We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Place for Lunch” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mothered Goose

Mothered Goose
Ranked #2 of 8 Restaurants in Bulls
Cuisines: Cafe, New Zealand, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Level Contributor
384 reviews
236 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“A Great Place for Lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

You can select from either a well stocked food cabinet or from an a la carte menu. The cabinet had a good range of tasty food. Both alcoholic and non alcoholic drinks are available.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    42
    17
    8
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Te Awamutu, New Zealand
Level Contributor
296 reviews
169 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Another great place to stop for lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

Great variety of food, al carte menu as well as a well stocked cabinet, my wife and I chose to eat from the cabinet as the food looked good. Some interesting stuff/curios to look at and buy. Friendly helpful service, hard to fault for what it was.

Would go back, would recommend

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Shane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level Contributor
204 reviews
142 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Not as good as it could be.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

Coffee was good but the soup was odd tasting, the croutons were large and kinda tough but that seems to be how they do them. Always think Mothered Goose is going to be better than it is.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank sallysage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
94 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“very satisfied”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

My friend and I travelled from Feilding to Bulls specifically to have lunch here last Saturday. We have both been about four times before over the years. It's always busy here, but we managed to get a free table. Service was good and friendly and we both enjoyed coffee before our meals arrived. We thoroughly enjoyed our large meals of MG Fritters - House-crafted corn, zucchini and feta. Served with a crispy salad and bacon, $19.50 and Chicken Parmigiana - Chicken breast topped with tomato salsa and grilled mozzarella on a herb and rosemary toast. Served with salad and fries $21. Very satisfying and delicious, we were both happy with our choices and the Restaurant overall, We will return again.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank fromAotearoa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Quality Custard Square”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

Technically not a custard square but a custard oblong it was very enjoyable. I've known Bulls for so long as somewhere that you stop in at Subway or similar for a quick bite to eat before heading up the road but stopped in at this tearoom and enjoyed its atmosphere.

Coffee took a while when it wasn't overly busy but was good, the custard square was the star of the show, a meal in itself that I devoured with a knife and fork.

Definitely recommended, not the usual Bulls fair and therefore - Applauda-BULL

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mothered Goose also viewed

Bulls, Rangitikei District
Sanson, Manawatu-Wanganui Region
 
Sanson, Manawatu-Wanganui Region
Bulls, Rangitikei District
 

Been to Mothered Goose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing