We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and Warm”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Kingston Holiday Park
Ranked #1 of 2 Kingston B&B and Inns
Reviewed 21 July 2014

My husband and I were to drive to Queenstown airport early the following day, so decided to stay here, not knowing anything about the place. Well, what a lovely surprise! The owner was a lovely woman, friendly and helpful, and only to willing to come out in the rain to show us where our unit was ( motel unit 11). When we entered it was bright and fresh, modern decor, spacious, clean, with a kitchenette with everything we could possibly want, bathroom with nice free toiletries, separate couch area with freeview and wifi. The bed was comfortable, the room warm with no road noise, and we even got a meal from the Kingston Cafe just up the rd a few metres, and left the plates in our hotel room, as they have an understanding there, so it was like room service! We can't thank you enough for a lovely stay, and I am about to book my husband in again for another stay in a couple of days. We shall make sure we recommend Hectors to all as a much more budget conscious choice for those holidaying in Queenstown...only half an hour away. Thanks again for your professional yet family feel.

Room Tip: unit 11 was brilliant, I would recommend that if you want just a motel type room. The cabins etc loo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisabug1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (66)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

49 - 55 of 66 reviews

Reviewed 3 February 2014

We camped for one night here with our camper van. It's a really lovely family run place with great amenities. The sites are large, there's a lovely well stocked kitchen, BBQ and seperate a TV room with VHS!
Great alternative to staying in Queenstown.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charliet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

Kingston lies just 50 km from Queenstown, 30 mins in a car, yet boasts the views,Lake Wakatipu and Hectors!

We booked in for 1 night initally, with plans to head to Hawea the next day, and ended up staying for 3 nights. Our 8 year old loved building dams in the stream and relaxing. The days we stayed were spent on the beach or kayaking on the lake and exploring the railway wagons on the wharf.

The grounds are well maintained and cleaned, the kitchen is small but nice and the "Parlour" is good. Internet access is $2 per 20 mins.

It is a real shame about the Kingston Flyer being left to rot in the elements. Hopefully someone will rescue the railway and pub but that is another story...

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StuTodd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2014

I recently booked some accommodation at hectors, it was a romantic outing planned for my girlfriend, a surprise, staying in an old gold miners hut, the staff were fantastic, couldn't do enough for us, the facilities have been upgraded from what they used to be, the grounds were well tended, the tranquillity was amazing, just a great place to visit. well done those people.

Room Tip: Book the Cottage
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2013

We loved this motel and it was a bargain! Felt like a bit of a gamble... we originally planned to stay in Queenstown and also when we booked there were only 2 reviews for this motel on TA, but it was one of our favourite stays. We stayed in a motel room - number 11 - the smallest room I think but it exceeded my expectations and was easily large enough for two of us, and clean. We really enjoyed sitting outside, for an evening drink and breakfast in the morning, on the decking in front of our room.

Pleasant surroundings and a short walk from the lake and dining at The Kingston Flyer (which we thought was tasty and good value). We were able to visit the Kingston Flyer steam train in the morning before we left the area. Whilst we enjoyed visiting Queenstown, we were really pleased that we had taken the risk and chosen Kingston for our stay instead, and thrilled that we had stayed at this motel. Definitely recommended if you want a quiet alternative to staying in Queenstown.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank swholidaymaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013

Kingston is a beautiful place to stay at the end of Lake Wakatipu. Soul restoring and peaceful.
Hectors is lovely. Motel room wonderful. Value for money. Great for the family. Kingston Flyer train experience is awesome. Climb up to the lookout was a fun challenge, but would only do with older children, not littlies.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dee20202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2013

When I was planning our NZ trip for my family (my parents, my two children, and myself), I couldn't find any affordable place to stay in Queenstown, and decided to try out Hector's after reading positive reviews. I didn't know what to expect, but we were pleasantly surprised! We had a "motel" room that was really, really nice, comfortable, and clean. Inside the room, it felt like we were really in an upper-scale hotel. Outside, the rest of the property had cabins, trailers, hookups, laundry (which we NEEDED), and a playground right next door. Plus, it's just a short walk to the lake, with the most gorgeous sunset I ever saw. The ONLY reason I'm giving them four stars and not five is location (which isn't their fault) -- Kingston itself isn't more than a single street, and there was ONE place to eat, without even a store to buy bread and milk. Anything else you have to drive to Queenstown for. But we enjoyed our two nights, and even drove to Milford Sound and back in a single day without a problem!

Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
2  Thank MonicaH_SLO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Kingston Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingston Holiday Park

Address: 16 Kent Street, Kingston 9748, New Zealand (Formerly Hectors in Kingston)
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Kingston
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Kingston
Price Range: £35 - £69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Kingston Holiday Park 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kia Ora everyone! Welcome to the Kingston Holiday Park, located just a stunning 35 minute drive South of Queenstown's International Airport. We are the perfect stopover between your journey to or from Queenstown, Te Anau, Milford Sound and Invercargill. At the Kingston Holiday Park we offer: Modern and clean self-contained motel suites and studio cabins, budget/backpacker cabins and luxurious glamping tents! We also offer 43 powered/unpowered RV, Campervan, Bus or Caravan sites and powered/unpowered tent sites. We certainly have accommodation to suit every travelers budget. Facilities: Full camp kitchen with all cups, plates, utensils and cookware provided, microwave, a small pizza oven, women's and men's separate showers and toilets, coin operated laundry/dryer, a BBQ area with free gas for all guests, a dump station and fresh water station and we have WIFI vouchers available to purchase from reception. We look forward to having you come & stay with us at the Kingston Holiday Park! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ebookers and Hotels.com so you can book your Kingston Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing