We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant stay - give your iphone/laptop a break and enjoy!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Corinna Wilderness Experience
Certificate of Excellence
Tasmania
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Brilliant stay - give your iphone/laptop a break and enjoy!”
Reviewed 29 June 2013

We absolutely loved staying here for 1 night and wish we had stayed longer. It doesn't have mobile service, TV and wifi and if you cannot stay off them for 1 night then don't bother this isn't for you. You have to remember where you are and you aren't in the middle of Sydney and must allow for the things they don't have due to the location and the reason of why they are there - for an experience. For those of us who want to get away and relax and spend time with friends or family and chat and build memories then this is the place for you. The new management have been working for 1 month and they are brilliant! These are the right people in the right job. Dale was very helpful and a allround good person. Dinner at the pub was wonderful and would certainly recommend. I wish we had stayed longer and will certainly be returning for longer next time. I recommend that you take time out and breath in the fresh air!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Queenslanders0604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    139
    62
    19
    5
    2
See reviews for
34
127
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Canberra
Level Contributor
32 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

We only booked the one night but could have easily stayed a week. The cottages are very comfortable and toasty warm. We looked directly onto the bush and we had a couple of small marsupials - paddymelons? grazing by the front steps. Reception / general store / restaurant was a short walk away (take a torch) and we enjoyed a couple of drinks at happy hour and then a delicious meal afterwards. There a various walks around but time constraints allowed only a couple of delightful short ones on boardwalks. We went on the Pieman river cruise and enjoyed every minute. Next time we hope to go kayaking.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaryAnneCanberra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lima, Peru
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2013

The nature of the space in Corinna is beautiful.
But my experience there wasnt the best for sure.
3 important things:
The restaurant service was terrible and the food was very bad. little options and no sense of harmony and balance when preparing the meals.
I remember ordering a pasta with way to many peas, really it was almost one full tin of peas for only one pasta dish. Another night I ordered pork the first time they give it to me raw inside, the second try it was still raw and very greasy and the third time the same.
The ¨cheff¨ or whoever is in charge of the food there has no idea what to do clearly.

People working there were very ignorant and they seem very unhappy for some strange reason.
The woman that is supossed to be in charge there was very rude the whole time.

The rooms where pretty average, ordering breakfasts in the room was really bad too, their bread was terrible!! they give it to you at breakfast, lunch and dinner. they have no idea how to make other types of bread....and really is not that hard.

Again the details in the room were very poor.

There is no Wifi anywhere in this place, not even the restaurant.
Iphones read signals from the houses of the people that live in Corinna but you are never allowed to use internet. No matter if you have an emergency or work stuff to do, they just wont facilitate this for you.

I would recomend to anyone wanting to visit, to pay for everything separetly, meaning that never ever accept to pay any of the packages they offer.
it is not worth it really....

Good luck

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Haditadeluna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2013

This was a delightful place to stay, found the staff very friendly. Lovely and warm cottages. We enjoyed the walks and had a cruise up to Lovers falls. Overall a wonderful place to stay, a bit pricey, for the accommodation, but worth it, for the experience.

Loved the whole experience.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank julesb63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maitland, Australia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2013

A long drive to get here but well worth it. Cabins were great and the people obviously committed to the whole Eco resort concept. Lots of walks for all levels of fitness.
Food was great and the service was wonderful -they couldn't do enough for you. A special trip was organised on the river in the afternoon as we had missed the morning one. The guide was personable and knowledgeable.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bega, Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2013

After watching a story on TV about the Tarkine and getting a rave review from a friend about the serenity of Corinna I booked the 3 night package for my husband & I and we were quite looking forward to it. Unfortunately a chain of events led to a less than enjoyable experience for us.

Upon arrival the staff, whilst friendly and helpful, were obviously inexperienced and it took a little while to sort out our 'package' details, but that was OK, we were soon sorted out and on our way to our eco-cabin.

The cabins are good, but at $200 per night, probably a bit overpriced for what you get. Sitting on the deck out the back with our cheese & wine (part of the package) looking into the bush with the visiting pademelons does make you feel part of the wilderness; but then when you're sitting on the toilet and realise that the people in next door's loungeroom look straight in the bathroom window you realise they've sacrificed privacy (something you'd expect in the 'wilderness') for dollars by jamming a lot of cabins into a small area.

The restaurant only has a small selection of meals, however we enjoyed all of the food that we had, so no complaints there. The restaurant was very busy and noisy being a long weekend in Tas and again, this was OK, we don't mind people enjoying themselves. What wasn't OK is that a group of them decided to party on into the night in the cabin next door (and again the next night), again making you realise how close the cabins are to each other.

The 'Arcadia' was full on our first day so so instead we did the 'Sweetwater' cruise on their smaller boat, which we enjoyed. We had the boat to ourselves and our guide, Dale, was friendly and a wealth of knowledge on the area. We were lookng forward to our trip on the 'Arcadia' the next day.

Unfortunately we awoke the next morning to the news that the 'Arcadia', had broken down so we were unable to take our trip up the Pieman; the main reason we had come to Corinna. We were offered kayaks to fill in the day instead, but we declined, deciding instead to cut our stay short and move on.

All of the above, whilst annoying to differing degrees, were not the main disappointment however.
The thing that really amazed and disappointed us was the fact our neighbours were a group of jetskiers who spent the weekend on their jetskis on the river! Somehow you just don't envision a 'wilderness experience' on a supposedly tranquil river to be topped off with a bunch of noisy jetskiers! Not a great idea Corinna - please keep them out.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
57 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2013

It is a special privilege to stay in this remote and little visited part of Tasmania. Drive through the Tarkine (before they destroy it) and along the silica road from Waratah. The "township" boasts about twenty miners' cottages, mostly replicas, and a pub which is the restaurant, shop, reception and everything else. The cottages are comfortable, clean and spacious. They are built just a little too close to each other and we would have liked a toaster, but overall it was good. The mattress was exceptional! The meals at the pub were a credit to the staff and the cruise on the Pieman River is the highlight. My favorite walk in Tasmania has now become the Whyte River walk. The lichen and fern filled rainforest is food for the soul.The staff at Corinna were friendly and helpful. The whole experience was wonderful, with the pademelons coming out at dusk and three days in a row of sunshine!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SydneyHarriet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Corinna Wilderness Experience? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Corinna Wilderness Experience

Property: Corinna Wilderness Experience
Address: Corinna Road, Corinna, Tasmania 7321, Australia (Formerly Corinna, at Home in the Wilderness)
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Corinna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Corinna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Corinna Wilderness Experience 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Corinna is an historic town that is now a wilderness retreat nestled in the rainforest alongside the Pieman River. There is a range of accommodation at Corinna, including queen and family eco cabins, original miners cottages and camping. Facilities include a restaurant and bar. There is plenty to do with river cruises, hiking and kayaking to name a few popular activities.Corinna Wilderness Experience holds an advanced eco accreditation for the accommodation and river cruise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Corinna Wilderness Experience reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing