We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“best vacation ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Giant's Foot Surf

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Playa Gigante
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Giant's Foot Surf
Miami
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“best vacation ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2012

i used to think i didn't need much to make a good vacation- a beach, a comfortable bed, and not being at work made me happy. then i came here. i was surrounded by a hilarious group of guys who are fun but make sure you're totally taken care of. i got fed awesome food (ok seriously, you had me at freshly made cookies as if the ceviche hadn't already done that). i got brought to great beaches to surf, caught my first fish ever (we caught lots at that) and generally made to feel a part of the gigante family. and i drank a lot of beer and rum. it is so worth more than the money spent. where else do you get to meet people who are so excited to wake up at 5 am to take you out for dawn patrol every morning, back out later in the morning, back out in the evening, especially when you're a terrible surfer? the people alone made the trip worth it, but everything that comes with staying at giant's foot really made this the best vacation ever. do not miss coming here!!!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janeky4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    4
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
Families
0
3
18
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2012

GFS has an awesome restaurant w/ lots of variety, it's right on the beach, the rooms are very clean, and the staff are helpful and fun to hang out with.

Playa Gigante just edges out Ometepe for the title of my favorite spot in Nica (haven't been to Playa Popoyo, though -- I hear it's just as good, if not better). No crowds, totally relaxed, *very* little development, but several good restaurants and some great people.

If you want a good beach that isn't overrun with Americans, skip San Juan Del Sur and come here. The beach in SJDS isn't half as beautiful, the entire horizon is lined with boats, you have to travel a while to get to the good surf spots, and everything is *much* more expensive and crowded.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank afm82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2012

This was my second trip to GFS and the first for my traveling partner. GFS delivered another great vacation. The owners and staff make sure your have everything you need in this remote oasis. Lots of rum, naps, fireworks with the occasional hike to the foot for me. See you guys again soon.

-Mike and Loren

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michael_j_murphy8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wrong island ny
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2012

because, like all selfish surfers, I wanted to keep this gem a secret: from the ez pick-up at the airport straight to camp, lunch, surf, dinner and tonas, the crew keeps the good times coming. They are stoked on surfing as much as you, and got me up in the am and on the waves at the right spot on the right tides. They aim to please and this was hands down the best surf trip
i've ever been on--waves, laughs, experiences and price---great time all around. The ac cranks in the room, the best waves in nica are a 5 min boat ride away, and beers on board after a big surf are the best you'll ever have. Had to share this b/c Giants Foot deserves the props. You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank preyforsurf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2011

Great facilities. Comfortable, safe and clean. Great food. Awesome surf guides and fun, reliable staff. Great spot to just chill as well. Surfing was great as was the fishing. I will go every year if I can.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eric g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palo Alto, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2011

Remember when you we're a little kid and all the thinking and worring about daily cares didn't exist........at GF you're there again. Your food is cooked (tasty and plenty of it), just walk up to your fridge and grab anything you want, all your transportation is handled (no driving and you can crack a cold one or two while on board), your room is cleaned for you, and most importantly your parents at the camp are super cool and will probably share a rum (or 2,3, etc.) with you. A great place to shed the years of stress and just let it all go. Thanks GF for a unbelievable time.........till next time, pura vida!!! Thanks to E,M,C,N,J,L and the pooches.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LuckySquirrel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Juan, Puerto Rico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2011

I had an amazing time staying and surfing at Giant's Foot. The surf guides had you up and on it before sunrise and surfing 3 sessions a day. The waves in the area are amazing and the staff did not hesitate to take the boat wherever it was best, even if the breaks were over an hour away. The beach in front of the camp does not have a wave but don't miss it because of so many sessions. The food was good and plentiful and there were always plenty of Toñas. The staff was really fun to hang out with when you weren't surfing and the place was relaxing.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jaycobb3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Gigante
0.4 mi away
Hotel Brio
Hotel Brio
#1 of 1 in Playa Gigante
4.5 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
0.4 mi away
Aqua Wellness Resort
Aqua Wellness Resort
#1 of 1 in Playa Redonda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 570 reviews
0.2 mi away
Machele's Place
Machele's Place
#1 of 2 in Tola
4.5 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
Morgan's Rock Hacienda and Ecolodge
0.0 mi away
Gigante Bay
Gigante Bay
#2 of 6 in Playa Gigante
4.0 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hacienda Amarilla del Mar
Hacienda Amarilla del Mar
#1 of 6 in Playa Gigante
4.5 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Giant's Foot Surf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Giant's Foot Surf

Property: Giant's Foot Surf
Address: Tercera Casa del Estero Sur, Playa Gigante, Nicaragua
Region: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > Playa Gigante
Amenities:
Beach Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Playa Gigante
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Giant's Foot Surf is a cozy surf lodge nestled on the beach in Playa Gigante. We have 3 guest rooms with private bathrooms, a living room with lots of books, movies galore, and a flatscreen TV, and an outdoor dining area. Our sandy backyard is strewn with hammocks to relax in after your surf sessions. Our boat, Vale, waits in the bay to take you to the nearby breaks. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Giant`s Foot Surf Hotel Playa Gigante
Giant's Foot Surf Nicaragua/Playa Gigante

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing