We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“definitely the highlight of our trip”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Christopher Lake
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Land of the Loon Resort
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“definitely the highlight of our trip”
Reviewed 19 May 2013

apart from staying with family and meeting our newest Grandbaby, this was the most restful and healing part of our recent 5 week trip to western Canada. Clean, comfortable, so quiet - the deer and the loons welcomed us, as did the hosts. A place to recover and one that we hope to return to one day. Thank you so much to the Greenings and the staff

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jader001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    10
    2
    5
    3
See reviews for
13
9
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saskatoon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2013

We had 3 days here and loved it. We had been here before and just love this place because it is really quiet and the owners try their best to keep things peaceful and natural. There are a few comments on here about it needing some TLC and we had noticed a lot of little fixes like new paint and fixtures and new carpeting in the bedroom, so I believe they are working things out. Its a great place and the people who own it are really nice and helpful... its a small family business, its not perfect!!! If you want a 5 star hotel or a maid to take care of you this is not the place for you!!! But if you want a real hideaway, nice private cabins that aren't jammed together, and you can survive not having a spa and a buffet, then this is a good place for you. Great for easy going nature people, not so good for fancy people.

Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank Tom M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JacobsenBay, Owner at Land of the Loon Resort, responded to this review, 30 April 2013
Thanks for your comments. I`m glad you had such a nice weekend. Unfortunately the weather has been a bit strange.... And thanks for mentioning the upgrades to the cabin. We have spent the last few months getting the interiors spruced up. Doing some painting, small repairs and some other cosmetic changes. We had a wild and difficult couple of years, losing Jack to cancer was a long difficult process which really took all our focus. Last year was a very rough time with lots of major changes... we sold some land and moved the 3 cottages onto a beautiful new location right by the water, constructed new rental units, began the development of our seasonal campsites, built a brand new store, and dealt with the 4 month construction of a new highway...( wow, that was a bit of a nightmare). But it`s done now, it`s all over but the crying as they say :) Unfortunately those events and some other family issues took our energy and attention away from the property and the little details... we aren`t a big company, we are a 4 person family operation so it can be a bit of a struggle. When big things happen the little things get pushed aside. But we are working at getting things cleaned up and back on track, and we are very grateful to our guests and their patience and support. We will continue to make the cabins as nice and guest friendly as we can. Hope to see you again this summer... you are the type of people who belong here!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saskatoon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2013

We just spent the Weekend at Land of the Loon, and as always enjoyed our stay in the two story chalet....It is always clean and ready upon arrival....Always a peaceful time.....We were certainly looked after with anything we needed...which was not much....will go back soon......Dave

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank davem354
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2012

This is a beautiful spot, and we had a lovely time there with family. But the resort itself needs a lot of fixing up to make it worth the cost of the stay. In our cabin, the fridge was broken (missing all the shelves on the door, and wouldn't close properly), there was no bedding for the hideaway bed (I mentioned this, and was told it was there somewhere, but we never found it), and we didn't have a BBQ for our cabin. When I mentioned this the first night, I was told that they might be able to get us one the next day, but no one ever followed up on this so we didn't have a BBQ for our entire stay (3 days). Luckily we were there with other family members and were able to use their BBQ. The resort is in a general state of disrepair, but could be a wonderful place with some attention to getting it up and running properly.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Grianne_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wheatland
Level Contributor
59 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2012

It truly is a beautiful spot no one can argue that. Peaceful, quiet and true wilderness beauty. Exceptional canoeing experience. The cabins and resort however need some attention. During the last couple of years they have failed to maintain them. Our cabin did not have a table outside and had a hard time getting one as the main office only open sporatically. Also although it advertises to have all the utencils it did not. We had no bbq tools or spacula at all. Was hard to cook burgers or eggs with a fork. Also the bathroom toilet was broken and again could not find anyone to help us right away. Fire extinguisher had also expired.

We spoke to the owner after about our concerns. We sure hope they take note as it is so sad to see such a beautiful place go down. We have been coming here for years for our anniversary however do not think we will return this year. We feel we did not get value for what we paid.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Wheatland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JacobsenBay, Owner at Land of the Loon Resort, responded to this review, 12 April 2013
These are all completely fair and legitimate concerns. I really appreciate your comments and am glad you enjoyed the natural beauty that we offer. I am sorry that you had these issues when you stayed with us, and although its not alot of consolation now, I'd like to offer this: We have had a few years where we have struggled, particularly in the area of customer service. But we recognize these shortcomings and are making real efforts to improve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saskatoon, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2012

We have stayed in several of the chalets over the last few years. Realize this is a resort in the wilderness. Or as close to wilderness as possible 2 hours out of the city. Listen and learn. The smells are those of the woods and the lake. Yes, the cabins need a little more upkeep, but they are in the process of renovations and moves. Be loyal and tolerant. If there needs to be a bit of cleaning done, do it yourself. It is light housekeeping. No phones, no cable, just the sounds of the birds and squirrels. One persons idea of a resort is not everyones. If you want spa with a jacuzzi tub, dont come here. How you treat the family is how you will be treated back. A lesson for life. Everything is homelike and the family and staff try their best with limited workers. A little respect for a family business...a local one. Support them and just go prepared. Feel free to contact me...we will be returning there in one weeks time..despite the reviews.

Room Tip: All the chalets have what you need. Take the extra amentities you expect. Extra pillows, a fav. bl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank prairiedust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saskatoon, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2012

We have been visiting the Land of the Loon for the last 15 years. We go there every X-Mas and most summers. We stay for 3 nights at a time. The log-cabins offer simple amenities but they are comfortable; and they are nestled in a beautiful environment. If you are looking for a big flat-screen TV, a full mini-bar, high-speed internet, video games and a big pool with a slide beside a casino, then you better stay in your boring city - this is not for you and I do not want you as a neighbour anyway. The Land of the Loon is a quiet place for hikers, canoeists, fishermen and X-skiers. The staff - Debbie and Dylan - treat us as friends and family, and they are always welcoming. The Snail Pace Cafe offers a casual menu and the freshly prepared food (we highly recommend the walleye) is very good. We keep going back to the Land of the Loon simply because the place is easy to get to and it offers a good taste and experience of northern Saskatchewan. If you are looking for a good break from an hectic life and are seeking refuge and calmness in the boreal forest, the Land of the Loon is the place to visit. We like it in the summer, but to see and hear wolves howling at nigh under beautiful northern-lights, in the winter, will give you goose-bumps.

Yves & Elizabeth

Room Tip: Log-cabin #8 is the best situated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yveszab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Land of the Loon Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Land of the Loon Resort

Property: Land of the Loon Resort
Address: Jacobsen Bay, Christopher Lake, Saskatchewan, Canada
Region: Canada > Saskatchewan > Christopher Lake
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Christopher Lake
Number of rooms: 302

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing