We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic The best place I have been in YEARS!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Zen Resort Bali

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Zen Resort Bali
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Seririt
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“Fantastic The best place I have been in YEARS!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2011

Fi you are after peace, love, being cared for and being spoiled thi sis the right place.
OFr For the first time in my adult life I have actually not wanted to leave this place to the oint of crying.
I ahve come to Zen Resort looking for rest, quiet and peace. But I found soooo much more, love, caring staff with a constant friendly smile! It makes me wonder how can us human being jchange the world if we all give our best as does all the staff from this resort.

I highly recommend the FANTASTIC massages and also am also thankful for the BEAUTIFUL place and the GORGEOUS AND CREATIVE flower arrangements that awaits you everyday in your room.
highly highly recommended!! Love is what defines this place for me.

Room Tip: All rooms are fantastic with gorgeous views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FabianaF1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

539 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    459
    59
    8
    9
    4
See reviews for
35
128
255
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2011

I stayed here on my own as a last minute break from a hectic time at work. Booked it the day before arriving after a search of trip adviser for something in bali but off the beaten track.
Excellent service from the staff to deal with my late booking and arrange airport pick up (i recommend you use their service to take the hassle out of transfers).

The resort is in a nice remote(ish) location with a beach 10mins away on foot. This place has a few things going for it, the location is great overlooking the countryside and ocean, the yoga and meditation is a great start or finsih to the day and the ayurvedic spa is outstanding. The rooms are very comfortable with great outdoor showers and I took one of the sunset rooms with a bigger balcony area.

All in all the service from the staff was genuine and very attentive, the food is not the highlight of the stay but is acceptable. I would definately recommend coming here if you want to unwind and leave rejuvinated - you must visit the spa though.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2_wheel_traveller80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2011

Whilst we weren't hugely taken by Lovina as an area, this was an excellent base. The staff were very good, especially so in the pool/restaurant ... taking the time to learn our children's names and generally looking after us very well. The food was very good and, consequentially, we had most of our dinners there. The real differentiator for this place is the yoga and spa treatments. We had a great family yoga session ... a bit of a novel experience for us ... and the teacher was excellent. Similarly, the massage (Bali style) was extraordinary ... the best I have ever had. Finally, the hotel is co-located with the 'Blue Season Bali' dive school and we found them to be excellent also. The current incumbent instructors (Tomas and Petra) were outstanding and gave our family a couple of holiday highlights with organised diving/snorkelling trips. I believe they are moving on after this season but highly recommended for their competence/friendliness if you catch them before they do.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MoorhouseFive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarajevo, Bosnia and Herzegovina
Level Contributor
49 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2011

I noticed a previous visitorss note in my room saying they had stayed for 30 days. i thought that was crazy. However, after my 1 week package vacation, i honestly could say that i wanted at least another week. Even though I was a solo traveler, the week flew by and I needed and wanted more treatments, yoga, etc. Although it is far away from the bustle of Ubud, that is part of its charm. you can still go out and do things (I went for scuba), but I found I wanted to stay at the resort and just chill. The staff are all amazing and their attention to detail was wonderful. The treatments all must be tried and of course the resorts beauty rounds out the whole lovely package. A bit pricey considering it was euro pricing for my US dollar, but it was well worth it to me.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sarahnapa_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2011

Lets start with the positive points:
- Nice views
- Nice gardens and pool
- Very good Spa
- The staff from the restaurant are friendly.
- We were on our Honeymoon and they surprised us with the bath tub full and with some flowers in it.

Negative points:
- The other staff is not so friendly. They try to be friendly but you notice that they try and is not like the normal Balinese people where you immediately feel they are being honest.
- They are building a new Building inside the Resort so you hear the noise from the construction site every day (even on Sunday).
- Flies. How can it be that there are so many flies? They do not clean properly the resort. Try just at the swimming pool bar to order something and then eat/drink there. You will have dozens of flies around you! The same at the breakfast! Only at dinner time, the flies leave you alone.
- Breakfast is poor and for instance they keep the butter inside a metal box which in Bali of course will reach easily 30°C and then you have liquid butter. Would it be so difficult to put in some water with ice cubes?!
- The pool is nice but they only have 6 sunbeds. Another thing is, we were there at 9am, asked for a pool towel and they did not have any clean!!! We had to wait for the laundry to be done. How can this be?! And then we get a towel that was dirty! (see the picture!)

The Resort is nice but for the price they charge you cannot accept these mistakes. The flies is just a question of cleaning properly. We were 3 weeks in Bali & Lombok, we were in other resorts with very nice gardens (like Zen) but no other one had flies like Zen.

We would not return and for that price you can get much much better in Bali. We cannot recommend it. Sorry. It could be a great Resort because the pool and the views are really nice but it is far from being a good Resort because of the mentioned Problems.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank RuiPedroGaspar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helath, Owner at Zen Resort Bali, responded to this review, 4 August 2011
We apologize profusely if you did in any way experience any negativity from our staff. This comes as a complete surprise to us as we pride ourselves in the fact that all our guests have, in the past, commented on the extremely friendly and caring nature of our staff. Please do give us details of any particular incidents and under what circumstances so that we may look in to the matter

We inform guests in advance that there are currently on-going building works at our resort. We apologize if you were not informed and for the inconvenience due to the noise caused to your during your stay. Also, please note that no building work is carried out on Sundays

We believe in a very natural and beautiful environment. We hope you noticed that much of the fruit served at the resort comes from our own grounds. We have a number of mango trees in the dining and pool area which unfortunately do attract flies. Whilst we understand that during the mango season, the flies do become numerous, we believe that it is a small price to pay for the daily fresh fruit that we are able to serve our guests.

We are surprised that with just your experience with butter, makes the whole breakfast “poor”. Formerly, we used to provide butter in little plastic packs on ice. However, this has been stopped, in favour of providing butter in refillable dishes, in line with our 'green' policy of minimizing use of plastics and wastage at Zen. We will see how we can improve breakfast and to try to ensure that the butter remains as cold as possible.

We have 6 sun beds in front of our 7 sunrise villas by the pool and 6 sun beds in front of our 7 sunset villas. We apologize for the late delivery of the pool towels due to late delivery from our suppliers on that particular day.

As the management of Zen resort, we are concerned that your stay was not a pleasant one. We pride ourselves in the well being of our guests and staff. The aim of our resort is for the individual's inner and outer well being. Your comments come as a complete surprise to us but please be assured that we will endeavor to improve the resort, taking your comments into consideration where we deem necessary.

Please do not hesitate to contact me if you have any further questions or comments



Keshinee Shah
------------
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Klang, Malaysia
Level Contributor
150 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 212 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2011

WE came here to dive at the nearby Puri Jati dive site and Pulau Menjangan, arranged by Blue Season Bali. This resort spells relaxation!! We had the diving to force us out of the resort, otherwise just relaxing in its lovely grounds would be a great holiday. The rooms are in 2 blocks, sunrise view and sunset view! We were given the sunrise view, which was nice. The rooms were spacious, simply decorated to suit the mood. Light music ( you get to control) was played throughout the day. No TV, no telephones! The toilet and bath area together with changing area were all nice and spacious. Bath was in fact outdoors, you see the sky!
Meals were served on the poolside terrace by friendly, smiling staff. The Balinese dishes we tried were delicious and better than most places we had eaten. Given that the Resort was away from the little town, the food was reasonably priced.
The beach of black volcanic sand is a short 12 minutes walk away, and is great for sunset photography, nice backdrop! Water is clean enough for swimming.
We had a great sunrise on 1 morning, great photos!

Room Tip: Sunrise view rooms overlook sea villages in vally
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2011

Peaceful place, amazing massage treatments, good food , the sounds of nature .
Note this is not the place to party or to have easy access to bars or party locations. The resort is far from a town if you want to go for dinner outside. Although not impossible just that it probably will cost you a lot to rent a driver unless you have your own car or have arranged outside transport.

-They offer Ayuverda and Diving packages but you can stay there withouth signing up for any of them or you can take them a-la-carte.
-I went with a Ayurveda package..AMAZING spa treatments. Amazing Spa staff. The view from the spa is beautiful , overlooking the sea. Very clean spa and very professional staff.
-They offer Yoga, althought it was only 1x a day , perhaps in busier period they offer more sessions
-Food was nice. I had the option to order from the 3 course menu (included in the package).
-I didn't try the standard menu so can't comment on that.
-tours included to hot springs, rice fields, temple, waterfall all in private car . The rice fields walk was with a local guide and it was informative.
-Zen resort picks you up from any location so not only the airport.
-Staff - all very friendly
-Went snorkeling with the diving center which is on same location and had a wonderful time . Petra from the center was a great guide.
-outdoor shower was nice
-the rooms facing the pool have the sunrise view and the ones in the back the sunset view although the rooms in the back have a day bed in the terrace which is a plus.
-mosquito net in the room
-safety desposit
The spa treatments are expensive in comparison to what massages cost in Bali but it is Ayuverda which is not found in many places in Bali and it is clean in comparison to other spas i went to in Ubud. Not to mentionprofessional.

CONS:
- The resort should mention in bookings that payments with credit card will result in a 3% surchage. Not great to take in this charge as it increase the total price of the night
- The rooms are great but the lighting is not strong. They have dimmers but with that and the table lamps is not enough light to read comfortably in the room.
- The windows are wooden windows with no glass so nor mosquito screens , unless you want mosquitos in your room , you don't really open them.
- The mini bar is too expensive for Bali and more than the bar which makes no sense
- there is no free wifi but you pay less than 1 US$ to get access for 1 hour.


All in all I had a great time. As solo traveller I felt safe and looked after. It is a great place and hope that I will be able to return sometime in the near future.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank garbeba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Seririt
8.8 mi away
The Damai
The Damai
#1 of 24 in Lovina Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 749 reviews
17.3 mi away
Matahari Beach Resort & Spa
24.4 mi away
Menjangan Dynasty Resort
Menjangan Dynasty Resort
#1 of 3 in Banyuwedang
5.0 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
The Lovina
The Lovina
#2 of 24 in Lovina Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 826 reviews
24.7 mi away
The Menjangan
The Menjangan
#1 of 4 in West Bali National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 635 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mayo Resort
Mayo Resort
#2 of 2 in Seririt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zen Resort Bali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zen Resort Bali

Property: Zen Resort Bali
Address: Desa Ume Anyar | PO Box 18, Seririt, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Seririt
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Seririt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Zen Resort Bali 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Reawaken your senses at Zen Resort Bali- a holistic and nature retreat holiday to relax and rejuvenate your physical, psychological and spiritual wellness. Find the joy and pleasures of sustainable living in harmony with yourself, your family and friends and with the world of nature.Perched above the Sea of Bali, tucked into a tropical landscape of rice terraces, vineyards, natural forest and luscious designer gardens, Zen Resort’s serene environment offers the opportunity to regain the calmness of mind, find balance and deep peace and recharge your body while comfortably sinking into the divine knowledge and spiritual experiences through the daily practice of yoga, meditation and pranayama and revitalizing your health and beauty through authentic ayurvedic treatments. Zen Resort, a luxury boutique retreat with fourteen villas, offers a unique and intimate setting, spiritually bound by a passionate desire for complete privacy, luxurious accommodation, and the most attentive, friendly and renowned Balinese service. We look forward to welcoming you at Zen Resort, Bali’s first integrated ayurveda, yoga and nature resort - a unique place where all your senses will be touched, awakened and renewed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Zen Resort Bali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zen Resort Bali Hotel Seririt
Zen Hotel Lovina
Zen Hotel Bali
Zen Resort Bali Seririt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing