We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Surf Lodge”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Playa Gigante
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Dale Dagger Surf Lodge
Dayton, Oregon
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic Surf Lodge”
Reviewed 28 January 2013

The lodge was always clean, had a very friendly atmosphere and loaded with charm! The people were all very helpful and friendly too! Even the village people were friendly always giving a happy "Hola!" when you passed.
The food was fantastic and the best part... right on the beach with a phenomenal view , comfy hammocks, and an extremely relaxing vibe. If you enjoy beachcombing this is the place to be... I spent many hours on the beach and found an array of shells and rocks. You can watch the pelicans dive into the water, the villagers fishing offshore, and we even watched a few surfers to boot! Did I mention the fridge was always stocked with cold refreshing drinks?
I would highly recommend this place to anyone looking to get away from the fast paced lifestyle of the city!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenkedall72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    0
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
7
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Salem, OR
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2013

We stayed at "Kassidy's Hotel" for 5 days as part of a Softball Sister Cities and Breast Cancer Awareness project. The lodge is lovely, right on the beach so you can have morning coffee watching the fishing boats come in, with a rustic feel but really all the comforts you need: clean rooms, good food, internet as long as the power is on (and if it's not, just chill), and a cooler full of soda and beer. Kassidy and Ben are deeply involved with the community, working on projects for eduction, health care, etc, and clearly have the respect of all who live there. If you want to donate some time to help out, contact Bo at Project WOO and he can set you up with a homestay if you have some skills to share.
Bring everything with you that you might need--there are no atms, no banks, only a tiny store, no real health care for a long ways. If you are looking for Club Med, go to Club Med!

Room Tip: There are just 4 rooms and they are basically the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oregonbiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cottage Grove, Oregon
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2013

Okay, so a group of 18 women come to visit Playa Gigante to bring Breast Cancer Awareness and play softball in the middle of winter in Oregon. So, paradise awaits you. Kassidy and Ben are the epitome of hospitality! Their place is clean, well kept and fully stocked with wonderful amenities like cold water, beer and soda! They are Eco-conscious and more importantly they are an important gear in raising the standard of living by providing service and training to the local community. I absolutely recommend the Dale Dagger Surf Lodge to singles, couples, families and anyone who appreciates great value, social awareness and an excellent view!

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RegieSV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2011

Away from the crowds and with off-the-charts hosts. Not only were we surfing all day, but also landed enough fish to feed a village (ok a small village). Kassidy and Ben, among others, put on a great trip for us and were extremely accommodating with recommendations and anything else. Plus, they work closely with the locals, with Walter and his family being especially gracious.

We're already planning our trip back.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ktrosian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu, Hawaii
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 July 2011

Where do I start? The surf was consistent and amazing..the staff was professional, friendly and accomodating..facilities were clean and functional..Kevin (aka Tom Brady) our surf guide was spot on, scoring Playgrounds by ourselves was definitely a highlight, and he rips!...Kassidy and Ben were the best hosts anyone could ask for, very fun-loving and laid back, made us feel like family..even got to meet Dale himself..so stoked! This surf camp is top notch, I've been on one previous boat trip to the Mentawais, and this experience is comparable if not exceeds it. Already looking forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Godballer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2011

My wife, seven year old son and I stayed at the Dale Dagger surf camp at the end of a three and half week Nicaraguan adventure. The lodge is located on the quiet and beautiful beach cove of Playa Gigante. The plan was for me to surf for a few days while they enjoyed the quiet beach community. We were the only guests in the super clean and roomy house/lodge.(really nice digs) Our air-conditioned room with private bath had two very comfortable twin beds and a cot for my son. We checked in around 1pm and were greeted by owners Ben and Cassidy who quickly prepared lunch in order to get in an evening surf session. The lodge has two boats with highly qualified captains and very friendly/knowledgeable guides who are eager to help you find the best surf given the conditions and tide. It was clear that their aim was to make sure that you got as many waves as you could each day. We surfed a variety of great breaks and since I had been traveling prior to my arrival I borrowed their boards, which were in good shape. On our last day the conditions were not great so the captain took my family and me to San Juan del Sur for the afternoon which my family really apprecited. The staff was very friendly, the food was good and the beer was cold. Ben and Cassidy provide a fantastic experience. They are also very involved in making a positive impact on the local community. We had a great time w/ great surf!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank crwolff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 May 2011

Our group of 9 friends, from 50 something has beens to teenage chargers, fell into a dreamland of surf, comraderie, laughter and adventure at Dale Dagger's Surf Lodge. So much more than a surf trip, it was where we created our stories (perhaps fables) that we share every time we get together. From being met at the airport to the bus ride to Playa Gigante - it was effortless, fun and quick- our trip was action packed. Once we arrived, the staff was ready to play...and so were we! The beach front location in the sleepy fishing town was perfect. The lodge was very comfortable, and our group of 9 never felt crowded. Our meals were first class with more offered than we could devour. Jumping in the water every dawn to swim to the boats for the first surf session sets your mind right. There is something about taking a boat to a break that elevates the surf experience. Waves were abundant, with many varied locations that fit all of our skill levels. But, above all...the staff!!!!!! Kassidy has developed a group that is synchronized, experienced, friendly, supportive and always looking to find ways to make the experience better. It's not a question of if we go again, rather when and how often. My absolute best vacation-EVER!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bzaiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Gigante
0.0 mi away
Hotel Brio
Hotel Brio
#1 of 1 in Playa Gigante
4.5 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Punta Teonoste
0.0 mi away
Aqua Wellness Resort
Aqua Wellness Resort
#1 of 1 in Playa Redonda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Machele's Place
Machele's Place
#1 of 2 in Tola
4.5 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
0.0 mi away
Gigante Bay
Gigante Bay
#2 of 6 in Playa Gigante
4.0 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
0.0 mi away
Buena Onda Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dale Dagger Surf Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dale Dagger Surf Lodge

Property: Dale Dagger Surf Lodge
Address: 30 meters South of Gaviota Restaurant, Playa Gigante, Nicaragua
Phone Number:
Region: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > Playa Gigante
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Playa Gigante
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dale Dagger's Surf lodge is the first and finest surf tour of its kind in Nicaragua. The lodge itself is located ON the beach, centrally located within fourteen different surf breaks, two of those being world class. It is a four bedroom custom built beach house with private bath in each room, two singles beds, AC, ceiling fans, WIFI and two rooms have private beach side entrances. Located in a village of pure Nicaraguan culture, this beautiful hotel will help you feel the comforts of home with a dose of adventure. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Dale Dagger Surf Lodge Nicaragua/Playa Gigante

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing