We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fabulous!!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Beckside Cottage

Courtyard outside Beckside Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Courtyard outside Beckside Cottage
Living room with wood burner Dining room over looking courtyard flowers can be ordered for that special occasion
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
70 reviews
Courtyard outside Beckside Cottage
Living room with wood burner
Dining room over looking courtyard flowers can be ordered for that special occasion
Master bedroom
Front door with original stained glass window detailing head of a sheep
Kitchen window, looking to front of cottage
Well equipped modern kitchen
Dining room
Living room complete with modern TV, DVD and Bluetooth music player
Living room with original beams
Master bedroom
An example of flower arrangement which can be pre ordered at extra cost for your special anniversary
Bedroom 2 prepared for 1 person
Bedroom 2 prepared for 2 people
Modern bathroom with power shower
Front view of Beckside Cottage taken from the free National Park car park
Rear view of Beckside cottage
Rear door of Beckside Cottage, with outside lighting for summer evenings.
Plenty of low level and high level walks on your doorstep
Forest walks nearby
The fells
The whole of the Lake District National Park is easily accessible
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Caldbeck, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 70 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Donnxx
1 review
“Fabulous!!”
Reviewed 28 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

100% recommend this cottage to anyone it is exactly what we wanted, had everything we wanted. Nicky was very welcoming, making sure everything was fine for our stay. We are a young couple and it was perfect for what we wanted. Lots of walks and gorgeous views. Caldbeck is a beautiful little village, quite easily the nicest one we seen. The oddfellows is a lovely pub, everyone is so welcoming also. Does lovely food too! I would definitely visit Beckside Cottage again.. Hopefully some time in the future. My relation has booked to stop in August (due to us stating how nice it is)

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Jul 2016
Thanks so much for your lovely review, very much appreciated. I hope your reels fall for the charms of Beckside Cottage and Caldbeck. Best Wishes Nicky
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chantelle...
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“A Delightful Escape...”
Reviewed 17 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Beckside Cottage is a delightful escape for anyone looking to explore the raw beauty of the North Lakes.

We explored just a handful of the breathtaking walks around Caldbeck and Nicky provided lots recommendations on where to go and little touches in the cottage to make our stay special.

We'll definitely be returning before long.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Apr 2016
Many thanks for your review, lovely to hear that you enjoyed the Northern Lakes so much, a beautiful farming unspoilt area of Cumbria. Best wishes Nicky
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
238philli...
West Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Wowzers just wowzers”
Reviewed 13 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016

The owner Nicky made us feel so welcomed, the cottage is fantastic with all amenities needed for a family of 4. Log burner to add to the countryside feeling making Beckside cottage an ideal base for sightseeing.

Beautiful village with a warm welcome in the oddfellows arms who again like Nicky made us feel at home.

I usually camp when in keswick. ... not anymore - Caldbeck and Beckside cottage for me

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Mar 2016
Thanks ever so much for taking the time to post such a lovely review, much appreciated. Best wishes Nicky. Ginger Cottages.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2016 for a stay in January 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
6 Jan 2016
Many thanks for taking the trouble to post a review, I am delighted that we met your expectations for your New Year celebrations.
Wishing you a happy health 2016.
Nicky
Ginger Cottages
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
StarSheph...
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A lovely charming stay at Beckside Cottage”
Reviewed 7 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015

I can't praise the lovely Beckside Cottage enough, we had the most enjoyable stay and wished we had stayed longer. You know you are onto a good thing when a fish and chip fan is there on your first night which was an extra treat!
Beckside is small but perfectly formed and has a great heating system and all you can need for a short mini break. Great quality of decor, furniture and even denby crockery! Great welcome and we'd love to go back.
Highly recommended xxx

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Nov 2015
Great, thanks, we agree a village chip van is a real treat, glad you enjoyed the perfectly formed cosy Beckside Cottage.
BW
Nicky
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MonsieurP...
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fantastically cosy place to spend a few days”
Reviewed 13 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Beckside Cottage was the perfect base for a week's stay in the northern Lakes. Nicky met us on arrival to take us through everything we needed to know to enjoy our stay, and made a number of helpful suggestions for things to do.

The cottage itself is modern, tastefully furnished and was, when we visited, immaculately clean. With a log burner to relax in front of in the evenings (not to mention central heating), a decent shower, and a good kitchen with a great hob and a lovely stone floor, it ticked all of our boxes.

A large selection of pamphlets and magazines provide information on all manner of possible activities. We found the series of laminated cards providing step-by-step directions for some of the best walks in the area particularly handy, though I imagine more committed walkers would probably do without them!

Caldbeck itself is a pretty village with a decent local pub, surrounded by beautiful countryside. The "beck" itself can be heard from the cottage at night, peacefully burbling by.

It really was a great place to spend some time, and should we ever return to that part of the country, we shall be sure to return to Beckside Cottage.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Oct 2015
We aim to make Beckside Cottage, such as you have kindly described.
Your review is much appreciated.
Best wishes
Nicky
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael H
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Peacefull and relaxing”
Reviewed 23 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

From the intial booking, staying in and leaving the property- There is only positive statements that can be made- the cottage is imaculate throught out with everything you need to make your stay comfortable- All credit to Nicky and her partner.
easy access to walking routes and the local towns.
we will certainly be staying there again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the layout of the cottage- clean rooms
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Aug 2015
Lovely to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Beckside Cottage, and that you found Caldbeck to suit your holiday needs. Would be great to have you to stay again. Best wishes Nicky
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing