We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't book with ANYONE ELSE!!”
Review of Giant's Foot Surf

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Playa Gigante
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Giant's Foot Surf
Reviewed 14 May 2013

Just wanted to Thank everyone again at GFS for the time of my life! Bryce, Conrad, Coley, Drew, Kai and the rest of the staff exceeded my expectations for this trip. If your looking to surf your brains out 3 times a day; than this is place! Conrad (head captain) had us scoring at least 2 out of 3 sessions everyday. There are a handful of other surf boats in the area; none have a boat captain like Conrad who makes sure your scoring the best spot each time of day. We came to jokingly call the other boat of surfers in the area "Team Never On It" as they showed up 1.5 - 2 hours later then we did at every break, after we scored the right tide of course. Food and fun was just as great; Lucre (house mother) had prepared some of the best food i have eaten out of the country, alongside Coley (an awesome chef from TX) who added his flair to each meal (and no; its not just rice and beans for lunch and dinner). There was no downtime unless you wanted it. I was there to surf and in a 7 day trip had managed to chalk up 21 surf sessions and 40+ hours in the water. There was no hesitating when we wanted to surf. "You ready?... Nos Vamos!"
The outlook for the rest of the summer looks great for the Gigante Region, that includes breaks likes Colorado's, Panga Drops, Rancho Santana, Lance's Left and Popoyo. I highly suggest this place if your looking to do absolutely nothing but surf. They will make sure you are worry free when it comes to scoring waves.
And if your looking to simply come down for a vacation with your significant other who may not surf; there is plenty to do in the little town of Gigante; massages, kayaks, surf lessons, snorkeling, fishing... you name it they can make it happen.
After my experience with these guys i am currently trying to figure out how to get back there before summer ends and quite possibly move there; as my experience with this Surf Hostel changed my life forever. Hope to see you all down there soon!
And Bryce and Conrad; I thank you both again and again for your service. I saw no way that i could have done a better trip or squeezed anymore fun into my week! You guys are awesome! See you in a few more weeks...Estoy Viviendo!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rick E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (56)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 56 reviews

Reviewed 15 September 2012

The thing that really stands out about Giant's foot is the extra care they take in everything they do. In all categories the people at Giant's foot choose comfort and quality over the cheapest solution. It really does feel like you are part of a family or close group of friends.
I think what makes this difference is that everybody that works there also lives there, including the owner. For example, the included meals, served every day? It is good food because the owner doesn't buy the cheap stuff, and the chefs, who eat with you, fix the most delicious healthy meals.
At the end of the day, you can sit down and watch a movie, or chill in the hammock watching the sun set. What’s not to love?
For a laid back get away and a chance to recharge the batteries, it honestly doesn't get better than this, even if you don't surf.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JesseHoward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2012

GFS provided an amazing surf vacation. The all inclusive nature made it totally relaxing - clean rooms, tasty food, excellent surf guides, plenty of drinks, cheesy movies, and comfy hammocks. The surf guides know the breaks and conditions so well that they can really personalize your multiple daily surf sessions for your skill level and desired experience. If your paddling muscles need a morning off, you can abuse your arms trying to land some fishes. The entire crew at GFS is like a special family that welcomes you home in a little sandy piece of paradise.

Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
Thank sarahaa2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2012

i used to think i didn't need much to make a good vacation- a beach, a comfortable bed, and not being at work made me happy. then i came here. i was surrounded by a hilarious group of guys who are fun but make sure you're totally taken care of. i got fed awesome food (ok seriously, you had me at freshly made cookies as if the ceviche hadn't already done that). i got brought to great beaches to surf, caught my first fish ever (we caught lots at that) and generally made to feel a part of the gigante family. and i drank a lot of beer and rum. it is so worth more than the money spent. where else do you get to meet people who are so excited to wake up at 5 am to take you out for dawn patrol every morning, back out later in the morning, back out in the evening, especially when you're a terrible surfer? the people alone made the trip worth it, but everything that comes with staying at giant's foot really made this the best vacation ever. do not miss coming here!!!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janeky4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2012

GFS has an awesome restaurant w/ lots of variety, it's right on the beach, the rooms are very clean, and the staff are helpful and fun to hang out with.

Playa Gigante just edges out Ometepe for the title of my favorite spot in Nica (haven't been to Playa Popoyo, though -- I hear it's just as good, if not better). No crowds, totally relaxed, *very* little development, but several good restaurants and some great people.

If you want a good beach that isn't overrun with Americans, skip San Juan Del Sur and come here. The beach in SJDS isn't half as beautiful, the entire horizon is lined with boats, you have to travel a while to get to the good surf spots, and everything is *much* more expensive and crowded.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank afm82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2012

This was my second trip to GFS and the first for my traveling partner. GFS delivered another great vacation. The owners and staff make sure your have everything you need in this remote oasis. Lots of rum, naps, fireworks with the occasional hike to the foot for me. See you guys again soon.

-Mike and Loren

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michael_j_murphy8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2012

because, like all selfish surfers, I wanted to keep this gem a secret: from the ez pick-up at the airport straight to camp, lunch, surf, dinner and tonas, the crew keeps the good times coming. They are stoked on surfing as much as you, and got me up in the am and on the waves at the right spot on the right tides. They aim to please and this was hands down the best surf trip
i've ever been on--waves, laughs, experiences and price---great time all around. The ac cranks in the room, the best waves in nica are a 5 min boat ride away, and beers on board after a big surf are the best you'll ever have. Had to share this b/c Giants Foot deserves the props. You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank preyforsurf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Gigante
0.4 mi away
Hotel Brio
Hotel Brio
#1 of 1 in Playa Gigante
5 reviews
0.4 mi away
Aqua Wellness Resort
Aqua Wellness Resort
#1 of 1 in Playa Redonda
594 reviews
9.5 mi away
Morgan's Rock Hacienda and Ecolodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Machele's Place
Machele's Place
#3 of 3 in Tola
73 reviews
1.8 mi away
Mukul Beach Golf & Spa
Mukul Beach Golf & Spa
#1 of 1 in Playa Manzanillo
384 reviews
11.5 mi away
Mango Rosa Nicaragua
Mango Rosa Nicaragua
#1 of 4 in Playa Marsella
427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Giant's Foot Surf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Giant's Foot Surf

Address: Tercera Casa del Estero Sur, Playa Gigante, Nicaragua
Region: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > Playa Gigante
Amenities:
Beach Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Playa Gigante
Price Range: £301 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Giant's Foot Surf is a cozy surf lodge nestled on the beach in Playa Gigante. We have 3 guest rooms with private bathrooms, a living room with lots of books, movies galore, and a flatscreen TV, and an outdoor dining area. Our sandy backyard is strewn with hammocks to relax in after your surf sessions. Our boat, Vale, waits in the bay to take you to the nearby breaks. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Giant`s Foot Surf Hotel Playa Gigante
Giant's Foot Surf Nicaragua/Playa Gigante

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing