We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend Getaway.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Casa Don Gustavo Hotel Boutique
Ranked #2 of 25 Hotels in Campeche
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Weekend Getaway.”
Reviewed 7 June 2014

A small boutique hotel in the heart of the old town. Easy to step out and walk about. I loved the old world charm of the hotel...antique furniture, and decor. The staff were very helpful. Chef was willing to take care of any special request. I noticed the absence of flies and mosquitoes .. even when we were sitting out on the verandah. Everything was clean .. and although I liked the antique look everywhere, I appreciated the modern bathroom.No fitness centre or spa...did not miss that.

Room Tip: Our room overlooked the street .. which is pedestrians only. The windows were fairly soundproof..and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sohana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CasaDonGustavo, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Casa Don Gustavo Hotel Boutique, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Dear Sohana, we are honored that you chose us to host you during your visit to Campeche and greatful that you shared your experience with us. We hope we get the chance to welcome you back!

Casa Don Gustavo Boutique Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    132
    43
    10
    4
    2
See reviews for
31
110
12
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2014 via mobile

First time in Campeche and found this secluded gem hotel with a beautiful relaxing courtyard!

Really enjoyed the privacy and relaxing environment with good service and well presented food.
Go for the breakfast package for best value!! :)

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank rosilini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CasaDonGustavo, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Casa Don Gustavo Hotel Boutique, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
We are glad we had the opportunity to host you during your firs visit to Campeche! Thank you for choosing us to welcome you and also for sharing your experience with us. We hope this is not the only time you visit this beautiful city.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
173 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014

This hotel was built into a large mansion in downtown Campeche city and still has a lot of the furniture, wall decoration, mirrors and decor from it's prime time, the rooms are spacious and decorated according to the hotel style, so don't expect modern, YET the bed was very confortable, the linens and towels of the best category and I cannot say enough how much I love the shower, and trust me I have seen many in my travels, this was the best ever.
The location is great walking distance to the Malecon (ocean front walkway) and 1 block to the main plaza, the hotel is on 59 st. the pedestrian street that leads you to the Sea Gate or the Land Gate on each end, remember that Campeche downtown has been declared as Humankind Heritage by the UNESCO so strolling its streets is a true delight. I only had breakfast at the hotel and the food was fantastic. The pool area is a little small but very nice. In this hotel you will find very courteous and accommodating staff that will make of your stay a lovely one; don't miss this charming hotel in your next trip to Campeche.

Room Tip: Room 5 is on the back of the house, so if you are a light sleeper and want guaranteed quite time boo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Teresa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CasaDonGustavo, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Casa Don Gustavo Hotel Boutique, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear Teresa, thank you for writing such a detailed comment about your experience at our hotel. It is through your experience that we are able to share with other visitors our services and our pride about our facilities and, of course, about our city.

Hope to have you back soon, we´ll be happy to be your host again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia Beach, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 March 2014

We were in Campeche for a wedding and stayed at the Casa Don Gustavo Hotel. It was a great experience. The suite was truly a suite! It was large with an entry room with desk, separate bedroom and the food was incredible. Most importantly the service was INCREDIBLE. From the moment we arrived we were treated like royalty. It started with a local drink called Chaya which was so delicious that we drink a pitcher of it the following morning upon waking. Every time we had a question regarding the local scene they were there with an answer and help.
We'd like to send a special shout out to Diana and Carlos. Throughout our stay they were always there with an answer and a smile and so much warmth. At the end we had some trip issues come up and they went above and beyond.... THANK YOU!

Room Tip: Rooms not on the street side are quieter...it is a busy street with lots of nightlife.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Annelies R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CasaDonGustavo, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Casa Don Gustavo Hotel Boutique, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear Anne, we loved reading your comments! We are glad your experience was one to remember. We´ll share your opinion with our staff, I´m sure they will be happy to know about it. Thank you for choosing Casa Don Gustavo Boutique Hotel, we´d love to have you visiting us soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2014

As a particular luxury to ourselves we booked this hotel in Campeche for two nights - of which we only stayed one. To be honest and fair the service and the hotelmanager were correct and nice, so when we arrived, the hotelmanager warned us, that previous guests had complained about the noise of the bar in front of the hotel. We had booked the master suite, which is nicely decorated and after seeing the room (and hearing the bar noise) nevertheless asked if we could be transferred to another room. As the hotel was booked out and to the regret of the manager we could not change rooms and had to stay there. We then decided to try for one night if it was possible to stay in that room - remember, it was an anticipated luxury hotel and we had been very much been looking forward to this.The night was absolutely horrible - drunken tourists and a mariachi band till 3 am, we got no sleep and left the hotel the next morning. We got a discount of 20% on the room but still - we felt, that it was highly overpriced and would have actually have hoped for better compensation, for example a nice breakfast. But we had to pay the breakfast extra and unfortunately, it was not even good. Others here on tripadvisor have highly recommended this place and the team as well as the manager did try the best to soothe us - but seriously: this place is overpriced and overrated. Which I think is most likely due to the owner who is not willing to invest in better isolation for the rooms close to the bar. Another small thing of dismay: When we wanted to use the whirlpool we were told that it needs at least an hour till we can use it and that it is too late today. We moved out the next day and found a very nice hotel two streets away (Castelmar) where we had a very good and quiet sleep and could rescue our stay in Campeche - for a much better price!

Room Tip: Do not book the expensive master suite!!! The In-bar of Campeche is located directly outside and you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CasaDonGustavo, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Casa Don Gustavo Hotel Boutique, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Dear Marie,

We appreciate your comments and apologize for the inconvience during your stay. Bar outside the street recently opened and didn´t have a chance to make those rooms suitable against noice, but be sure that it is our priority.

We did try our best to make it better for you and regret the fact that we failed since it was a situtation out of our hands.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Campeche, Mexico
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 21 January 2014

I have had good experiences with this hotel, specially as it is one of my favorite destinations for having quiet romantic dinners.

Once we had a family reunion in the antique dining room, and it was a wonderful experience. The decor is fantastic, with very nice antiques and a lot of character. The food was very good. My only complain was that the service staff, albeit very friendly, seemed to be a little bit new on the job. Also the wine list was relatively limited.

On another occasion I had dinner with my wife in the jacuzzi area and it was wonderful, absolutely no complains. Excellent service and a romantic view of the cathedral at night. We had some very good regional touches with a gourmet touch.

My wife and I payed for a short stay to my parents in law, and unfortunately there were some problems with the hot water supply. Besides that, they had a great time as the location of the hotel is fantastic and they also enjoyed some nice tea on the living room overlooking the courtyard.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mario_Ortegon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CasaDonGustavo, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Casa Don Gustavo Hotel Boutique, responded to this review, 8 February 2014
Dear Mario, thank you for sharing your experience with us and for being a loyal costumer. Make sure that your opinion it´s been taking seriously and will be shared with the departments involved in order to improve our service.
Hope to see you soon in Casa Don Gustavo Boutique Hotel & Restaurant.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
2 reviews
Reviewed 9 January 2014 via mobile

The hotel is in and old big house, it only has a few rooms but they are big and perfectly clean. The staff is really nice and helpful. The location of the hotel is top! Right to the Puerta del Mar on the 59th street. Meals were not included in the price but they offer excellent food.
We were really happy with our stay at Casa Don Gustavo.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ara-alcala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CasaDonGustavo, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Casa Don Gustavo Hotel Boutique, responded to this review, 8 February 2014
Vielen Danke für Ihren Besuch
We appreciate your comments and we´re glad to know you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to your visit in the near future. Campeche and Casa Don Gustavo we´ll be always happy to welcome you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Campeche hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Socaire
Hotel Socaire
#1 of 25 in Campeche
420 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hacienda Puerta Campeche, A Luxury Collection Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hotel Plaza Campeche
Hotel Plaza Campeche
#11 of 25 in Campeche
423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Castelmar
Hotel Castelmar
#3 of 25 in Campeche
575 reviews
14.6 mi away
Hacienda Uayamon, a Luxury Collection Hotel
0.8 mi away
Ocean View Hotel
Ocean View Hotel
#4 of 25 in Campeche
434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Don Gustavo Hotel Boutique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Don Gustavo Hotel Boutique

Property: Casa Don Gustavo Hotel Boutique
Address: Calle 59 No 4 | Centro Historico, Campeche 24000, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Campeche > Campeche
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 25 Hotels in Campeche
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Casa Don Gustavo Hotel Boutique 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Don Gustavo is an attractive boutique hotel, renovated and opened in 2010 from a large 18th century colonial house on the coastal side of the walled city of Campeche; decorated in period style with many antique artworks, ceramics, glassware items and chandeliers.- 10 Exclusive Suites- Traditional and International cuisine at our Restaurant- Outdoor rooftop Swimming Pool- Open-air Jacuzzi - Terrace for small private events- Excellent location in the hearth of Campeche city, UNESCO Worlds Heritage. A short drive from Mérida, Yucatan and Cancún.Campeche offers an array of attractions, mayan archeological and architectural museum, fortifications, white sandy beaches, mayan ruins (Edzná, Calakmul and Chichen Itzá) ; and activities such sport fishing, mangrove kayaking and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Casa Don Gustavo Hotel Boutique reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing