We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great position,food ok” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Casa Vieja del Rio

Casa Vieja del Rio
Ranked #31 of 126 Restaurants in Campeche
Price range: US$5 - US$13
Cuisines: Mexican, International, Central American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Bar Scene, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: The best view in the city
yorkshire
Level Contributor
42 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great position,food ok”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2013

View is probably the nicest in the old town, nice to look out at the Cathedral. We were lucky enough to wtch the annual parade. Food was better than average but was a little expenve. Sf were attentive but nt over zealous. Could be excellent

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank bobnbex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    71
    36
    27
    30
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
133 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Avoid this overpriced place”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2013 via mobile

I guess I should have known by the amount of effort that the man on the street was having to use to push people in, and his general lack of success. I have to agree with barbuosa below. The starter of fish pâté "to share" was lack lustre and lacking in much flavour. My main course of crab and crab soup tasted like some tinned bisque with a few morsels of overlooked crab thrown in. My companion's Moros was served less than tepid - and even having been sent back was served a second time little better. As for the margaritas... I can only assume this is the only restaurant in Mexico that could spoil them quite so much. The bill for all that? $mx 530. The value...$mx 53 if that.

Would have been a tad more accepting of such awful food if the kitchen had been busy, but no... There were about 6 other diners there and 4 waiters... Maybe it is a Monday thing. Still I have to say try elsewhere in Campeche.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank whizzyuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
263 reviews
157 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Don't go there”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2013

We've been travelling for 4 weeks all over Mexico and this was probably one of the worse meals to date. The margaritas were horrible and served in plastic glasses, the fish terrine was a big hard block of what looked/tasted like cat food, he bread was stale and my main course was cold and had no taste. On top of that the service was very poor but the meal was overall pricey. I can see why aggressive staff are trying to entice punters from the main square area.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jmt12london
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Falls Windsor, Canada
Level Contributor
104 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Nice experience...great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2013

We went here for supper and enjoyed the experience.As others said the location can't be beat with a view to the Main Plaza and the opportunity to view it from above.

The menu was varied and all six of us ordered different dishes and were satisfied with them. The coconut shrimp in particular were huge and delicious. The chicken fajitas were also very plentiful.

The prices were higher than usual for a Mexican restaurant but the service was good and I would recommend it for a nice evening out.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank darmstro56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The worst restaurant we've experienced in Mexico”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2013

We have been travelling around Mexico for two weeks, and this was the worst meal we've had.
The food wasn't fresh, it was badly prepared, and the service was awful!
The bread was stale, and the food horrible.

Don't eat here, it is a tourist trap with a nice view!

    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbarousa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Casa Vieja del Rio also viewed

 
Campeche, Campeche
 

Been to Casa Vieja del Rio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing