We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Between the Gulf and the Walls - a great location for a great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Gamma Campeche Malecon
Ranked #6 of 25 Hotels in Campeche
Reviewed 25 May 2013

Another great choice from my fellow travellers. My first trip to historic Campeche, this hotel served Rod and I well. I got a great room at a good price with a killer view. Rod got special parking out front where the doormen could watch him for me. Treated very well at the front desk, even though after 3 days on the road on a motorcycle I was really starting to look rough and being old man grumpy. Checked out my room first, which was very clean and well appointed with tile throughout. Good flat screen TV with 2 gringo channels, nice work area with great wifi ( no charge), lots of plugs and a great bathroom with lots of hot water and pressure ... along with the phone, again. Hmmmmm. This was a very nice, comfortable room. Two queen beds, both very comfortable. A/C unit worked like a charm.The business center was just down the hall and had a good selection of fast enough computers. Out back were two great pools in a well manicured by somewhat bare green space. The breakfast in the morning was excellent, although not included in the price of admission. This is a hotel that caters to the business traveller - which can be big and lacking in personality. They also tend to be more private and open to all kinds of travellers. The deciding factor is usually the staff and all were very friendly, helpful and of great service. Campeche is a very old and historic city, with a modern strip along the Gulf. This hotel sits right between the two distinct zones - a 3 min walk to the walled ancient city, a 2 min walk to the stroll along the seawall and modern restaurants. There was so much to see in this beautiful place, I would highly recommend renting a car and just touring - beautiful roads along the water, crazy chaos in the city itself. A history buff's town for sure. And this hotel was a perfect base to start your tour from.

As always I shot video of this hotel @

http://youtu.be/DJB5gsEpjQ8

location @ googlemap @ www.yolotraveller.com

Room Tip: Take a higher floor for the view, road noise not really a factor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yolotraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
juliop01, Director of Sales at Gamma Campeche Malecon, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2013

Dear Mr. Yolo:

Thank you for your comments, we were glad to have had with us.

My best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (438)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

61 - 67 of 438 reviews

Reviewed 15 April 2013

What a disgrace!!! An old hotel turned into a newer hotel with all the bad inheritance from the old one. On a business trip to Campeche, I decided to stay at this hotel (old Ramada). I had a fair experience before and not too long ago, reason why chose to stay there again. My reservation could not be found until another front desk clerk showed up and found it. The first front desk clerk was looking for a reservation made directly with the hotel, whereas I had done it through the Internet. Gave me and electronic key to a room where the nightmare started. Upon arriving to the room the air conditioner was off. The humidity in the room could´ve been very well over 85% and the moldy smell was having a picnic. I turned the air conditioner on and the switch knob turned out to be an "old radio" plastic knob. The switch had only one setting (low) and no way to control the room temperature. The hotel controls all the rooms temperature. So, if you´re hot and sweaty, stay put facing the air conditioner discharge and wait until you freshen up. Meanwhile, I took a shower. Luke warm water. No way to take a hot shower... only luke warm water was coming out of the shower. After the luke warm shower, I went back to the front desk and reported the problem I had with the air conditioner in my room. The avalanche of lies starting to fall... "I will ask the maintenance man to turn on that area air conditioning system", "You´re sweating and the cold air has not yet traveled from the machine room to your room, please be patient", "You don´t feel the air conditioning coming out?" "That´s strange...I will have the bellman go see what´s going on"said the front desk kid. Impossible... I went to School to learn HVAC and no way he could´ve been right. He was lying. I waited over 20 minutes in my room and no one showed up. Went back to the front desk and asked the front desk clerk if I could get another room. He checked availability, called a bellman and showed me three other rooms. Two of them had the same problem. The third one appeared to be in better shape and I slept there. The air conditioner fan speed was tricky. You had to play with the knob before you could find the HIGH setting (really MEDIUM speed). The hotel seems to spend money uselessly in bathroom amenities, instead of repairing, updated, modernizing or whatever it may be to offer good air conditioning to the guests. Will never stay there again. I was late for my business meeting... what a bummer.

Room Tip: Before checking in, make sure you go and check your air conditioner in the room you´ll be assigned t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HectorRodriguez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
juliop01, Director of Sales at Gamma Campeche Malecon, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2013
Google Translation

Estimado Sr. Rodriguez:

Me apena mucho los inconvenientes que tuvo durante su estancia y tenga por seguro que trabajaremos muy intensamente para solucionar todo lo que nos indicó en su comentario, le ofrezco una sincera disculpa y lo invito a que regrese y nos dé la oportunidad de demostrarle las mejoras

Reciba un cordial saludo

Atentamente
Julio M. Peña

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2013

The Best Western Del Mar in Campeche was a great place to stay. It is located right on the waterfront of Campeche, off of the main road, so it is easy to find. From the hotel it is easy to walk into the historic center of the city. The old city walls are literally across the street. Once you pass through the gate, you will be in the central plaza of Campeche, with lots of restaurants and shops and the main Cathedral.
We ate breakfast in their restaurant – it was pretty good fare.
Our room was good sized, with a comfortable bed, a big bathroom with ample hot water and water pressure (not always available in Mexico). There were two free bottles of purified water. There was a powerful air conditioner.
We were in room 348. We paid $94 US for a room with a king sized bed. Our room faced inward, so our view was the cathedral.
If you do stay in Campeche, don’t miss a visit to the Mayan ruins at Edzna – they are spectacular!

Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Enyedy00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2013

This is a wonderful hotel situated in a great place. The view is the Gulf of Mexico and the back entrance is one short block away from the old city. The rooms are spacious, clean, modern and very comfortable. We stayed on the 3rd floor where they had a complimentary continental breakfast and complimentary snacks all day. The best part was the very affordable price--well below other hotels of the same quality. The only downsize was the hughbed was a little hard, although not enough to keep me awake.

Room Tip: get on the 3rd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank keithandhelen3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2013

I had booked 3nights of junior suit room of Del Mar on Feb,2013 & sea view room had confirmed by e-mail.
When I arrived at hotel by Taxi, no one help us to bring our luggage to front.
What is worse front man gave us Room 111,but I requested to upstairs like 2nd. Or 3rd.froor, then he gave us Room211 which was just up 111.
We saw Room 211, which was building view standard room, claim again to change 223 which was big sea view.
We checked room carefully , then found room was no use for a while. All furniture with dust, many dead insect on floor, sofa mat was dirty-we upsided down by ourselves.
Calling Made who was nearby our room to clean up all.
View was great but No hospitality was found in this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tsurupack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
juliop01, Director Comercial at Gamma Campeche Malecon, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2013

Dear Guest: : Please accept my apologizes I am very shame of this situation , be sure that with your comments We will be better every day and we can improve our service

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2013

Spend four days At Hotel Del mar around Christmas night 2012.
This is a modern hotel. Modern in Mexican therms.
Del mar is perfect located for a short stay in Campeche.
The hotel has a nice pool - and is in walking distance to centro historica.
Breakfast buffet is a incl in the rate.
The hotels great view over the bay is the major reason for picking this hotel.
The beds are great and big - and the bathroom is clean and functionel.
The rooms private Balcon is a great sunspot.
And because Campeche dont have a beach close to town - I would recommmend this hotel as a vacation spot for Campeche. The sunset it worldclass remember that to have drink in reach- you find icecubes in the friege close to the elevator. Enjoy.

Room Tip: ask for ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank viking0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2012

We stayed here for a night in our Mayan trail from palenque to uxmah. The location is a big positive- bang opposite the gulf of mexico and right in the city centre. Both the rooms had a sea view. The rooms were quite spacious with a verandah looking out at the gulf. The rooms were neat and clean and so were the toilets. The check in was smooth and the staff was courteous. The staff in the restaurant went out of the way to dish up a special vegetarian meal for us and the breakfast spread was good too. Wifi was free and good connections. Though the room faced the main road, it wasn't noisy at all. We could just walk to the town centre. It was a quaint town with colonial architecture. Apparently it was a UNESCO world heritage town. Our stay was very comfortable.

Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
Thank Prema_C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
juliop01, Director Comercial at Gamma Campeche Malecon, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2012

Dear Sir:

Thank you for opinions, It was a pleasure to have you here with us, we hope you will stay with us again.

My best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Campeche hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Socaire
Hotel Socaire
#1 of 25 in Campeche
510 reviews
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Campeche
Holiday Inn Campeche
#13 of 25 in Campeche
152 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ocean View Hotel
Ocean View Hotel
#4 of 25 in Campeche
484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Plaza Campeche
Hotel Plaza Campeche
#8 of 25 in Campeche
461 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Castelmar
Hotel Castelmar
#3 of 25 in Campeche
609 reviews
22.3 mi away
Hotel Tucan Siho Playa
Hotel Tucan Siho Playa
#14 of 25 in Campeche
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gamma Campeche Malecon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gamma Campeche Malecon

Address: Avenida Adolfo Ruiz Cortinez No. 51 | Col Centro, Campeche 24000, Mexico (Formerly BEST WESTERN Hotel Del Mar)
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Campeche > Campeche
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 25 Hotels in Campeche
Price Range: £47 - £73 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Gamma Campeche Malecon 3.5*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern and great location at the seaside, waterfront, just one block from historical downtown, comfortable and spacious rooms, with balcony, coffee shop with international and local cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Gamma Campeche Malecon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Del Mar Hotel Campeche
Best Western Campeche
Best Western Hotel Campeche

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing