We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than any hotel!”
Review of OttoMood B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
OttoMood B&B
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 February 2014

Its a shame that this was the last place we stayed,had we known how amazing it was before, we would have booked it for the entire trip instead of the four star hotels.guiseppe and ribella are the perfect hosts and the place is super clean! great fresh breakfast and really comfortable rooms.feels like a five star hotel but because its a house you get that homey feeling too.
absolutely loved our stay here and we hope to visit again soon!in our opinion this is the best place you can stay in sicily all the hotels were not half as nice as otto mood and the prices are really reasonable.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shanianduri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (505)
There are newer reviews for OttoMood B&B
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

30 - 36 of 505 reviews

Reviewed 27 August 2013

A warming welcome in a very nice villa! Friendly atmosphere, correct prices and eco-friendly approach. What more could you wish for? Refresh yourself in the swimmingpool and chill out on the huge porch! Well done, Ottomood! We'll be back...

Room Tip: Maybe a view on Mt Etna from your room would make it even better?
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StvDB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2012

We stayed two nights at Ottomood. The house is splendid, the interoir an example of high level Italian styling. The owner Sig. Giuseppe Ottone welcomed us very friendly and was approchable all the time for advise and help. Our room was very nice and well equipped.
Breakfest OK.
Surely worth a visit.
Very nice pool, but cold water. Could easy been warmed up by solar energy.
Excellent staying base to visit mount Etna.
Strongly recommenable.

Room Tip: Look out to find the house in advance. We needed help from the local police to find it since our GPS...
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emiel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2012

Just outside of Catania. You need a car and can do day trips to the Etna, Taormina, Catania and the coastal villages. You can park you car inside.
Giuseppe and Ribella are very nice and always here to help.
The house is very clean, the rooms are nice. the pool is big enough for both kids and adults. It's very quiet.
The only not so good point: it's not an easy place to walk from. The street is a quiet neighbourhood but then it's a very busy street with no walkside, and the restaurants are quite far.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mme_caribou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2012

We stayed 5 nights at OttoMood for visiting Sicily's east coast. It is in a suburb town of Catania and located in residential area. A car is necessary to stay here. Car parking in front of Ottomood is very easy and convenient. The house is nice and surrounded by a nice garden and a swimming pool. Our room and bathroom were spacious. A large super market for food is nearby. The proprietors: Ribella and Giuseppe are extremely nice and helpful. The attention to detail is amazing and the place is gorgeous.
Highly recommended. Stay here if you have the chance.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Italy1221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2011

First of all, OttoMood is not in the city of Catania but in a suburbs town. A car is necessary to stay here. By car during the week, it can take about 40 minutes to get in the very centre. Car parking in the street in front of OttoMood is very convenient. The house is nice and surrounded by a nice garden. The hosts are helpful and gave us good tips for restaurants in the vicinity. Actually, they share their big kitchen and living room with the guests. We stayed about one week and were surprised of the number of guest present at the beginning: more than 15, I think. This was not really a problem for the breakfast but caused some noise. Excellent breakfast here, really above the average Italian standards: 100% fruit juice in bottle, fresh breakfast pastries (excellent cornetti) and fresh bread. No salty touch but it was OK. Fresh still and sparking water 24H which was really great. The room was very big with a private bathroom. The house seems to have a general humidity problem and the bathroom had some patches of mould but except a slight smell, it was not really disturbing. What was more disturbing is the noise that could be heard in the room. Obviously works were perfomerd just next to our room with works noise in the morning and noise from the guests above the room. This woke us up several times during our stay. A fridge can be used by the guests, which is very convenient to store some nice wine or some salami for the aperitivo. The motorway is not far from the house (about 15 min.) and it leads you to the mains spots of East coast Sicily in less than 1 hour (Taormina, Siracusa, Enna, Piazza Armerina). Going to a restaurant in the vicinity includes the use of car and we were recommend very good ones. A big supermarket close to the house allows you to self-cater although we never had dinner in the B&B. All in all a good stay but I would recommend to ask for the most quiet rooms when you book.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ib-phix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2011

Last April, we stayed six nights at Otto Mood B&B, which is located outside Catania in Tremestieri Etneo. It is on a dead-end residential street off a major 2-lane road providing access to a nearby large shopping mall which includes a well-supplied super market for food and wine. The B&B is well-maintained, spotless, and provides good breakfasts served downstairs in the family dining room. Our room was spacious and comfortably furnished, quiet, with an excellent modern en suite bathroom and reliable in-room broad band Wi-Fi. Parking is safe and easy on the street, generally just around the corner from Otto Mood. The owners are gracious and welcoming hosts and go out of their way to accommodate their guests – for example, making café latte to order in the morning, buying decaf coffee especially for me. Giuseppe, an engineer, speaks very good English. The house has a large enclosed lawn and a swimming pool. Giuseppe recommended that we eat at Pane, Olio e Sale, which is a ten minute drive away. Their food was excellent and reasonably priced – we ate there most nights.

The advantage of staying at Otto Mood is that one has relatively rapid access to the major highway running along the eastern coast of Sicily and thus to many sites on the east coast. From Otto Mood as our base, we visited Taormina, Noto and Ragusa, Siracusa (primarily Ortigia), Villa Imperiale del Casale (near Piazza Armerina) and Enna as well as Mt. Etna itself. We highly recommend the Michelin Green Guide’s Driving Tour #2 for Mt. Etna’s NE flank starting at Linguaglossa. Given that it was early April, Mt. Etna’s slopes were covered in snow and old lava deposits, which were spectacular. The highway system is excellent. However, beware that going between the highway and Otto Mood during morning and evening rush hours can entail a lot of stop and go driving. In addition to the traffic, the routing is somewhat complex and often street signs are lacking so GPS is a must. Note also there are warnings of serious security problems (robbery) in central Catania itself. Given this, we did not go into Catania per se.

If we return to eastern Sicily, we would most certainly stay at Otto Mood and eat at Pane, Olio e Sale.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OneFairCall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tremestieri Etneo
3.5 mi away
Airone City Hotel
Airone City Hotel
#1 of 49 in Catania
236 reviews
2.7 mi away
Grand Hotel Villa Itria
Grand Hotel Villa Itria
#1 of 1 in Viagrande
752 reviews
6.8 mi away
NH Catania Parco Degli Aragonesi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Catania International Airport Hotel
4.4 mi away
OttoMood Catania Centro
OttoMood Catania Centro
#2 of 317 in Catania
458 reviews
3.3 mi away
B&B Sotto il Vulcano
B&B Sotto il Vulcano
#1 of 36 in Nicolosi
705 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to OttoMood B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about OttoMood B&B

Address: Via Tenente A. Malerba, 5, 95030, Tremestieri Etneo, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Catania > Tremestieri Etneo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Tremestieri Etneo
Price Range: £52 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — OttoMood B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our B&B is located at the foot of Mount Etna, and it is only a few kilometers from the sea.The philosophy of our house is ‘relax’. The large garden in Sicilian style, the pool surrounded by secular olive trees, the cicada’s song, all create a feeling of absolute tranquility. Breakfast, in pure “catanese” style, is served in the garden, allowing our guests to experience the taste and the warmth of Sicilian cuisine and hospitality ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your OttoMood B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing