We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great place for stay with dog!”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
25 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Caldbeck, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 25 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
WellTrave...
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great place for stay with dog!”
Reviewed 8 May 2018 for a stay in May 2018

Stayed over May bank holiday with our dog. Wonderful fenced in garden with a table for 6 outside to enjoy al fresco dining as the garden gets the sun until early evening. Ample parking at the back of the property, easily fit 3 cars.
The house was clean & spacious with a lovely log burning stove (logs provided). Kitchen, which is about to be upgraded, had dishwasher, microwave, electric stove, toaster and plenty of crockery.
Location is great, quiet yet with easy access to the village and fells.
Would definitely return and recommend if travelling with pets.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashanti8
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Last minute break”
Reviewed 28 November 2017 for a stay in September 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We managed to get a last minute booking,it was very well organised and helpful ,when we arrived it was dark and not sure if we had got the right place i rang the number on my email and a lovely young lady talked me through it and stayed on the phone till we got in she was very kind ,the house was realy warm and cosy and clean there was tea coffee and biscuits and milk which was a blessing as it was late when we arrived ,the dogs settled down straight away in the kitchen it was like home to them too , we had a fantastic break and would highly recommend it we will definitely be going back

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Dec 2017
Good afternoon
Thank you for your review following your stay at Ellwood House. We are delighted you had fantastic stay and it is great to hear you would highly recommend the property. We look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Kind regards
Lakes Cottage Holidays
017687 74060
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NicAngel
1 review
“Just what we needed!”
Reviewed 7 March 2017 for a stay in February 2017

We recently spent a week in Ellwood House and had a thoroughly lovely stay. The house was clean, tidy and very homely with the beautiful log burner. We were amazed at how well stocked the kitchen was including cleaning products, tea, coffee, milk and some rather delicious biscuits. All this and plenty of fuel for the log burner.
We will most certainly be visiting the property again as it's location was perfect for our family with plenty of parking, beautiful enclosed (great for the dog) garden with patio and BBQ.
I have never met such friendly people as the people in the pub and village shop which may I add has everything you could possibly need. The proprietors of Ellwood House were amazing, we managed to leave something behind but they returned it to us in a very timely manner. They couldn't do enough for us.
Wonderful, can't wait to do it again when the weather picks up.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Mar 2017
Good afternoon
Thank you for your review following your stay at Ellwood House. We are delighted you had a thoroughly lovely stay and found the property and its location perfect. It is great to hear that you are planning to visit again and we look forward to welcoming you.
Kind regards
Lakes Cottage Holidays
017687 74060
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nannyrain
Derbyshire, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Warm and cosy”
Reviewed 2 December 2016 for a stay in November 2016

Currently staying at Elwood house, it is a lovely cosy house , well equipped, and plenty of space , we have been here for a week and visited , Keswick and Ambleside , also buttermere , it is a lovely quite little village ,and quite location, the cottage provides everything you could want or need for your stay,lovely thought of tea , coffee, sugar,milk and biscuits on arrival,there is washing machine, dryer , and dishwasher , went home with no washing , which is a bonus , there is also a fab log burner , DVD, lots of games and dvds to watch for the cosy nights in , it was just like home from home I would recommend a stay here if you want peace and quite , but able to easily get to other places with peaceful roads to drive on , loved it thank you to the owner , if I had any negatives which I don't really it would be a kitchen update , thanks Stuart , Lorraine,Alan , benson xx

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Dec 2016
Good afternoon
Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Ellwood House. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay at this lovely house and we hope to welcome you again soon.
Kind regards
Lakes Cottage Holidays
017687 74060
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carolearl...
Rome, Italy
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic cottage, super feel to it”
Reviewed 7 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

My husband and I and our dog stayed at Ellwood House in September. We really enjoyed the experience, and the cottage is very well equiped. Lovely garden, and area. Caldbeck is a true gem. We will definetly be back. Thank You

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Sep 2016
Good evening
Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Ellwood House. We are delighted you really enjoyed your stay in this fantastic cottage and found Caldbeck to be a true gem. It is great to hear that you plan to return and we look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Kind regards
Lakes Cottage Holidays
017687 74060
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mumski201...
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely cottage and garden”
Reviewed 22 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Inside the cottage was nicely furnished and decorated. It was cosy and warm throughout wiwith a good shower and comfortable bed. It was very pleasant sitting in the garden - we were very lucky with the weather.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Oct 2015
Good afternoon
Thank you for your review following your stay at Ellwood House. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay in this beautiful cottage and we hope to welcome you again in the future.
Kind regards
Lakes Cottage Holidays
017687 74060
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachel S
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Mrs”
Reviewed 4 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Ellwood house is a beautiful spacious cottage , with everything you could possibly need. Like home from home really .With lots of extras added too.such a beautiful garden to sit out in with plenty of seating and a big bbq.i would recommend ellwood house to everybody.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Sep 2015
Good afternoon
Thank you for your review following your stay at Ellwood House, Caldbeck. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at this beautiful cottage and were able to enjoy it's beautiful garden. It is great to hear that you would recommend Ellwood House and we hope to welcome you in the future.
Lakes Cottage Holidays
017687 74060
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing