We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic lodge over looking fantastic views.”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
11 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Caldbeck, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
doreen p
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic lodge over looking fantastic views.”
Reviewed 14 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Many thanks for a lovely stay in your beautiful lodge. The weather could not have been better if we had ordered it, the views from the lodge were fantastic. If we are in your area again we will be sure to book you up. Dee and Jon Plimmer and family.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views.
Liked least: Needed more utensils ie saucepan, fruit bowl, and instuctions on how to work cooker and microwave.The path to the lodge would benefit from lighting at night.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Sep 2015
Good morning
Thank you for your review following your stay at Carrock Lodge. We are delighted you had a lovely stay in this beautiful lodge and we hope to welcome you again in the future.
Kind regards
Lakes Cottage Holidays
017687 74060
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amie P
Dudley, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Great stay”
Reviewed 13 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We stopped for a week the beginning of September 2015, had a great stay.
The lodge we stayed in was brilliant, modern, clean with all you need at hand. The views out over the valley were fantastic. We took our Boxer dog, who made friends with their dog. It's 5 minutes drive to caldbeck and about 30 minutes from Keswick.
The couple who run the farm were really helpful and friendly. We had a fantastic stay, would go again and recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Sep 2015
Good morning
Thank you for your review following your stay at Carrock Lodge. We are delighted that you had a fantastic stay and the lodge was perfect for you. It is great to hear that you would return to the lodge and recommend it to others. We hope to welcome you again in the future.

Kind regards
Lakes Cottage Holidays
017687 74060
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jo F
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
1 review
“Amazing”
Reviewed 28 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We stayed at carrock for 4 nights with out cocker spaniel. Alison who owns the farm was lovely. So friendly and helpful. As was scamp her dog, our dog took to her so she was always about.

The inside of the lodge was beautiful, all done to a very high spec, everything you needed. Really amazing place the rainfall walk in shower was my husbands favourite. Mine was the beautiful wood burner. The view was stunning look up at high pike, it was isomer hint you wouldn't tire of seeing.

I would give the lodge 10/10
The owners 10/10
Views 10/10

Thee wasn't anything I could say against it. Will be going back soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Wood burner
Liked least: Nothing to not like
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Sep 2015
Thank you for your review of Carrock Lodge

We are delighted that you had a lovely holiday the area and scenery are beautiful and the owner is very welcoming. We look forward to your return

Kind Regards
Lakes Cottage Holidays
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John_and...
Northumberland, England
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Stunning property, wonderful views, ideal break from it all”
Reviewed 20 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Extremely high quality lodge with wonderful views down valley & over nearby hills. In quiet location on farm with just the 2 lodges and farm house near-by so ideal break away from any hustle & bustle. Only the sheep/lambs and cows to 'disturb the peace'. Alison and Gordon were very friendly and welcoming, but not as friendly as Scamp their dog!! She loves any attention you give her. As its right at the north of the Lake District its away from the normal crowds & hotspots so is ideal for exploring the quieter areas but still close enough to access the busier areas too. Caldbeck village is a bit of a walk away - downhill going but quite a steep hill back - but there is a bit of a shortcut through the fields that makes a nice walk.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Wood burning stove, quiet location and Scamp the dog!!
Liked least: Dodgy mobile phone reception, but wasn't a miss
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Sep 2015
Good Evening
Thank you for your feedback from your holiday. We are pleased you found the property to be stunning and that it was an ideal break from it all.
We hope to welcome you to another Lakes Cottage Holidays property in the future.
Kind Regards
Lakes Cottage Holidays
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
neil r
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“absolutley loved our stay at paddigill farm !”
Reviewed 22 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

We have just returned from our 3 day break in beautiful surrounds of caldbeck, We were warmly welcomed by gordon and Alison on arrival who showed us the fantastic "carrock lodge". We could not have asked for more as the lodge was spotless, very comfortable and really well equipment. If you are looking for a peacefull holiday break then look no further, we would like to thank Gordon and Alison for there hospitality, neil and dympna ryan Altrincham cheshire

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Sep 2014
Thank you for your feedback following your stay at Carrock Lodge, Paddigill Farm.

We are pleased you found the accommodation spotless, comfortable and well equipped.

All feedback is important to us and we will pass on your comments to the owners of Carrock Lodge.

Lakes Cottage Holidays hopes to welcome you back to Carrock Lodge or another Lakes Cottage Holidays property in the future.

Kind Regards,

Lakes Cottage Holidays
017687 74060
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing