We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is an experience that you won't ever forget, do yourself a favor and get down there.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Playa Gigante
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Dale Dagger Surf Lodge
Reviewed 26 April 2011

I have been to many surf camps and never had this level of treatment. From the food, the surf guides, the boat captains, the camp itself and especially the hospitality of Ben and Kassidy (your hosts). This is a first rate operation that knew how to take care of a bunch of old guys from up North. You won't go wrong booking a trip here. Enjoy!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cjwakefield45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (56)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

48 - 54 of 56 reviews

Reviewed 24 April 2011

Ben And Kassidy do everything possible to get you to the right break at the right time while making sure you are well fed. Everything is very low key and relaxed. There are 2 boats and they are always available. I have been to camps where you need to sign up the night before and you can get blocked for a specific time or if there aren't enough surfers. That doesn't happen here. If you want to surfing-they fire the boat up. Walter put us on 10-20 fish every day on the boat ride back from surfing. I have been back 3 times in the last 6 months.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mikeKramer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2011

If you are interested in busy, touristy deluxe vacations then this is not for you. If you want natural beauty, friendly service, good food and a sense of the people and culture AND great surf then this is a great choice for you. The vacation is focused on finding waves that fit your skill set. In between all that you get a lot (too much) food, great service, down time, hikes, Chele Palmado's, and some much needed sleep. It is a really small town and everyone respects the Surf Lodge so there are very few problems in terms of crime etc. We felt very safe and welcome. I am happy to give Dale Dagger Surf Lodge a great review but I do want to go back and I am afraid it will be booked.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hallbuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2011

Surfers know why Nica is special. The question is where to stay in order to maximize the fun factor. Dale Dagger Surf Lodge is the real deal in terms of getting you to the waves, ensuring you're well fed between sessions, and providing endless beers, laughs and good vibes. Dagger's four decade love affair with Nicaragua has been well chronicled in the surf mags. Many wondered what would happen when he passed the Surf Lodge helm to Ben and Kassidy a few years back. As a three time Lodge guest I answer without hesitation: it has only gotten BETTER. The best location, best boats, best food, best hosts, coldest beer, etc. Having surf-traveled around the world, the highest compliment I can pay any surf lodge is this: it's a good place to hang even when the waves don't cooperate. DDSL fits the bill. See you there.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DoctorBagus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2011

Beautiful location, comfy accommodations, friendly people, unbelievably good food, warm Pacific waters, boats to the best surf – it really doesn’t get any better than this. The surf lodge has all the conveniences, but none of the hassle of home. Hide tide is 30 yards from the lodge, and sunsets are spectacular. Kassidy and Ben, you guys are the BEST! Thanks for such great times. (Jim from Virginia)

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim_from_ArlingtonVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2011

My wife & I spent 10 days at the Dale Dagger Surf Lodge in April. We had an amazing time!
Kassidy, Ben & all the crew were super friendly and took great care of us. Taking the boats twice a day to different spots to surf was the best way to see the breaks of Nicaragua. We surfed some places that seemed almost inaccessible by car. The lodge is super clean, the beds were comfy and the food was great with plenty of it.
We are definitely going back next year for another trip! Can't wait!!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traveller7277
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2011

Wow, best surf trip ever. Great food, best waves, great instructors, etc. This is not just the best surf but also a great experience. The village is beautiful.

Room Tip: Contact kassidy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaxImeMontreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Gigante
0.4 mi away
Hotel Brio
Hotel Brio
#1 of 1 in Playa Gigante
5 reviews
0.6 mi away
Aqua Wellness Resort
Aqua Wellness Resort
#1 of 1 in Playa Redonda
593 reviews
0.0 mi away
Machele's Place
Machele's Place
#2 of 3 in Tola
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
Morgan's Rock Hacienda and Ecolodge
0.2 mi away
Gigante Bay
Gigante Bay
#2 of 6 in Playa Gigante
151 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hacienda Amarilla del Mar
Hacienda Amarilla del Mar
#1 of 6 in Playa Gigante
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dale Dagger Surf Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dale Dagger Surf Lodge

Address: 30 meters South of Gaviota Restaurant, Playa Gigante, Nicaragua
Phone Number:
Region: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > Playa Gigante
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Playa Gigante
Price Range: £38 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dale Dagger's Surf lodge is the first and finest surf tour of its kind in Nicaragua. The lodge itself is located ON the beach, centrally located within fourteen different surf breaks, two of those being world class. It is a four bedroom custom built beach house with private bath in each room, two singles beds, AC, ceiling fans, WIFI and two rooms have private beach side entrances. Located in a village of pure Nicaraguan culture, this beautiful hotel will help you feel the comforts of home with a dose of adventure. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Dale Dagger Surf Lodge Nicaragua/Playa Gigante

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing