We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Kampung Air (Water Chalet)” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bukit Merah Laketown Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bukit Merah Laketown Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Semanggol
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Kampung Air (Water Chalet)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013 via mobile

Kampung Air chalet is cheaper if you book via internet. More spacious and suitable for fishing activities. You can do your fishing activities tru your balcony. .and the view is superb. ..spa is available..massage and body scrub is good...Kampung Air is the best...will be back here again :)

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
10 Thank mayafizz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    21
    39
    20
    34
See reviews for
70
23
2
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Ipoh, Malaysia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2013

Stayed one night in this resort hotel. Had booke earlier via internet, price RM150/- foe 2 persons. Walk in price is Rm250/- per night. Checked in early at 1pm with the help from very polite and accomodating staff in the reservation counter. Rooms were spacious and clean. Aircon functioning well. Bathrooms were very clean and had clean towels, there was hot water for baths.Cable TV available and working.For a 16 year old resort things were average and furniture old.Food court opens at 8am and closes at 7pm, so be prepared with some food in case you want to have a late dinner. Cafe is open from 7am to 11pm.Complimentary breakfast was large, asian and american breakfast available. My wife was not able to finish her american breakfast. There is no night life available here, I wonder whether they sell any liquor here.As this is off season, there was not much activity in the resort.A good coat of bright paint will be eye catching.Wifi available in the hotel and the cafe.

Room Tip: Book rooms facing the Theme park, avoid facing the hilllock, as you can hear the heavy traffic on th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank moon4906
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penang, Malaysia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2013

Stay at the apartment for 3 days and 2 nights for a camp (work related). The room that I stay is for two people. Every basic requirement are provided but for TV, the hotel need to work something on it as the reception is terrible.

The room is quite comfortable but the equipment a bit old. If you are stay at the 2nd level and above, the view is great. Cleanliness is average and it is the area that the hotel still could do the improvement.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FarizIzwan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kota Bharu
Level Contributor
108 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013

First of all, the resort has thee types of accommodation. Suria Serviced Apartment (affordable), Laketown Hotel (moderate) and Kampung Air (expensive). My review is on Laketown Hotel. We booked two deluxe rooms via Agoda which was much less expensive than walk-in or phone booking.I made a note for connecting rooms but upon arrival we were given side to side rooms. After request, they managed to accommodate and gave us connecting rooms though. We had rooms 205 & 206 which were just above the reception.
The rooms were very spacious and although it was stated that maximum occupancy for each is 2, the rooms can accommodate up to 4 persons per room. Breakfast provided for 2 pax per room though. One of the room (205) had 1 queen bed and a sofa bed while room (206) had a queen bed and single bed with a pull out bed underneath it. Which is very good for big families. The bathroom had a bath tub (superior has none if you must know) and a sink area outside the toilet. Water pressure very strong. I do think the rooms need refurbishment though as the old wardrobe almost toppled over me when I wanted to hang my clothes!
Television had a few satisfactory cable channels. WiFi signal was very strong in our rooms and there was even a DVD player if you want to bring your DVDs.
Breakfast was good for RM25 pp with usual hotel menu both continental and asian dishes. Staffs were generally friendly and would happily accommodate you. If you are in-house guests, you'll get to purchase the combo ticket for the attractions (waterpark, ecopark, chair lift ride and skycycle) 10% less (around RM42++) with 2 days entry per ticket which is another value added service.
The attractions? Let me summarise:
Waterpark- not that big but OK enough. Try the boomerang! Looks quite old though.
Ecopark- could've been better kept. Not many animals but the animal show is quite amusing. Don't get your hopes high. Animal here refers to a bunch of parrots.
Chairlift- something different. Takes you across waterpark to ecopark.
Skycycle- the route could've been longer. but maybe they don't want visitors to give up pedaling halfway.
Orang Utan Island- didn't get to go but looked interesting.
Overall, we enjoyed our time in Bukit Merah Laketown Resort.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
12 Thank AiNGEL83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

The Room was dirty and strong old house odor, spider web at ceiling. even the TV are not functioning, call the house keeping. a foreigner worker attending but could not solve the problem and leave with the remote and never return, call the front reception to explain my situation but still no action until the next morning inform them again in the front reception and finally changed with another old TV without a remote control!!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TuckLoon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Semanggol hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Shah Alam, Malaysia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

Booked an apartment room at this resort and found it was quite far from the main buildings. My colleagues meanwhile opted to stay in the deluxe rooms near the main attraction. The general complaint from all was the musty smell from the air conditioning system. I opted to stay without switching the air cond and fared better although sometimes it gets hot and stuffy. The furnitures in my room reminded me of the dorm furnitures during my university days: basic and beaten.!.On the first night, I even had a huge, fat cockroach coming from the crack of my bed! Bathroom was very basic and not too clean. Cleanliness was a major problem along the corridors too except at the reception area,lobby and breakfast area downstairs. Due to the low occupancy rate, breakfast is provided a la carte- western or asian and consists of scrambled egg, sausage and baked beans(western) or noodles (asian). The staff at breakfast and reception were friendly and accommodating. They prepared vegetarian noodles/fried rice for me and helped with my internet connection. You can also order dinner at very reasonable price. Free internet access is available from the lobby. The water park was closed at non peak time (school holidays) and I couldn't go and see the orang utan at the orang utan island due to low water level at the lake (dry season). The mini zoo at the resort was interesting; set amid natural settings although the number of animal species were limited. However, together with the rural setting and located very near where I had to work, towards the end of my trip, I felt stress free.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SanthiArmugam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melaka, Malaysia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2013

We were there from 13/8 to 15/8/13. A good holiday experience with family. We stayed at the Kampung Air (water chalet) with 2 bedrooms. The location was good facing the views of Bungalows Island. Overall, we have enjoyed our stay here.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ahmad a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Semanggol
10.2 mi away
Beverly Hotel
Beverly Hotel
#5 of 14 in Taiping
3.5 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
10.2 mi away
Tune Hotel Taiping
Tune Hotel Taiping
#2 of 14 in Taiping
4.0 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
11.8 mi away
Hotel Taiping Perdana
Hotel Taiping Perdana
#9 of 14 in Taiping
3.5 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.3 mi away
Louis Hotel
Louis Hotel
#1 of 14 in Taiping
4.5 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
9.2 mi away
SSL Traders Hotel
SSL Traders Hotel
#8 of 14 in Taiping
3.5 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
0.9 mi away
Kampung Air
Kampung Air
#1 of 1 in Semanggol
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bukit Merah Laketown Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bukit Merah Laketown Resort

Property: Bukit Merah Laketown Resort
Address: Jalan Bukit Merah, Semanggol 34400, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Perak > Kerian District > Semanggol
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Semanggol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Bukit Merah Laketown Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 369
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bukit Merah Laketown Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bukit Merah Laketown Hotel Semanggol
Bukit Merah Laketown Resort Malaysia/Perak - Semanggol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing