We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Why stay in Cardiff when you can stay at Plas Hen”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bonvilston
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Plas Hen Country Guest House
Ranked #1 of 3 Bonvilston B&B and Inns
Ashby-de-la-Zouch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
109 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Why stay in Cardiff when you can stay at Plas Hen”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013

A warm and friendly welcome awaits you from Helen the owner of this guest house set in the countryside just a few miles outside Cardiff just off the A48(I did have a bit of a job finding this place) Clean,tidy well kept room with Plas Hen set in beautiful countryside so peaceful that all you can hear are the birds singing and Helen's cat and dog breathing as they sleep on the patio. A wonderful breakfast awaits you at the time you agreed with Helen the previous night all served in the large country style kitchen. Will stay here again rather than in the large multi national hotels in Cardiff,it's so much better, try it for yourself and I bet you will be telling everyone the same on Tripadvisor.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lowena7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    57
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
25
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
hazlemere
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2013

Had a lovely stay here unfortunately only had one night but will certainly book again when in the area. A genuinely warm welcome from Helen we felt at home straight away. The accommodation is stunning, never seen such a large bathroom in a b and b before. Very high end fixtures fittings and furnishings -Helen as a good eye for design. Lovely breakfast in the wonderful farmhouse kitchen which before i booked thought may have been awkward but it wasn't.Helen was also a font of information for the area and headed us in the right direction for a lovely coastal walk.Highly recommend.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oxfarcats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2013

We booked this last minute as couldn't get into Cardiff City Centre, we are so glad we couldn't !!! Plas Hen is a lovely bolt hole in gorgeous countryside,only 15 min drive from City and Helen couldn't have been more welcoming. even meeting us at the car with an umbrella !!!. Fantastic breakfast in homely kitchen, felt like family even with other guests there. Only stayed one night but will definitely be back for more and would certainly recommend this place to anyone. Thanks Helen - Chris & Kathy

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bourne, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2013

Helen is so helpful and made our stay so relaxing. We took our 6 month old daughter on her first night in a guest house and it was wonderful how much support we received.

I cannot recommend this place enough, beautiful surroundings and lovely welsh tea cakes warm from the oven on arrival. Breakfast is another treat that awaits for morning!

We will be back

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stuart A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2013

Booked only a couple of days in advance, the welcome started within minutes with a cheery e-mail from Helen. We were looking for somewhere quiet and peaceful but reasonably close to Cardiff. All criteria were fulfilled at Plas Hen. Within a mile of the main road, but accessed through narrow lanes, it was really quiet. The room was clean and airy, with a wonderful view of the garden, the breakfasts were superb, and Helen herself was a joy. There was nothing she wouldn't do, including recommending excellent local restaurants, offering fresh home-made Welsh cakes for afternoon tea, even allowing us to take Billy the setter for walks in the woods. A delightful place we would recommend to anyone.

Room Tip: All three rooms are comfortable but Room 1has the wonderful view of the garden where all the birdlif...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2013

Spent two nights here. Thoroughly enjoyed the stay and wish it could have been for longer! Helen was a great host and very friendly. Good cooked breakfasts and nothing too much trouble. Having wonderful weather and being in beautiful countryside certainly helped to make an excellent weekend here. Great location for Cardiff and within walking distance of bus stop. Other places nearby well worth a visit. I'm sure we'll be back.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GillP9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2013

Booked this at the last minute but had an excellent 3 nights. Excellent accommodation and welcome. We were delighted with the area too. Close to some wonderful beaches; small towns and Cardiff so Plas Hen provided a great base for our exploring

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Felicity C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bonvilston
3.3 mi away
The Bear Hotel
The Bear Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cowbridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
2.0 mi away
Vale Resort
Vale Resort
#1 of 1 in Hensol
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,417 reviews
3.0 mi away
Fox & Hounds
Fox & Hounds
#1 of 1 in Llancarfan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Cowbridge Cabins
Cowbridge Cabins
#1 of 3 in Cowbridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
4.2 mi away
Glyndwr Vineyard
Glyndwr Vineyard
#2 of 9 in Cowbridge
5.0 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plas Hen Country Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plas Hen Country Guest House

Property: Plas Hen Country Guest House
Address: Plas Hen Plas Hen Heol-y-March, Bonvilston CF5 6TS, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Vale of Glamorgan > Bonvilston
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Bonvilston
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Plas hen Country Guest house offers luxury bed and breakfast accommodation in the countryside near Cowbridge in the Vale of Glamorgan.Plas Hen is surrounded by miles of beautiful Welsh countryside,but is ideally situated only 20 minutes from the coast and only 20 minutes from the lovely City of Cardiff.The beautiful stone cottage is set in pretty gardens.The interioris presented in a traditional style with a contemporary twist.All rooms have en-suite facilities,are comfortable and have all the modern conveniences.Helen,the host, will make you feel at home and help you to enjoy your stay with any arrangements that are needed.If you want to stay in the peace of the countryside but not be far fromthe hip and happening City of Cardiff, Plas Hen will provide a diverse and relaxing break. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Plas Hen Country Guest House Bonvilston, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing