helpful staff stay here. If you want bells, whistles and noise, go and stay on the Quayside in Newcastle.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sherlock6884
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SMBP020, Director of Sales at Beamish Park Hotel, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor.

We are absolutely delighted with all your comments and pleased you enjoyed your stay.

We look forward to your welcoming your return very soon.

Kindest regards

Sandra Devlin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

This hotel was booked by mistake, but having visited it for a weekend can recommend it. The rooms are clean and kept so. The ability to park the car outside the room and to enter and exit directly to it was an added benefit. Staff were friendly in the usual North Eastern way. There is a light just outside the window, over the car. Whilst I could see the reason for this, would have liked to have the opportunity to switch it off. Breakfast was reasonable. Much tinned fruit in evidence, and some fresh.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nick P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SMBP020, Director of Sales at Beamish Park Hotel, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted with your overall comments as we are constantly looking for ways to improve our guests experience.

Many thanks and we look forward to welcoming your return soon.

Kind regards

Sandra Devlin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

I cannot thank Sandra Devlin and ALL her staff at the Beamish Park Hotel for their excellent service on our very impromptu stay. Considering we had been relocated in the eleventh hour of our C2C trip, they were completely understanding and even arranged for our rooms to be near where our bikes had been securely stored. The rooms were large, clean and very comfortable. The food in their restaurant was exceptional and from talking to a number of other guests who were local, it is a much favoured place to eat out, in the area. For anyone cycling the Coast to Coast route I would thoroughly recommend this for your last overnight stay before heading off on the last leg of the journey to Tynemouth. Thank you Sandra and all your staff!

Room Tip: For C2C travellers, rooms towards the back of the hotel near where the bikes are securely stored.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SMBP020, Director of Sales at Beamish Park Hotel, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Hi Jane,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor.

It was lovely to meet you and the other ladies and even though I was not your chosen Hotel, I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay.

Many thanks for the fabulous review.

Please contact me direct when you are visiting the area again.

Kindest regards

Sandra Devlin .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014 via mobile

Booked this hotel as a stop over for its close proximity to Beamish open air musem.
Arrived and was greeted with a typical friendly north east welcome.
Booking in was easy given our room key, the room had a slight problem which was sorted very quickly (changed room) with no fuss or hassel. The room was clean tidy and quite spacious, the bed was "huge" and very comfortable.

We ate in the resturant unfortunately with it being a Sunday there was no al a carte menu however a good selection of roast dinners we ordered and could not complain about the quality for us perfect, even the price was uite reasonable.

We highly recommend this hotel the staff friendly and the hotel was excellent, we look forward to visiting again in the not to distant future.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Nigel J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SMBP020, Director of Sales at Beamish Park Hotel, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted with your comments and certainly look forward to welcoming your return very soon.

Kind regards

Sandra Devlin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marley Hill
0.9 mi away
Best Western Beamish Hall Country House Hotel
5.9 mi away
Lumley Castle Hotel
Lumley Castle Hotel
#5 of 18 in Durham
2,078 reviews
2.4 mi away
Ravensworth Arms
Ravensworth Arms
#13 of 20 in Gateshead
469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Park Farm Hotel
Park Farm Hotel
#1 of 20 in Gateshead
273 reviews
3.1 mi away
Best Western Gibside Hotel
Best Western Gibside Hotel
#34 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
260 reviews
3.8 mi away
Angel View Inn
Angel View Inn
#12 of 20 in Gateshead
292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beamish Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beamish Park Hotel

Property: Beamish Park Hotel
Address: Beamish Burn Road, Marley Hill, Gateshead NE16 5EG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Gateshead > Marley Hill
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Marley Hill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Beamish Park Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and LateRooms so you can book your Beamish Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Beamish Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing