We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant all round”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Caldbeck
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Monkhouse Hill Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Brilliant all round”
Reviewed 3 July 2014

A group of six of us stayed at the Brae Fell cottage, and we all thought our stay as a whole was brilliant. The cottage is well stocked, looks great, has everything you could need, and was incredibly comfortable.

The grounds of the cottages are very nice and the indoor games room is excellent, and kept us well entertained. The owners were happy to let us have our own space for the large majority of our stay but were always friendly and helpful if we needed anything. We especially appreciated being able to stay well past the advertised check out time, probably staying for too long in the end.

All in all, it was a brilliant stay and I would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zobebryant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    135
    23
    6
    0
    1
See reviews for
46
49
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014 via mobile

There was 26 girls all got together to celebrate a hen do over a 3 night weekend. On arrival each cottage had a complementary bottle of wine & some home baked cakes, which were gorgeous!
The Accommodation & their surroundings were beautiful as were the spa facilities in the North Spa Lakes Hotel which was included in our price of the cottages! The owners couldn't of done more for us, very helpful and understanding.
Definitely worth a visit!
Would 100% go again with my family!
Very peaceful and easy to find!

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Stef O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 June 2014

3 night stay in the cottages, lovely decor and surroundings. Perfect location and garden/grounds. Personal hot tub and sauna to top it all off! Had a lovely stay and will definitely consider returning if in the area again.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RichardH1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Following exams, it was lovely to spend time with friends away from university. The peaceful and spacious cottages were well kept and instantly felt like home, whilst the grounds were picturesque and secure. Andrew and Jennifer are very personal and made our stay even more enjoyable

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BenBrennan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bransgore, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

It was an easy task to come up with a list of faults and problems found during our 4 night stay at Chapel Beck. Quite simply there were none!
Chapel Beck is a very comfortable, tastefully decorated, fully equipped and superbly located cottage on the northern edge of the Lake District, and one of the Monkhouse Hill cottages.
We opted for the Breakfast Hamper, which contained eggs, bacon, sausages, jam, marmalade and host of other goodies. Flowers and champagne were also waiting for us, as were a number gorgeous home baked local cakes and pastries and 6 different bottles of unusual but excellent local beers.
Chapel Beck has its own private sauna and steam cabinet with a range of aromatherapy oils to add to the experience.
Complimentary membership of the North Lakes Spa (in Penrith) provided a welcome opportunity to ease tired muscles in pool, jacuzzi and steam room.
Thank you Andrew and Jennifer, we will return.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We stayed here for a few nights in Round Knott cottage after getting married and were very pleased with the quality of the cottages. They are in a great location and easy to find. The decor is stunning with lots of little touches and they are impressively equipped including towels, bath robes and cleaning kit. We arrived to find a bottle of champagne, chocolates and a selection of local cakes which went down very well! The log burner kept my husband entertained and we were in a great location for the lakes themselves. Great Wifi and secure cycle storage were a nice touch. We will be recommending the cottages and hopefully coming back.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Louise6074
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Stayed at Chapel Beck last week and had an excellent time, the cottage was very clean and well maintained, the SPA facilities were superb and really enhanced our stay.
Lots of things to do in the local area and we were also fortunate with the weather, free use of the local SPA and leisure facilities was a very nice touch.
Jennifer met us on arrival and was lovely, also somebody was always available when we needed them, only really to check in and out though !
We will definitely be looking to visit here or 1 of the other cottages in the group in the future.
Bob and Shirl

Room Tip: Chapel Beck is great for couples
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Blobby69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Caldbeck
10.7 mi away
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
#3 of 5 in Bassenthwaite
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,590 reviews
10.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Lake District, Keswick, Castle Inn Hotel
13.2 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
#6 of 11 in Penrith
4.0 of 5 bubbles 987 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.0 mi away
Embleton Spa Hotel
Embleton Spa Hotel
#1 of 1 in Embleton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 448 reviews
8.0 mi away
Overwater Hall
Overwater Hall
#1 of 1 in Ireby
5.0 of 5 bubbles 516 reviews
11.8 mi away
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Under Skiddaw
5.0 of 5 bubbles 592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monkhouse Hill Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monkhouse Hill Cottages

Property: Monkhouse Hill Cottages
Address: Monkhouse Hill Farm Sebergham, Caldbeck CA5 7HW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Caldbeck
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Caldbeck
Hotel Class:4 star — Monkhouse Hill Cottages 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
Monkhouse Hill Cottages Hotel Caldbeck

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing