We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best B&B in Catania”
Review of OttoMood B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
OttoMood B&B
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 February 2012

We stayed 5 nights at OttoMood for visiting Sicily's east coast. It is in a suburb town of Catania and located in residential area. A car is necessary to stay here. Car parking in front of Ottomood is very easy and convenient. The house is nice and surrounded by a nice garden and a swimming pool. Our room and bathroom were spacious. A large super market for food is nearby. The proprietors: Ribella and Giuseppe are extremely nice and helpful. The attention to detail is amazing and the place is gorgeous.
Highly recommended. Stay here if you have the chance.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Italy1221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (523)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

40 - 46 of 523 reviews

Reviewed 20 November 2011

First of all, OttoMood is not in the city of Catania but in a suburbs town. A car is necessary to stay here. By car during the week, it can take about 40 minutes to get in the very centre. Car parking in the street in front of OttoMood is very convenient. The house is nice and surrounded by a nice garden. The hosts are helpful and gave us good tips for restaurants in the vicinity. Actually, they share their big kitchen and living room with the guests. We stayed about one week and were surprised of the number of guest present at the beginning: more than 15, I think. This was not really a problem for the breakfast but caused some noise. Excellent breakfast here, really above the average Italian standards: 100% fruit juice in bottle, fresh breakfast pastries (excellent cornetti) and fresh bread. No salty touch but it was OK. Fresh still and sparking water 24H which was really great. The room was very big with a private bathroom. The house seems to have a general humidity problem and the bathroom had some patches of mould but except a slight smell, it was not really disturbing. What was more disturbing is the noise that could be heard in the room. Obviously works were perfomerd just next to our room with works noise in the morning and noise from the guests above the room. This woke us up several times during our stay. A fridge can be used by the guests, which is very convenient to store some nice wine or some salami for the aperitivo. The motorway is not far from the house (about 15 min.) and it leads you to the mains spots of East coast Sicily in less than 1 hour (Taormina, Siracusa, Enna, Piazza Armerina). Going to a restaurant in the vicinity includes the use of car and we were recommend very good ones. A big supermarket close to the house allows you to self-cater although we never had dinner in the B&B. All in all a good stay but I would recommend to ask for the most quiet rooms when you book.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ib-phix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2011

Last April, we stayed six nights at Otto Mood B&B, which is located outside Catania in Tremestieri Etneo. It is on a dead-end residential street off a major 2-lane road providing access to a nearby large shopping mall which includes a well-supplied super market for food and wine. The B&B is well-maintained, spotless, and provides good breakfasts served downstairs in the family dining room. Our room was spacious and comfortably furnished, quiet, with an excellent modern en suite bathroom and reliable in-room broad band Wi-Fi. Parking is safe and easy on the street, generally just around the corner from Otto Mood. The owners are gracious and welcoming hosts and go out of their way to accommodate their guests – for example, making café latte to order in the morning, buying decaf coffee especially for me. Giuseppe, an engineer, speaks very good English. The house has a large enclosed lawn and a swimming pool. Giuseppe recommended that we eat at Pane, Olio e Sale, which is a ten minute drive away. Their food was excellent and reasonably priced – we ate there most nights.

The advantage of staying at Otto Mood is that one has relatively rapid access to the major highway running along the eastern coast of Sicily and thus to many sites on the east coast. From Otto Mood as our base, we visited Taormina, Noto and Ragusa, Siracusa (primarily Ortigia), Villa Imperiale del Casale (near Piazza Armerina) and Enna as well as Mt. Etna itself. We highly recommend the Michelin Green Guide’s Driving Tour #2 for Mt. Etna’s NE flank starting at Linguaglossa. Given that it was early April, Mt. Etna’s slopes were covered in snow and old lava deposits, which were spectacular. The highway system is excellent. However, beware that going between the highway and Otto Mood during morning and evening rush hours can entail a lot of stop and go driving. In addition to the traffic, the routing is somewhat complex and often street signs are lacking so GPS is a must. Note also there are warnings of serious security problems (robbery) in central Catania itself. Given this, we did not go into Catania per se.

If we return to eastern Sicily, we would most certainly stay at Otto Mood and eat at Pane, Olio e Sale.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OneFairCall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2011

We stayed at Otto Mood in the middle of July. The house was in a great location and was very well sign posted. Otto Mood is only a 5 minute walk from a large shopping mall with all the essentials.

We were very well looked after and enjoyed meeting Gissepe and his family.

The rooms were big and spacious as were the bathrooms, thank goodness for the air-con, it was over 30 degrees every day!

The breakfasts were great, true Italian style!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JenniAli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2011

Hello,

We stayed in 8MOOD for 4 nights at the end of March. We loved it!
It's a really nice B&B, nice house, I loved the fact that we had access to almost all places, we could use the kithen, the garden, the living area.
The room was spacios and clean, The Breakfast was ok. A little too sweet for my taste but that was not such a big issue.
Very close to the B&B there is a supermarket so we were able to buy a lot of food and cook it.

The B& B is near Catania but it's a very well situated house and close to the main roads to Taormina or Etna. So in this part of Sicily I consider it to be a very good choice for accomodation.

The hosts were great also: Ribella helped us the first day with transportation from the airport and Giuseppe drove us in Catania the second day. We had a car reservation problem and until it was solved they were really helpfull. Also I loved the fact that they made us feel like home at their B& B.

All in one word: GREAT!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mh_iulia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2011

We are a family of 4 with kids aged 7 and 5 and we stayed here end of June, mainly based on very positive feedback from Tripadvisor. Main driver for the trip was our 7 year old daughter's interest to vulcanoes so proximity to Etna was one of the main factors to stay here.
We flew into Catania and the directions are very clear to the house as our GPS refused to recognize the address first time.. The house has a lot of character and has a spacious garden and a very good pool, which was almost only in our disposal for our visit. The breakfast is typically Italian, but hearty and serves its purpose.The room we stayed in was sufficient for 4 people (2 kids aged 7 -and 5) air-conditioning was a great help and worked well. We used the location for day trips to Etna and Taormina and the highway is close by. We had rental car and it is in our view a prequisite to stay here. We mainly ate in neighboring restaurants which were all fine. As a whole our stay was an extremely positive experience and we would definitely stay here again next time we visit Sicily.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank LSV68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2011

We arrived around midnight and were greeted warmly. The rooms were extremely comfortable and clean. The only slight negative I would have was that my room was on the second floor and my case was heavy and I had to carry it up myself. Breakfast was included and this was excellent. Very friendly service and would go back again

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SueGS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tremestieri Etneo
4.4 mi away
OttoMood Catania Centro
OttoMood Catania Centro
#2 of 329 in Catania
477 reviews
142.2 mi away
Case Vacanze Signorino Resort
49 mi away
Villa Felicia
Villa Felicia
#1 of 131 in Noto
894 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Bed & Breakfast Marena
Bed & Breakfast Marena
#2 of 4 in Tremestieri Etneo
14 reviews
0.5 mi away
Etna Country B&B
Etna Country B&B
#3 of 4 in Tremestieri Etneo
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to OttoMood B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about OttoMood B&B

Address: Via Tenente A. Malerba, 5, 95030, Tremestieri Etneo, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Catania > Tremestieri Etneo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Tremestieri Etneo
Price Range: £52 - £87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — OttoMood B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our B&B is located at the foot of Mount Etna, and it is only a few kilometers from the sea.The philosophy of our house is ‘relax’. The large garden in Sicilian style, the pool surrounded by secular olive trees, the cicada’s song, all create a feeling of absolute tranquility. Breakfast, in pure “catanese” style, is served in the garden, allowing our guests to experience the taste and the warmth of Sicilian cuisine and hospitality ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers and Hotels.com so you can book your OttoMood B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing