We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The best rental we ever had.....”

Review of Marlowe Cottage

Marlowe Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Marlowe Cottage
Marlowe Cottage Living Room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
38 reviews
Marlowe Cottage
Marlowe Cottage
Living Room
Bedroom 1
Kitchen
Bedroom 2
Small Bedroom
Bathroom 1
Living Room
Rear Garden
View from rear Garden
Front of House
Bathroom 2
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Caldbeck, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 38 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
Garyhope
Paris
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The best rental we ever had.....”
Reviewed 22 July 2018 for a stay in July 2018

When we booked this Cottage already early last year for These summer vacation we expected after seeing the advertisment, the pictures and the reviews a really nice Cottage, but when we arrived we were overhelmed by the charm and the space of the interior and the countryside around it. To sit on the quiet terrace with wonderful tastefully arranged around us has been a pleasure we will never Forget. Already the booking process and the ample useful informations, the lovely arrival cackes and the fact, that everything was clean and perfectly equipped including toiletpapers, coffetabs, tabs for the dishwasher and washingmachine was really OUTSTANDING! When we met Peter it has been a true pleasure to talk with him and he gave us on top of the numerous Information material very interesting tips where to go and to enjoy this romantic countryside. The beds were excellent and gave us Relaxing dreams and the sheeps and cows around have left us idyllic memories..We have rented during the years many vacation homes all over the world, but this has been really the best we ever experienced. So; no surprise we have booked it again for next year…...PS: a special treat: the afternoontea at the Lake View Restaurant at Bassenthwaite- unforgettable

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Jul 2018
Thank you very much Günther & Evelyne for your kind review.

It was great to meet you both and we look forward to welcoming you back next year.

Kind Regards

Peter & Anne
Marlowe Cottage
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
0508mamc
Dundee, United Kingdom
1 review
“Absolutely beautiful cottage and setting”
Reviewed 7 July 2018 for a stay in July 2018

I had looked at countless properties before deciding on this one - my son and husband had endless criteria! It is actually very difficult to find a cottage with at least 2 bedrooms (and no bunk beds, too old and tall at 12), a king size bed with no solid end (my husband is 6ft 4 in), off road parking, garden, modern power shower - and more. I found Marlowe Cottage and we hit the jackpot. It is lovely in the photos but even lovelier when you arrive and view it for the first time. The garden is so peaceful and relaxing - right next to the primary school and as a teacher on holiday I really liked hearing the nursery wee ones at play time. Really lovely little village with several beautiful walks in the area. Quite a lot to see just walking around the village - the watermill cafe and shops are so interesting. Keswick is nearby with lots to see and do, Windermere is close too - beautiful. The fantastic weather helped but mostly it was the fact that the cottage had absolutely everything in it you could possibly need and more and we felt spoilt from the moment we arrived and enjoyed a very tasty cream tea. It was perfect and the garden is great to relax in and enjoy a BBQ. Lots of lovely ornaments and objects in the house to look at - I did put some out of sight as I was petrified my clumsy son (or myself) would knock them over. We loved our stay and look forward to returning at some point in the future. Many thanks Peter and Anne.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Jul 2018
Hi Maureen

Thank you for your kind review we are really glad you enjoyed your stay.

We hope we can welcome you back in the future.

Kind Regards

Peter & Anne
Marlowe Cottage
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
laurenncf
Surrey, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“A wonderful home from home”
Reviewed 7 June 2018 for a stay in May 2018

What a wonderful cottage! The location is perfect - nestled in a little village, in beautiful countryside, with walks on the doorstep. The off road parking for 2 cars made unpacking and repacking very easy - no lugging stuff for miles! We arrived to a cream tea, chocolate cake, milk in the fridge and plenty of tea bags and coffee. A welcome treat after a long journey. We’ve stayed in holiday lets before where they are no extras so it was really very nice to be able to come straight in for a cuppa! And the extras didn’t stop there - ice, washing up liquid, hand soap, iron, ironing board, pegs for the washing line, airer, toilet rolls, bbq stuff - all of this sounds very mundane but having all these little extras meant that we didn’t have to worry about buying them. The cottage was so well equipped - all the usual kitchen bits and a coffee machine including pods, loads of books and DVDs, ideas of places to go. In addition to this is was clean...I’ve been to places before and had to wash stuff up before starting our holiday. Not here - everything was clean and useable straight away. The rooms and bathrooms were spotless and very comfortable. The water for showers and baths was hot - again, sounds silly but these things are important. The garden was a very relaxing place to be - helped by the beautiful weather of course but it was quiet and comfortable with the patio furniture and parasol. Our children enjoyed exploring the cottage - the single room with the ‘den’ above was a particular highlight! My husband is a bit upset we didn’t get chance to use the log burner...not often that you want the weather to cool down a bit!!! We enjoyed seeing the local farm animals in the fields around the cottage and I even got a selfie with a local hedgehog! All our correspondence with Peter and Anne has been very good - clear, with quick responses and friendly. The cottage provided the perfect base for our adventures - canoeing, kyacking, horse riding, walking, running (we had to drive to places - didn’t look into public transport- but it was a lovely place to return to). I would have no hesitation to recommending Marlowe Cottage to friends and family.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Jun 2018
Dear Lauren

Thanks you for your very kind review it is much appreciated.

We hope we can welcome you and your family back in the future.

Kind Regards
Pete & Anne
Marlowe Cottage
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nancy B
1 review
“Quaint, cozy and very comfortable cottage”
Reviewed 1 June 2018 for a stay in May 2018

Our group of four found the village of Caldbeck and Marlowe Cottage absolutely delightful! We appreciated the welcoming spread that was provided, especially the scones, clotted cream & strawberry jam -- such a treat for us Americans! We made several stops into Oddfellows Pub (had a good lunch there); had a delightful visit with the owners of The Old Crown pub in Hesket Newmarket; and watched the royal wedding LIVE with a group in Kingshead pub in Carlisle. We did do other things besides visit pubs! The poppy display at Carlisle castle was awesome as well as the Cathedral. We enjoyed The Lakes Distillery tour; Cockermouth; Keswick; Dumfries, Scotland; Caerlaverock Castle; Penrith - Lowther Castle; Brougham Hall; Shap Abbey; Hadrian's Wall, just to mention a few. A bonus was the perfect weather -- sunshine the entire time we were in the lovely Lake District!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Jun 2018
Hi Nancy & Bob

Thank you very much for your kind review.

Hope to see you both again in the future.

Kind Regards

Peter & Anne
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vacatione...
2 reviews
“Best cottage we've ever stayed in”
Reviewed 2 January 2018 for a stay in December 2017

The pictures don't do justice to Marlowe Cottage. It's not only large enough for two couples plus one, it's also equipped with everything we could have wished for. There's even a pair of scales and a rolling pin to make pastry and a cake tin too!
Peter and Ann had decorated the lounge beautifully with a Christmas Tree & decorations and left festive goodies too. It really did feel like home from home for myself, husband, daughter and son-in-law.
There were loads of books, games and DVDs and enough logs for the whole week along with plenty of toilet rolls, tea bags, coffee, toiletries. We couldn't get over how much detail had been put into providing so many staples. Thank you so much.
The garden is private and, again, has everything to provide a comfortable summer holiday.
The Oddfellow Arms is a short walk away and under new management so expect further good changes from the new team (the meal we had there was lovely) and the locals in the village were very helpful too.
We suggest not to use a SatNav as ours took us up and down many narrow lanes - that was OK as we had a 4X4 but others might find them quite worrying. Both roads out of Caldbeck led to main roads which take you to Carlisle, Keswick or Penrith and the Motorway so we found it best to stick to those.
It must be surely be the best cottage we've ever stayed in and down to the care taken by the owners themselves. Many thanks to you both.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Jan 2018
Dear Jackie & Family

Thank you for your very kind review.

We are really glad you enjoyed your stay at Marlowe Cottage.

We hope we can welcome you back again in the summer in the future when the garden really comes to life.

Kind Regards

Peter & Anne
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NickCrabt...
Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“All the extras were included!”
Reviewed 30 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017

Fully agree with all the other reviewers and not a whole lot to add; fantastically well-equipped and it was so nice that all the things which are usually extra at holiday cottages were included, particularly a generous supply of dry logs for the wood-burning stove.
We stayed here for a fairly wet week in October because we needed a base to the north of Skiddaw from which to mop-up the northern Wainwright fells. The cottage provides easy access to the start of the walks for all of these, and we particularly enjoyed a 13 mile circuit up Skiddaw going up Bakestall and down via Little Man and Lonscale Fell.
Only thing to note is that the one single room is completely separate from the rest of the sleeping accommodation. This was fine for our 15-year-old but we wouldn't have been comfortable being so far away from a younger child.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sally S
1 review
“Comfortable, cosy, well equipped in a beautiful location”
Reviewed 25 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Marlowe Cottage is in the lovely village of Caldbeck, with great local pub, tea shops and Priests Mill for unique gifts. Plenty of walks on the door step or easy drive into Keswick and the lakes. The cottage is comfortable and spacious, warm and cosy with plenty of hot water for a soak in the spar bath after a long walk. Will definitely visit again.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Sep 2017
Dear Sally

Thank you for your kind review we are really pleased you and your family enjoyed your stay at Marlowe Cottage.

We hope we can welcome you back to Marlowe Cottage in the future

Kind Regards
Peter & Anne
Marlowe Cottage
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing