We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A superb place to stay”

Appletree Cottage B&B
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Staplecross
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Appletree Cottage B&B
Ranked #2 of 2 Staplecross B&B and Inns
Brighton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A superb place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2013

My wife and I have just returned from the most relaxing weekend at Appletree B and B. Set in an idealyic surroundings we were warmly greeted by Hugh on arrival. He then booked us a table at the White Dog for dinner while we unpacked ( a great recommendation). The room was spotless and the bed was comfortable. The full English breakfasts were fantastic and really set us up for the day. We mentioned that we wanted to do some cycling and Jane who was highly knowlagable of the local area gave us a perfect suggestion and even had maps of the area to give us. In short the Appletree B and B is the perfect place for those that want to get away from it all and relax in friendly and comfortable surroundings.

Room Tip: The double room has fantasic views over the downs
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graham H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane W, Owner at Appletree Cottage B&B, responded to this review, 15 May 2013
Thank you very much for your kind comments. It was a pleasure to have you both and I hope we'll see you again one day for another relaxing break!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
7
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vineyard Haven, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2012

When looking for a B&B near to Sissinghurst (the gardens are only a 20 minute drive away) and other literary and cultural spots we wanted to visit, we found Appletree Cottage and its most charming hosts, Jane and Hugh Willing who could not have been more helpful. There wasn't a map they didn't have to loan or question they couldn't answer. There's a garden to relax in and a breakfast that keeps you going well into the day and, season depending, includes finds from the garden. The train to London is easily found at nearby Robertsbridge which also happens to have a good Indian restaurant if you've had your fill of pub fare. --Jack and Pamela S

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank PamelaS2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arabella1704, Owner at Appletree Cottage B&B, responded to this review, 12 September 2012
Thank you so much for your very kind comments. We much enjoyed having you both and hope you will come again. Jane & Hugh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2012

Just returned from a wonderful stay at the Appletree Cottage B and B. We stayed for almost a week and enjoyed the very friendly hospitality, comfortable accommodations and beautiful setting. Delicious English breakfast! We enjoyed reading and watching the Olympics in the cozy sitting room. Would highly recommend this B and B and will definitely return in the future.
-Karl and Karen

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarketResearchGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arabella1704, Owner at Appletree Cottage B&B, responded to this review, 17 August 2012
Thank you very much for your review, which is greatly appreciated. It was a pleasure to have you all.
Best regards, Jane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2012

2 of us had a delightful stay. We had a very friendly welcome. Our wet things after rainy golf were whisked away to dry and returned the next morning. The rooms were spotless and the tea and breakfast delicious. Nice local pub for dinner. Highly recommended.

Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Mizzards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arabella1704, Owner at Appletree Cottage B&B, responded to this review, 6 May 2012
Thank you very much for your kind comments. It was a pleasure to have you both and I hope your second day of golf was less damp! We hope to see you again one day. Warm regards, Jane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Staplecross
3.8 mi away
Claverton Country House Hotel
2.3 mi away
Leeford Place Hotel
Leeford Place Hotel
#2 of 5 in Battle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 386 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Brickwall Hotel
The Brickwall Hotel
#2 of 2 in Sedlescombe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#4 of 5 in Battle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
0.5 mi away
Woodside B&B
Woodside B&B
#1 of 2 in Staplecross
5.0 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
3.1 mi away
The George Inn
The George Inn
#1 of 3 in Robertsbridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Appletree Cottage B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Appletree Cottage B&B

Property: Appletree Cottage B&B
Address: Appletree Cottage Beacon Lane, Staplecross TN32 5QP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Staplecross
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Staplecross
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gorgeous traditional Sussex farmhouse covered in roses with wonderful views over farmland towards the coast, offers the perfect rural retreat for visits to famous gardens, historic sites, vineyards, houses and gardens throughout the year. It is situated between the historical towns of Battle, Rye and Tenterden not far from Camber Sands, the best beach for miles around. From the front gate there is easy access to national footpaths and cycling routes. Other outdoor pursuits nearby include golf, riding, fishing and water sports. Guests are offered a typical English breakfast with the finest local produce. The property consists of an extensive garden, a field, orchard and ancient woodland, which guests are welcome to explore. You will receive a warm, friendly welcome and, on arrival, will be able to relax and unwind in front of a log fire or on the terrace with complimentary afternoon tea and home-made cake or evening drink. Three rooms are available, all sunny and spacious and decorated to a high standard with comfortable beds and fine linen with private or en suite bathrooms. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Appletree Cottage B&B Staplecross, East Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing