We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“luxury but remote”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Maer
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Maer Estate Holiday Cottages
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Maer
hednesford
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“luxury but remote”
Reviewed 16 May 2012

luxurious cottage, everything you could need for home comfort, but very isolated when it comes to communicating with the outside world.
If you ant a phone signal you may need to walk into the lane or middle of the grounds, and the free wifi was great in one corner of the cottage we rented - daren't move! Our neigbours had to put the laptop on their windowsill.
But, mum and I loved the relaxation and peace and quiet. the grounds were spectacular, and you could dream of a lifestyle for the rich!
The reception was only manned when we arrived - we saw no staff after that, so if problems we needed to make a phone call - but we had to get a signal first! Lucky we had no problems then.
Great escape.

Room Tip: Go early spring - it's cheaper and excellent value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cpduffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
Couples
0
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
south yorks
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2012

When we were shown around Keeper's Cottage we couldn't believe our luck - the interior design feels very luxurious and we loved the sleepy and historical setting (Charles Darwin was married in the parish church over the road) - very relaxing!
There were six adults and two children in our party and there was ample space, and privacy, for all of us. The children had a small room with bunk beds, which probably wouldn't suit older children but our five and two year old both loved it.
We stayed over new year and we were provided with a very generous welcome package of mince pies, wine, biscuits, chocolates and other treats. There was also fresh milk in the fridge.
There are lovely walks in the gardens and towards the lake, with a great view of Maer Hall.
There is a charming 'craft village' about a mile or so away with a cafe and lovely boutique-style and artisan shops. The nearby Swan with Two Necks is a great gastro pub with brilliant staff.
There is also a lovely traditional pub on the road heading towards Maer, the Mainwaring I think, which is really cosy with open fires and different snugs to hunker down in!
The area and the cottage itself really lent themselves to a festive break - we would definitely love to return.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kron100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louth, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2011

Stayed here for 3 ngts, to visit friends before heading to the peak district.We had booked gardeners Cottage, but ended up staying at Wheelwright, as there was a mistake in the booking.However this is a much bigger cottage, so we did well!!The interior is fantastic. very well presented, with the very best of everything in furnishings.Both the cottage and grounds are very well kept.The cottage was exceptionally clean, with a feeling of been the first guest to have used it.There is a nice well kept garden, and laundry room.The area is so remote, and would make a great place to relax/de-stress.However as we were travelling with 3 children under 6,that was never going to happan!!So to really enjoy this place i would recommend it to couples.Also ideal for anyone who needs to visit North staffs hsp, as its very near.Angela who runs the place is a very nice person.Very professional, yet laid back, which was nice, as with the children it made our stay as relaxed as it could be.The nice thing about the location, is the you are still very close to the nearest town-Newcastle-under-lyme, yet you can enjoy the peace and tranquilty of this beautiful part of the countryside, that even locals aren't familiar with.The only fault i would find with this property, is that we found it extremely warm, so it left us restless at night.Not sure if they're all like that.Also anyone travelling as we were with young children, the stairs are very typical of what you would expect to find in a cottage, so don't expect a stair gate to fit!!overall i would rate Maer estate cottages 9/10

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louth_magsN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nurture_unit
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 January 2010

Tucked away in a bleak but unspoilt bit of the England is the Maer Estate, and on it are these great coach houses. They're in a courtyard, and are different sizes. We had two of them for our group as the heating had blown in the big one, they sorted us out with two for the same cost, very affably. Inside they're very swish, tasteful and new, the best self catering place I've ever stayed at. There were great touches - some wine and cheese as a welcome hamper, a cafitiere and ground coffee, altogether great. Marie, who runs them, is very friendly and always picks up her mobile. She sorted out a travel cot no probs. There's a good restaurant up the road - the Swan with Two Necks, does a great lunch or dinner, surprisingly trendy inside considering it's in a field in the middle of nowhere. Nearby Stoke-on-Trent is really depressing and I'd only come here to get away from it all rather than to explore the area. But they're amazing inside and it's so nice to stay somewhere that hasn't cut any corners and where you feel you're getting far more than the bare minimum. A great place to hide away.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nurture_unit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Maer Estate Holiday Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maer Estate Holiday Cottages

Property: Maer Estate Holiday Cottages
Address: Maer, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Maer
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Maer
Number of rooms: 16

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing