We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful Country Home Close to Everything”
The house
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The house
The stove in the kitchen The books
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
4 reviews
The house
The stove in the kitchen
The books
The upright piano
The main bedroom
The vintage bedroom
The old room
The house in January
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 11
Roatto, Province of Asti, Piedmont

Reviews from our community

 of 5 bubbles
Excellent - based on 4 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
jdmissal
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful Country Home Close to Everything”
Reviewed 9 January 2013 for a stay in October 2012
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed 5 nights in this historic, beautifully maintained home. Our host Angelo was welcoming and helpful guiding us to local restaurants, wineries and sightseeing locations.
The price was extremely reasonable and altho Roatto is tiny (just a corner store) the grocery is a close drive and we found a market in nearby cities nearly everyday.

The grounds were gorgeous and we enjoyed enough warm weather to dine out side one afternoon and enjoy the view of the mountains from this hilltop home. We also took advantage of the BBQ and the bikes provided even though it was early October.

The wine tasting in the region was wonderful and we found a local woman who spoke English and acted as our guide for a day taking us to places we never would have found on our own and introducing us to Barolo and Barbaresco wines of the region. EAch day we kept busy exploring the area but didn't put more than 100 miles on our cars. So much to see nearby! We had planned to go into Turin and never did until we had to catch our plane out.

I highly recommend the Professor's home to families or groups wanting to stay together but enjoy the privacy of your own bedroom, updated bathrooms and a marvelous dining setup. The furnishings are magnificent - a collectors dream.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and the facilities
Liked least: the beds
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhelansBr...
Brisbane
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed 12 November 2012 for a stay in September 2012
2
people found this review helpful

My husband and 11 year old son stayed in the Professor's Home for 10 nights in late September 2012.

The house was amazing - fully of family heritage and mementos, whilst still being very practically fitted out and comfortably furnished. The kitchen is really well set up and reflects the fact that the family still use the house for holidays etc - there is nothing that you need that is not there somewhere. The bedrooms are very comfortable and spacious and the bathrooms are modern and very clean. The whole house is meticulously maintained.

The grounds of the house are lovely with a vegetable garden, grapes vines and orchard. We spent many afternoons relaxing in the yard enjoying the views and the sunset. It is a very quite and peaceful location.

The town of Roatto itself is very small - there is one small shop, where a small range but large quantity of grocery items are sold. The shop owners also make their own salami and other meat products which was delicious. The owners are very friendly and helpful.

Closest town is Villafranca D'Asti which is about 10 minutes drive away. There is a full size grocery store there where all needs can be met, as well as some restaurants and bars (coffee) and a post office. This town also has a train station from where it is an easy trip into Turin.

I would highly recommend staying at the Professor's house. Angelo, the owner, is extremely helpful and very well organised. He gave us great recommendations of things to do and places to eat in the local area. He is a kind and generous host and we felt priveleged to spend time in his family home. We hope to visit again sometime.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The overall feeling of the house and it's location
Liked least: not applicable
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston USA
Reviewed 22 October 2012 for a stay in August 2012
3
people found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Melbourne Australia
Reviewed 4 March 2011 for a stay in June 2010
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Spouse / significant other
Your age range 55-64
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$112
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing