We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Absolutely fabulous”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Beckside Cottage

Courtyard outside Beckside Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Courtyard outside Beckside Cottage
Living room with wood burner Dining room over looking courtyard flowers can be ordered for that special occasion
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
70 reviews
Courtyard outside Beckside Cottage
Living room with wood burner
Dining room over looking courtyard flowers can be ordered for that special occasion
Master bedroom
Front door with original stained glass window detailing head of a sheep
Kitchen window, looking to front of cottage
Well equipped modern kitchen
Dining room
Living room complete with modern TV, DVD and Bluetooth music player
Living room with original beams
Master bedroom
An example of flower arrangement which can be pre ordered at extra cost for your special anniversary
Bedroom 2 prepared for 1 person
Bedroom 2 prepared for 2 people
Modern bathroom with power shower
Front view of Beckside Cottage taken from the free National Park car park
Rear view of Beckside cottage
Rear door of Beckside Cottage, with outside lighting for summer evenings.
Plenty of low level and high level walks on your doorstep
Forest walks nearby
The fells
The whole of the Lake District National Park is easily accessible
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Caldbeck, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 70 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
fabulous2...
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely fabulous”
Reviewed 12 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Beckside Cottage is absolutely beautiful and we just loved our stay there. The cottage has everything anybody could wish for and more. Nicky was extremely helpful and made us so welcome. The cottage, Caldbeck village and surrounds are delightful - our only regret is that we didn't book in for a longer stay. I would highly recommend Beckside Cottage

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Oct 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to post your glowing response, I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay.
Best wishes
Nicky,
Ginger Cottages
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lunny74
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful, idylic, romantic retreat”
Reviewed 4 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

My wife and I stayed here for a couple of nights to celebrate our 7th wedding anniversary. We had been looking for somewhere quiet, cosy and with charm. Beckside Cottage was the perfect choice. A beautiful cottage with a wealth of charm and character.
The owner Nicky, met us on arrival, and was most welcoming, polite and gave a a brief tour of the cottage and an overview of how everything worked. She kindly brought us a big basket of logs for the woodburner, which had already been made up ready to light. Tea, Coffee pint of milk and biscuits had also been pleasing left for us.
The cottage itself is delightful and enchanting, immaculately clean and with attention to detail that rates 10/10. We enjoyed every minute staying here and would thoroughly recommend it it anyone thinking of booking. The village of Caldbeck itself if also very lovely, we enjoyed a few drinks in the local pub which is a 2 minute walk away. Thank you Nicky for a lovely stay. We will most definitely be returning very soon.

Matt and Alison

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Oct 2014
Many thanks for posting such a supportive review, Best Wishes, Nicky, Ginger Cottages
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark T
Tidworth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“brilliant cosy comfy cottage that lacked nothing”
Reviewed 21 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

The cottage was very clean and nothing was too much trouble for the owner Nicky, She even left a welcome pack of biscuits, wine, milk,and fresh flowers. The cottage was well equipped and was located in a lovely village.
We went on a few walks around the village routes were left for us at the cottage which was very interesting and sometimes exlierating.
we also went to Keswick, Bassenwaite and Buttermere Lakes with our border collie dog.
Travelling to Buttermere Lake was breath taking and definitely recommended
We found it amazing that everyone was so accommodating with the dog including the local pub.
All in all a relaxing break and would recommend Beckside Cottage.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: old cottage but with modern touches
Liked least: this is difficult but if anything a garden rather than a court yard would of been nice but not a deal breaker.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Sep 2014
I am delighted that you all enjoyed your stay with us, and many thanks for taking the trouble to post a review.
Best wishes
Ginger Cottages
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wittering, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
26 Sep 2014
Very many thanks for taking the time to review our cottage, it makes all the hard work very worthwhile
Ginger Cottages
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Northumberland, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
15 Aug 2014
Many thanks, you have wrote a lovely encouraging review, will be lovely to see you back again
best wishes
Ginger Cottages
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Nottingham
Reviewed 4 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!
Liked least: Leaing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
6 Jul 2014
Many thanks for your considered review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay. Thanks for pointing out that the water is very hot, I think I need to put it on a summer setting.
Best wishes
Ginger Cottages
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
KerryHowg...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent get away, highly recommended.”
Reviewed 30 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We were greeted by the owner who is very friendly and full of all the right information. She took the time to show us round the extremely clean property and explain where everything was. All the rooms are fully equipped with everything you need and more. The village also has everything you need and full of friendly people. I would definitely recommend Beckside Cottage and we will definitely be returning hopefully more than once this year.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Jul 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to review your stay at Beckside Cottage, it would be lovely to see you again in Caldbeck. Best wishes Ginger Cottages.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing