We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bonvilston
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Plas Hen Country Guest House
Ranked #1 of 3 Bonvilston B&B and Inns
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Perfect stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014 via mobile

I stayed at Plas Hen Country House recently with my friend as we were photographing a local wedding. The house was beautiful and welcoming, with a fab country kitchen, modern bedrooms and bathrooms. Helen was so friendly and made us feel at home. The food was delicious, we couldn't have asked for more. Thanks Helen!

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank lauraedd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    57
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
25
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Strasbourg, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

We stayed for two nights to get a quiet week end in the countryside and it couldn't have been better. From the excellent room and facilities to our lovely host Helen and her marvelous breakfasts. You will enjoy an absolutely gorgeous house in beautiful country side just minutes away from everything you might need. I thoroughly recommend!

Room Tip: We had a twin room which was very nice clean, and overlooking the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sakia22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liphook, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

The warmth of Helen's welcome was an indicator of what was to come. Plas Hen is in a peaceful spot that is a minute or two's drive from the A48 - very convenient for Cardiff and the Vale of Glamorgan. Our room was spacious, with a large and very comfortable bed. Breakfasts were delicious, served by Helen in her beautiful and enormous farmhouse kitchen. Helen was kindness itself, full of helpful advice when we needed it. We hope to return soon!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ioppeh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014

We stayed at Plas Hen recently while visiting our daughter at the university in Cardiff. Plas Hen is ideally located for Cardiff - a short drive out of the city. It is surrounded by countryside if you are looking for peaceful accommodation as we were. Having said this it is not far from an A road (no noise though) so very accessible. Plas Hen is ideally located for the south coast with its beaches and walks.

Helen was an excellent host - very friendly and helpful - and she cooked a delicious breakfast for us. Our rooms were tastefully decorated and spotlessly clean and we had a good nights sleep. We wished we had been able to stay longer - THANK YOU

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PAUL W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2014

We booked Plas Hen for a one night stay. Helen was extremely helpful when I rang to book and this continued when we arrived. We were greeted with warm welshcakes and a friendly chat that made you feel very welcome. Helen went above and beyond to ensure we were comfortable in our room. Breakfast was excellent!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JennyBl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2013

Helen was a lovely thoughtful host who made my stay relaxed and comfortable. The room was clean and cosy and the welcome helped me to get ready for my business meeting the next day. The breakfast was well prepared and presented with fresh pineapple! The evening after my meeting I had a reflexology session with Helen which was very good. I was really relaxed & slept like a log. I would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AinieG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shifnal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2013

After leaving the A48 and traveling the short distance up the country lanes, Plas Hen appears and first impressions count for a lot, the house and gardens are immaculately maintained.

The welcome by Helen can only be described as biblical, and normally reserved for the prodigal son, truly warm and friendly

After being show to our room we were given a plate full of welsh cakes and fresh milk to make a brew.

Our room was light and airy, but a little too warm , but after talking to Helen (it's good to talk), the perfect temperature was found for our whole stay. The room and en suite bathroom was spotlessly clean. the bed was really comfy, the shower was magnificent and just the thing after a long journey or a day spent exploring Cardiff.

We were visiting Cardiff for the Rugby League World Cup, and Helen spent her own time researching all the parking options in Cardiff for us, and also told us of all the local activities that were on during our stay like the Cowbridge Food Festival and recommending local eateries.

Breakfast was very tasty and just the right amount so as not to over-face you, the poached eggs were a delight.

So what is the Hidden Gem, is it Helen the finest B n B host we have ever encountered? the peace and tranquility? the location? the perfectly appointed room? the breakfast? or Billy the most friendly placid Golden retriever you could ever wish to meet? in fact it is all of these!!!

Look no further for the perfect B n B?

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barrovian134
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bonvilston
3.3 mi away
The Bear Hotel
The Bear Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cowbridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
2.0 mi away
Vale Resort
Vale Resort
#1 of 1 in Hensol
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,419 reviews
3.0 mi away
Fox & Hounds
Fox & Hounds
#1 of 1 in Llancarfan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Cowbridge Cabins
Cowbridge Cabins
#1 of 3 in Cowbridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
4.2 mi away
Glyndwr Vineyard
Glyndwr Vineyard
#2 of 9 in Cowbridge
5.0 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plas Hen Country Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plas Hen Country Guest House

Property: Plas Hen Country Guest House
Address: Plas Hen Plas Hen Heol-y-March, Bonvilston CF5 6TS, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Vale of Glamorgan > Bonvilston
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Bonvilston
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Plas hen Country Guest house offers luxury bed and breakfast accommodation in the countryside near Cowbridge in the Vale of Glamorgan.Plas Hen is surrounded by miles of beautiful Welsh countryside,but is ideally situated only 20 minutes from the coast and only 20 minutes from the lovely City of Cardiff.The beautiful stone cottage is set in pretty gardens.The interioris presented in a traditional style with a contemporary twist.All rooms have en-suite facilities,are comfortable and have all the modern conveniences.Helen,the host, will make you feel at home and help you to enjoy your stay with any arrangements that are needed.If you want to stay in the peace of the countryside but not be far fromthe hip and happening City of Cardiff, Plas Hen will provide a diverse and relaxing break. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Plas Hen Country Guest House Bonvilston, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing