We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Area. ”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Christopher Lake
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Land of the Loon Resort
Sarnia, Canada
Level Contributor
54 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Beautiful Area. ”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed in one of the Studio rooms in July. Rooms were adequately equipped with all the basics you would need. The staff were very pleasant and accommodating. This was our first visit to this area and we loved it. People in the village area were very friendly. There is a nice little park area just a short walk from where we stayed.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank kiddrd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    10
    2
    5
    3
See reviews for
13
9
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lacombe, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

My son and I booked at the Land of the Loon Resort for a wedding in June 2014. We arrived late in the evening and were delighted to have been upgraded to a Chalet from a Cabin at no charge. The accomodations were just awesome. Two bedrooms, awesome bathroom with excellent water pressure. We had every amenity needed to cook, BBQ and just enjoy the outdoors. Anglin Lake was a stones throw away from our Chalet. The accomodations were the best! The service excellent. If you want to get away and relax and see on of the most amazing landscapes in the world. I recommend this resort. You will have no wireless and can just enjoy nature for what is truly is. Great place to go an unplug from the hussle of everyday life! I highly recommend this resort. We plan on visiting again with all the family, granddaughers and pets. For a small pet fee your pets can enjoy this amazing resort. Can't wait to return.

Room Tip: Definitely recommend the Chalet is was amazing and roomy with every amenity.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank librarianchrisp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saskatoon, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

I've been going to Land of the Loons for more than 10 years. It's always been a special gem for me. The resort has had its ups and downs, with a crappy provincial road (recently fixed), a bit of wear and tear that comes with age, and recently, a devastating fire that took out their restaurant and conference centre.

Land of the Loons resort has a great atmosphere! It's a great place for peace and quiet at the lake. I'm a *bit* of an introvert, and I love this as a quiet place to recharge. It's clear that the Greenings have put great thought and restraint into the resort ... keeping trees and separation between cabin. Even the value options, such as the studio apartments in the upstairs of the old store building, are quiet and peaceful. Recently, I've noticed some improvements to the cabins, and if anything is missing from the kitchen, the folks at the store are a great help.

This resort is LGBT* friendly!

Room Tip: The "modern log cabins" are my favourite ... now in a great location. NB bathrooms are ver...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Gord L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JacobsenBay, Owner at Land of the Loon Resort, responded to this review, 7 September 2013
Thanks Gord, we appreciate your comments, and your patronage over the years.
I wanted to add to your comments: Firstly, as Gord mentioned we did have a major fire this summer which destroyed our Main Lodge building which housed our dining room, conference centre, meeting rooms and registration office. Along with the complete structure, we also lost our water system, well, power service, water treatment, and mechanical service due to the fact that all these things were housed in the main building. As a result of the fire, and while the official causal investigation was taking place and we scrambled to build a new water system, we had to shut down all rental of the Chalets for 2 weeks while we rebuilt a water and power system. During an impossibly difficult situation, we then had to call our guests and cancel their bookings for the 2 weeks we were shut down. So I want to thank our guests who were completely inconvenienced by all this, for their understanding. We had people calling us back after they found out their summer holidays were ruined, offering to come help us clean up!! It was surreal and awesome. People can be amazing....
One of Gord's tips was about the size of the bathrooms in the modern log cottages. He is 100% right when he says they are small! The Chalets have full size bathrooms (wheel chair access), but the cottages originally had only a toilet and sink in the bathroom. We wanted to give guests the ability to shower so we put a shower in an already tiny room. The bathrooms are comically small, but you can get everything done in there, and thats whats important. Its a very valid travel tip tho, so thank you for including it.
Also a great comment was that we are LGBT friendly, which we know is important to many, particularly when you are heading off to some "cabin in the woods" you've never been to before. We are a small family business who have been here for 4 generations and we PRIDE ourselves on trying to make people as comfortable as we can. :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2013

apart from staying with family and meeting our newest Grandbaby, this was the most restful and healing part of our recent 5 week trip to western Canada. Clean, comfortable, so quiet - the deer and the loons welcomed us, as did the hosts. A place to recover and one that we hope to return to one day. Thank you so much to the Greenings and the staff

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jader001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saskatoon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2013

We had 3 days here and loved it. We had been here before and just love this place because it is really quiet and the owners try their best to keep things peaceful and natural. There are a few comments on here about it needing some TLC and we had noticed a lot of little fixes like new paint and fixtures and new carpeting in the bedroom, so I believe they are working things out. Its a great place and the people who own it are really nice and helpful... its a small family business, its not perfect!!! If you want a 5 star hotel or a maid to take care of you this is not the place for you!!! But if you want a real hideaway, nice private cabins that aren't jammed together, and you can survive not having a spa and a buffet, then this is a good place for you. Great for easy going nature people, not so good for fancy people.

Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank Tom M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JacobsenBay, Owner at Land of the Loon Resort, responded to this review, 30 April 2013
Thanks for your comments. I`m glad you had such a nice weekend. Unfortunately the weather has been a bit strange.... And thanks for mentioning the upgrades to the cabin. We have spent the last few months getting the interiors spruced up. Doing some painting, small repairs and some other cosmetic changes. We had a wild and difficult couple of years, losing Jack to cancer was a long difficult process which really took all our focus. Last year was a very rough time with lots of major changes... we sold some land and moved the 3 cottages onto a beautiful new location right by the water, constructed new rental units, began the development of our seasonal campsites, built a brand new store, and dealt with the 4 month construction of a new highway...( wow, that was a bit of a nightmare). But it`s done now, it`s all over but the crying as they say :) Unfortunately those events and some other family issues took our energy and attention away from the property and the little details... we aren`t a big company, we are a 4 person family operation so it can be a bit of a struggle. When big things happen the little things get pushed aside. But we are working at getting things cleaned up and back on track, and we are very grateful to our guests and their patience and support. We will continue to make the cabins as nice and guest friendly as we can. Hope to see you again this summer... you are the type of people who belong here!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saskatoon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2013

We just spent the Weekend at Land of the Loon, and as always enjoyed our stay in the two story chalet....It is always clean and ready upon arrival....Always a peaceful time.....We were certainly looked after with anything we needed...which was not much....will go back soon......Dave

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank davem354
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2012

This is a beautiful spot, and we had a lovely time there with family. But the resort itself needs a lot of fixing up to make it worth the cost of the stay. In our cabin, the fridge was broken (missing all the shelves on the door, and wouldn't close properly), there was no bedding for the hideaway bed (I mentioned this, and was told it was there somewhere, but we never found it), and we didn't have a BBQ for our cabin. When I mentioned this the first night, I was told that they might be able to get us one the next day, but no one ever followed up on this so we didn't have a BBQ for our entire stay (3 days). Luckily we were there with other family members and were able to use their BBQ. The resort is in a general state of disrepair, but could be a wonderful place with some attention to getting it up and running properly.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Grianne_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Land of the Loon Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Land of the Loon Resort

Property: Land of the Loon Resort
Address: Jacobsen Bay, Christopher Lake, Saskatchewan, Canada
Region: Canada > Saskatchewan > Christopher Lake
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Christopher Lake
Number of rooms: 302

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing