We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dont be put off by bad reviews”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Holton Heath
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Parkdean - Sandford Holiday Park
South East
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Dont be put off by bad reviews”
Reviewed 12 July 2012

Booked through sun holiday, came back last week -great park ad holiday.
we were a group of 3 caravans all booked separately, requested on arrival (I extended my stay by 2nites for £60 extra so arrived before the others) that my relatives be close by if possible - they ended up opposite!
I am glad I extended as I got a deluxe caravan that was faultless inside, my relatives did have budget accommodation but there was also no major problems with it (my cousins caravan sink leaked on one of the days but the maintenance were there in secs and sorted it quickly).
I have stayed on many caravan sites and this is as good as Rockley Park etc
This caravan park is a bit further out though so I would say Rockley Park is better situated if you dont want to travel around much.
The site has 3 parks which the children in our party made full use of, there is also a play area upstairs in the complex and this was small but adequate for under 5's.
Entertainment was ok, nothing bad to report but not exceptional either.
Reception very helpful.
I used the launderette and this was £4 a wash but 2 machines were ou of order resulting in long waits for a free machine.
Didnt use indoor pool but outdoor pool was great.
Used the restaurant on site few times, would describe it as weatherspoons type food/menu, nothing special but nohing bad to report either. Breakfast bap and coffee was £3.75 not unreasonable.
Went to Farmer Palmers when we had a rainy day on the recommendation of reception, well worth a visit and if you show your Parkdene passes on payment you get 10% discount on entry, most of the attraction is inside barns so good for bad weather.
Would strongly recommend a visit to Sandbanks beach and swanage.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rihannafan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

990 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    241
    349
    201
    100
    99
See reviews for
690
138
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2012

Having paid a full rate for this holiday, it was not value for money.
The site itself is in a lovely setting with lots of trees but that was probably the best bit.
The caravan had a very stained carpet and someone had obviously been ill by the smell of the lounge and bedroom. As the site was full, I only asked to have it cleaned but still did not get rid of smell.
The indoor pool was ok.
One night we had thought to eat in restaurant but waiting time was over two hours.
I do not think it is a good site for teenagers (not the site's fault)
I did send in a letter of complaint but have had no reply.
I booked this through Hoseasons and will not be staying in a Parkdean caravan park again.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank boodaisyele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bromsgrove, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2012

We stayed in the Poole Lodge for one week at Sandford Holiday Park. I have to admit, I was a little concerned after reading some of the reviews on Tripadvisor. We arrived about 15 mins before the 4pm check-in and was pleased to find that we didn't have to queue and we could go straight to our Lodge. The Lodge itself, was immaculate inside and out ( the setting is really nice ). The kitchen is very modern, as are the boathrooms. Bedrooms are a little small, but you don't spend the day in them! The only minor downside was the lack of baking trays, but hey, it meant we ate out more! I can recommend The Bakers Arms ( 5 mins down the road towards Poole ). Food at the Holiday Park is typical Holdiay Park type food. It's alright ( pub chain type ). We treated ourselves to breakfast one morning. Again, this is your average breakfast type food ( like you'll find anywhere ). I would, however, not bother with the chip shop. The chips arn't that great, portions are small and you do have to queue. Instead, drive into Poole Quay and have your chips on the quayside ( watching the million pound boats pass by ).
Since we had our 22 month old with us, we needed to keep him happy. The indoor pool is great for a 30 min - 45 min dip ( all clean ). The outdoor playground is ideal and all in good working order, the idoor soft play area ( located upstairs in main building ) is small, but again, all clean and in order.
We also found the staff ( both at reception and in the restaurant ) to be very friendly and helpfull. Nothing seemed to be too much trouble.
I can imagine that it does all get very busy in peak season, but if yo go ot of the school holidays, you should avoid all the queues and noice ( if any ).

Room Tip: Spend a bit more and go for the Lodges
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Chris K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oswestry, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2012

Nice clean caravan site with lots of mature trees and bushes around the caravans, caravans not squashed in close together with parking spaces alongside the caravans. The mature trees around the site give everywhere a countryside feel. We had a wild brown rabbit outside our caravan for a few hours every day and it was lovely to see one so close. Our sons aged 11 and 5 were especially interested in the rabbit.

Dogs are allowed on the site as well.

Everyone we met on the site were very friendly.

We were put in a 3 bedroom caravan with a large kitchen and living area. Caravan was clean with net curtains at the window for privacy. Microwave included. Flat screen tv but tiny size was the only downside. Good picture on the TV. Clean pillows and mattresses.

Sandford Park has a heated indoor swimming pool, Crazy Caves indoor play area, heated outdoor pool complete with toddlers’ pool and new slide and water jets, all weather multi-sports court, two outdoor play areas including a pirate ship and an under 8’s play area with Sid & Lizzie houses, swings and a climbing wall and a nature trail.

This caravan site is near to Poole, Christchurch, Bournemouth and Weymouth so plenty to do come rain or shine, if you have the use of a car. Poole harbour is the 2nd largest natural harbour in the world.

It rained most of the time on our holiday but we made the most of it and went out and about all day. We went swimming in Poole Leisure Centre and had a great time. We ate at Georgie Porgies Buffet World in Poole and had a lovely meal. We went to the cinema at Tower Park in Poole and saw a good film. We went to the Sealife Centre in Weymouth which was expensive but very interesting. We had a meal out at a Harvester next to the sea with great views over the beach. We visited Christchurch Priory and marvelled at its splendour. We walked along a cliff top and saw miles of unspoilt coastline stretching out below.

This is the second time we have been to this site and are more than happy to return.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
6 Thank Friendlypers0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2012

We have visited Sandford for at least the last 5 years and we love it!!
The evening entertainment is great and the kids club entertainmengt is great for the kids.
The arcardes, pools, soft play, go karts, and mini golf all mean you don't have to go too far to keep the kids entertained.
The entertainment crew on site are lovely with the kids and work hard to remember all the names!
If you are looking for something different to do during the day a visit to Dorchester market on a wednesday is a must! - Great prices in the open air market and you can take your dogs for a nice walk it is lovely to have a good market to visit which is almost a thing of the past.
By the time you have done the market for the day there is enough time for a relax before you are off to the club at Sandford again for the kids entertainment to tire them out for bed!
Yes some of the caravans are quite basic but I think you have to take it for what it is but if you are really not happy with your caravan speak up as the reception staff are very helpful

Room Tip: Lodges are more expensive but they are beautiful a real home from home
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Locky S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2012

Having been to many park dean holiday sites I have to say we were less impressed with this particular one. On arrival, there is insufficient parking places around the main area, then when you go to check in you have a long queue. We stayed in Wheelchair accessible caravan in Ash Avenue. The caravan itself was nice, however, it's hard to believe that it's brand new for 2012. The toilet had a leak, the kettle was broken, which was replaced with another faulty kettle! Eventually got on in the end by visiting reception. There was a broken plastic chair outside the front door - not a very good first impression???

Onsite there are two swimming pools, one inside, one outside. The indoor pool was freezing. I took my nephew swimming but it was that cold we only stayed for 20 minutes. All the water features were turned off and there was only a couple balls to keep everyone entertained. Not really the image of a fun pool that's perceived in the brochures/pictures. Oh and you have to pay a non refundable 50p for a locker which I think is ridiculous!! The outdoor pool looked much better with a slide but the weather has a way of ruining plans! There is an indoor play area, it's average, can't spend a lot of time there. Also can't understand why there is a park next to the main road? Doesn't seem to be much thought behind small things like that. You can go mini bowling in the arcade - it costs £2 per person. Would find it hard to spend every day within the caravan site so if you have time/can afford I would recommend visiting Paultons Park.

The staff are quite rude, on reception, in the shop, within the arcade, maintenance took over an hour to respond to a call about ants in the caravan. Didn't seem to work whatever he did because the following day the ants had started to return. Clearly a reoccurring issue. Also on the last day of our holiday - check out being 10am. I was approached by a lady (who was sat outside waiting in her car about 9am) I can only assume to be one of the cleaners asking myself if I would leave the front door open as soon as we go so she can get started. This is completely unprofessional! For a start she could be anyone who could steal or damage the property that myself and my family are liable for.

Overall we were disappointed with Park Dean this time. Considering trying a different company on our next holiday.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fmw026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
essex
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2012

hi we just got back from a short break at sandford holiday park (mon to fri).We booked a sun holiday for 5 of us 2 adults and 3 kids ages 2,3 and 6.After reading some reviews we wasnt sure what to expect.When we arrived we was told we could check in @3 instead of 4 which was good ,we queued up and got our keys and the lady was very helpful as it was our 1st time @'the park, on the map our caravan looked quite far away from the main complex but infact it was only a few minutes walk.when we got to the van it was spotless and massive with a separate kitchen and lounge, if there was anything to moan about it would maybe be the tv could be slightly bigger as the screen was only 12 inchs(but lucky for us the weather wasnt to bad so we wasnt in the van much) .The 1st night we thought we'd eat at the restaurant on site as it looked ok, the staff again we're very friendly and helpful but then it went wrong.my wife and i ordered a steak each both to be medium when they arrived mine was ok but my wifes was more like blue! the waitress apologised and returned with a new new plate of food which was better.My peas and chips we're awful so i left them,the kids had pizza,chips and beans which we're ok.At the end of the meal we was offered a free desert which we said no to.The next night we thought we would try the pizzeria so we paid our money and was told to come back in 20 minutes 15 minutes later the fire alarm was sounded and guess what it was our pizzas lol we had to laugh. We was told the oven was now broke and given a refund.So where to eat now?well there is a pub 100yards away from the camp The Clay Pipe Inn we had a great meal there and would recommend it, also if you dont mind a 5 minute drive there is also a great pub restaurant called The Sandford which serves very nice home cooked food.The entertainment was good and the staff really make you feel welcome.The costcutters on site is quite pricey but 15 minutes down the road theres a asdas and tescos.Onsite there seemed to be quite abit to do through the day but we went out and about most days,theres lots of attractions near by we visited sandbanks and bourmemouth beaches which we're both very nice and again only about 20 minutes away.So would we go back yes i think we would

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank darrell r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Holton Heath
6.6 mi away
The Haven Hotel
The Haven Hotel
#8 of 13 in Poole
1,467 reviews
4.4 mi away
Travelodge Poole Hotel
8.2 mi away
Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Premier Inn Poole Centre (Holes Bay) Hotel
17.5 mi away
Best Western Weymouth Hotel Rembrandt
4.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Poole
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parkdean - Sandford Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parkdean - Sandford Holiday Park

Property: Parkdean - Sandford Holiday Park
Address: Holton Heath, Poole | Dorset, Holton Heath, Wareham, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Wareham > Holton Heath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Holton Heath
Hotel Class:4 star — Parkdean - Sandford Holiday Park 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The family fun never ends on this leafy country park. You'll find fabulous indoor and outdoor pools, amazing tree-house adventure play, lively kids' clubs and a brilliant climbing wall. Not to mention the pirate ship, delicious places to eat and spectacular Showtime Entertainment. In fact there's so much to see and do there's hardly a minute left to explore the glorious countryside location, dive over to Bournemouth beach, discover Durdle Door, dine out at Poole Harbour or monkey around at Monkey World! * A lively family park in a country setting * Close to Wareham Town with River walks * Fantastic indoor and outdoor pools * Stunning contemporary lodges available * Showtime Entertainment every night ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sandford Holiday Park Hotel Holton Heath
Parkdean - Sandford Holiday Park Dorset/Holton Heath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing