We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (8)
Filter reviews
8 results
Traveller rating
0
0
3
2
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
0
0
3
2
3
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 8 reviews
Reviewed 2 September 2016 via mobile

This hotel is billed as the 'best lodging in Ulgii'. If so, then Ulgii needs to seriously step up its hotel game.

Our room was extremely shabby (as in, stuffing visibly coming out of the couch, wallpaper peeling off, hole in bathroom wall, etc...).

We had only 1 pillow for the both of us.

The receptionist is rude and doesn't speak a word of English (or Russian, or any other language we tried). She appears to take pride in being unhelpful.

The shower is in the bathroom and there is no curtain, so when you take a shower the entire bathroom gets soaked.

The funniest transgression: both times we stayed (yes, we stayed twice) our one time use shower gel tube (which was provided... nice touch) had been previously used and was only half full. Ew.

What else? Oh the room was infested with flies... housekeeping had forgotten to close the window.

Walls were paper thin... we heard, in no particular order, screaming children, people having sex, and some guy puking.

And finally - instead of being given a role of toilet paper, we were given a folded up wad (like, the kind you take into the woods with you when you're camping and have to go pee).

Giving 2 stars because we do not appear to be suffering from any bedbugs, scabies, or the like... yet.

Date of stay: September 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank julez9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2015

Note: This hotel is in Ulgii/Olgii/ but Tripadvisor keeps directing me to Khovd. Khovd is a 6 hours jeep trip away although both are in Western Mongolia.
One visits Western Mongolia because it is so remote and undeveloped and also for the Eagle festival. That said, prepare yourself that this hotel which is one of the “best” in Ulgii is terrible. The bed is rock hard, like a board with a very thin soft kind-of mattress on top. There was only one pillow on the double/queen bed and when we asked for one more they didn’t bring it. Eventually I went to the reception area and asked again and the receptionist was very sweet but merely walked me to another room and pulled a pillow off the bed in that room. I'm not sure that she understood English. We found mouse droppings on the mattress the last morning. The bathroom is small and grubby. The shower has no curtain so the whole bathroom floor is sopping wet after each shower. There were teacups out and some teabags but no kettle and one was not delivered when we asked. Eventually our guide insisted they bring one and they did. We stayed 2 nights and the room was not cleaned after the first night. Apparently there is only one key so if one takes it with one they don’t clean the room but they also don’t tell you that. Internet is available and works quite well during quiet times. There is an “internet lounge” which was rather a nice way to meet fellow travelers. There is a Karaoke bar and a dining room in the hotel. We were there on a Saturday night and there was a function in the dining room so the noise was pretty loud but as our room was directly above it we probably had it worse than others. All in all I found the hotel a bit tough to take but I don’t think there are any better options in Ulgii and the Eagle Festival itself more than made up for it. Note that they provide very little toilet paper and it is rather hard and shreds as you tear it, so bring your own.
If you fly out of Ulgii important to note that It will appear that there are only outhouse long-drop toilets just outside the airport (and they are worse than awful). If you can wait until they finally allow you to clear security you will find clean flush toilets on the other side.

Date of stay: October 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Naturelover_777983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2015

This place is an absolute DUMP! Disgusting in every way possible but its really your only choice while in Khovd. Service is non-existent and so is food. You're actually better off sleeping on the sidewalk :-)

Date of stay: September 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GlobalSwagger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2015

Anywhere else I would rate this hotel as terrible... But Ulgii (that's the way the spelling is at the airport) is a "Middle of Nowhere" place... The speaker sounding the Moslem call to prayer was near our room so we were woke up in the middle of the night... The lights worked most of the time but went off about 9 PM... The shower worked for one person but the hot water ended 2/3 through...Made a quick shower for the second person... We were exhausted at the end of 8 days of traveling and camping in the Altai mountains so much appreciated the bed... If had a choice would try another place BUT the choices are limited...

Date of stay: July 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank kansasrod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013

The hotel is huge and blue so you can't miss it.

Starting with the important things: the wifi was okay but slow, but I could still get work done. The bathroom was shabby even for my standards and the water limped through the shower and toilet and was pretty horrible to use but needs must.

The breakfast was good but very greasy, really really greasy but then a lot of Mongolian food is greasy to a western palette so that is to be expected.

The room was huge with three single beds in and the bed was not uncomfortable. It felt safe in terms of personal security and didn't feel like a brothel which is a massive advantage in my book.

Date of stay: May 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank GingerTravelsUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews