We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Traditional luxury in Caldbeck”
Review of The Old Rectory

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Caldbeck
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Old Rectory
Ranked #1 of 2 Caldbeck B&B and Inns
Reviewed 9 October 2013

Such a wonderfully warm welcome to the most delightful B and B. The house and room are just so lovely making one feel immediately at home. The room was large and comfortable and the bed so very comfortable after several days enduring hard pillows!!!
Look forward to returning next time we are in Caldbeck.
Thank you Anne and Tim

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (59)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

47 - 53 of 59 reviews

Reviewed 29 September 2013

I stayed at The Old Rectory this week, what could be better, I don't know. For me everything was just perfect.
The setting, the building and room, but most of all the owners who were helpful and charming.

Would recommend without hesitation.

Room Tip: Just talk to Anne and Ian, it is that simple
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gordon A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Four of us stayed here before the last day of our walk on the Cumbria Way. We had a fantastic welcome from Anne and Tim, despite Tim being just out of hospital after a knee replacement op! The house is fabulous, a real gem with the most wonderful beds which were SO comfortable. Anne walked with us for the first half hour the next day and it was lovely chatting to her. You will absolutely lovely staying at this very beautiful place where guests are treated as one of the family. Thank you so much for a memorable stay,
Fran, Catherine, Maggie and Lynn

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank katiejohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

We stayed here after Day 4 of the Cumbria Way. Having stayed in accommodation of all types over many years of long distance walking, I can honestly say that I can't remember anywhere better than this. The standard of the accommodation, the warmth of the welcome, the quality of the breakfast and the friendliness and welcome of the hosts were all exceptional. The only bad part was having to leave the following morning - could happily have stayed for another day! Many thanks Anne and Tim, delighted to recommend your B&B to all.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2013

Fabulous!
The warmth of the welcome, the comfort and elegance of the room and being given advice and help to plan a walk up Blencathra was outstanding. Our visit to The Old Rectory was one of the highlights of a memorable visit to this beautiful area. Thank you Anne and Tim.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Derek B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013

We stayed here whilst walking the Cumbria Way and were given a lovely welcome from Tim and Anne. The breakfast was the best one we had had on our journey. Everywhere was spotlessly clean. The bedroom was spacious yet beautifully comfortable, could stay a week relaxing there. Look forward to visiting here again. Thank you.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
Thank Nicole K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013

A lovely welcome from Anne and Tim to their beautiful and elegant home while walking the Cumbria Way. We enjoyed the informal atmosphere of tea and home made biscuits on arrival and also breakfast in the kitchen the next morning. Excellent B&B and this is definitely one of our favourites during the last 20 years or so of walking long distance trails.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank June P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to The Old Rectory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Rectory

Address: Caldbeck CA7 8DP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Caldbeck
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Caldbeck
Number of rooms: 2

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing