We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome food, friendly owner”
Review of Party Wave Gigante

Party Wave Gigante
Price range: US$2 - US$5
Cuisines: American, Central American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Description: Playa Gigante's only cafe and cyber. We have fresh-ground, nicaraguan coffee, a full range of espresso drinks and vietnamese-style ice-cafes. Fresh juices and yogurt/kefir smoothies. Fresh bread, chocolate-chip cookies and other home-made baked goods. We offer computers for internet access and Wi-Fi. We also have a mini surf-shop and boutique as well.
Granada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome food, friendly owner”
Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

We spent three nights in gigante and ate this cafe every morning for breakfast. The burritos and French toast were absolutely amazing and filling and I'm sure the other food was phenomenal too. Smoothies also were super tasty and filling.

I was pleased to see that the owner only hires Nicaraguan locals even though it would be pretty easy to hire travellers.

Thanks berto for a great experience.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Rory G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    12
    2
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Isla de Ometepe, Nicaragua
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Great coffee, right at the beach”
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Party Wave is the place in Gigante where you get a good and strong coffee. Together with their sandwiches, smoothies and internet it is probably the best breakfast option on the beach.
Go and try...

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Zkini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Chill for a bit with Berto”
Reviewed 18 May 2014

We were staying at Aqua, but we walked over to Playa Gigante every day for the amazing passion fruit juice, carrot cake and chocolate chip cookies at Party Wave. A very relaxed vibe, and the owner and staff are very friendly.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Eileen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
Reviewed 15 May 2014

The breakfast burrito is by far my favorite, but all the food here is delicious! Great pre and post surf grub. The dining area is right on the beach. Very relaxed vibe, with hammocks available to chill in. You can rent surf boards here as well. The owner, Robert, and his staff are very friendly. Can't wait to be back!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Kimbers_Life
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victor, Idaho
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good food, place to hang out”
Reviewed 7 May 2014

I love this little cafe in Playa Gigante. The service can be slow, but it's not a big deal to me because you can use the Internet for free if you spend more than $2. This is a more expensive cafe than traditional Nicaraguan cafes, but because it has Internet and is also in a town off the beaten path, I'm okay with paying a few extra cents. Plus, it's right on the beach :)

The local staff tries very hard to speak English to make it more comfortable for guests, who are mostly tourists. Tip well :)

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Julianna E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Party Wave Gigante also viewed

Playa Gigante, Rivas Department
Tola, Rivas Department
 
Popoyo, Rivas Department
 

Been to Party Wave Gigante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing