We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Easter Family Camping Break” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Parkdean - Sandford Holiday Park

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Holton Heath
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Parkdean - Sandford Holiday Park
Bicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Easter Family Camping Break”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014

Our second time camping here, check in was quick and easy, a great pitch, not too far from the camping shop and shower/toilet facilities and a very safe environment for the kids to explore. Admittedly we were a few minutes walk from the main facilities, shops, pool and entertainment but we were comfortable with this as it meant that other than fellow campers there was very little traffic and people wandering late at night.
The shower block was good but could have been a little cleaner and there was the odd occasion when you had to hunt down the loo with any paper in it but I've seen much worse. The water was hot and the shower cubicles spacious.
Look out for the taps in the washing up area, they tend to explode with water every time you press them and you will get a good soaking.
The £5 deposit for a sink plug seemed a little silly but it's best that you know about it...not an issue if you have your own washing up bowl I guess.
We didn't see much of the entertainment as it did very get very busy and trying to find seats was near impossible unless you got there early but it was the Easter weekend.
The queues at the bar were quite long some evenings but we did spend a fair time in there watching football on the big screens, having long lazy breakfasts and Sunday lunch especially on the one rainy day that we had.
Kids loved playing in the soft play and in the arcade and we felt very comfortable letting them wander around.
Corfe Castle was a great day out and the kids took part in the Cadbury Easter Egg Hunt as well as learning about the area and attraction through the trail.
We bought walkie talkies for the kids before we went and as the range was so good there was no issue with them exploring and keeping in touch so we got to relax on the pitch ourselves.
As always ran out of time to do all the things we wanted to but maybe we'll do more than 3 nights next time.

Room Tip: Ask for a flat pitch...the first time we went we ended up on a steep sloping one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PamCam68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

899 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    223
    317
    181
    90
    88
See reviews for
623
122
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

As the title says you really are cut off staying here and it is essential to have a car to get anywhere. There are no local shops so the only shop within walking distance is on site and how expensive it is. A 2 litre bottle of coke was £2.50! It also is very poorly stocked.

But our caravan was excellent.
We had a Swanage 3 bedroom with veranda. There was ample space for us, 4 adults and 4 children (ranging from 10 to 2 years old.) It was clean and very well equipt (even a vacuum cleaner!) Plenty of kitchen equipment and two televisions to keep both children and adults happy! No complaints there...........

Now for the unhappy bits,,,,, Check in is an absolute farce. When we arrived we noticed there were crowds of people sitting outside the reception area but thought they were just drinking enjoying the sun. I went to the reception desk at 3;55pm to be told my caravan wasn't ready and come back in 10 minutes. I walked back to my family and sat down. Suddenly at 4pm on the dot the crowd sitting outside all rushed in. Apparently 4pm check means 4pm check in at Sandford! The queue went out of reception past the outside restaurant seating area towards the park entrance. I finally got back to the reception 20 minutes later again to be told caravan was still not ready. I was asked to come back in another 10 minutes, I asked if I could go to the front of the queue when returning for the third time and was told No you will have to queue again!!!
Im sorry but I refused to move and asked to see a manager who miraculously found my holiday pack. He did apologize.
Really need to sort out staggering check in as other holiday companies do.

The other problem was in the Arcade area. This is packed in the evening with quite a few unsupervised children asking adults for money (this did happened in both mine and my daughter case,)

The Club is lovely but bar prices are very expensive.My son in law was charged £2,25 for a glass of diet coke one night then I was charged £1.75 the next night, when asked why the Barman just said 'thats the price'.
The entertainers work very hard and the children loved it,
Beware it can get packed in there very early but we were there over the Easter break and the Park did seem very full.

We also ate in the restaurant one evening and enjoyed our meal. There was a good choice of food for the children to eat and the service was excellent.

On the whole we had a good holiday and the children loved it which was the main thing but would we return?
I doubt it but may try different Park for our next Easter break.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kim304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pewsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014

We have just got back from staying here and although our caravan was good it didn't have the wow factor that Heather's had. We also stayed through the voucher system with The Sun and we got a 2 bedroom with 1 toilet and must have been there at the same time. I spoke with several couples on the bus stop one day and they also got lucky with 3 bedrooms. Luck of the draw I gather & I am never that lucky.
Our bedroom light had gone so I rang just after 9.00 a.m.to report & when we got back from going out for the day after 6.00 p.m. it had not been done. Apparently the computers had gone down and we had been missed. They did send someone immediately after phoning them again and it was before dark so it wasn't a problem.
There are bust stops just outside the park and run in both directions every hour which was excellent.
All in all it was good but when you hear that others are getting more than you for the same amount of money it "hurts".

Room Tip: Pot Luck I'm afraid
See more room tips
Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank June H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014 via mobile

I went to Sandford not expecting too much as it was a holiday booked through The Sun voucher system. We'll I was pleasantly surprised. I had a beautiful caravan about 3 mins from reception. The caravan had 3 bedrooms 2 toilets and central heating. Thought I had died and gone to heaven. It was more than I expected. My family and I had a fabulous time(even tho it rained). Plenty of entertainment on site. The staff are all so friendly and helpful. Nothing was too much trouble. One waitress in particular Julie was exceptionally patient with us as I have quite a fussy family with food. We got exactly what was asked for. I will definitely be going there again

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Heather c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Esher, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014 via mobile

As a family (daughter 5) we had a good time. We took our motor home and were surprised at how quiet it was. It is a large site but with so many trees and bushes we felt cosy and secluded. Neighbours kept the noise down it was lovely. Showers hot and lots of water though maybe not enough cubicles, ladies showers too hot . The resort facilities were very good and my daughter loved the kids club. Though we felt the music in the kids disco was not appropriate our daughter had a great time.

Avoid the fish at the fish & chip take away, genuinely the second worst I have ever had anywhere. Fish rubbery, grey & tasteless.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank yogachef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
west midlands
Level Contributor
23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014

Obviously, my expectations for this trip were quite low and overall we came away quite happy. The cliché 'you get what you pay for' is again relevant.

The Caravan

We upgraded to a so called deluxe, it was deluxe because it had heated bedrooms and a microwave. this speaks volumes. It did its job but comfort, warmth and space - very average. Most appliances were worn, some unacceptable, some missing. The kettle suffered badly with limescale, the TV was very small and many appliances were overdue a PAT test. So be wary of this.

The park

Entertainment was the park's strong point. The troopers are great and there's quite a lot to do on site. Arcades, swimming, golf etc etc. The food is OK although they rarely have what you order. I was let down with Mexican chilli, local sausages and kebab meat - gutted. Drinks etc are aplenty. The on site shop is pricey. Staff were untrained and sometimes rude.

Location

This is very poor, Wareham is quite near but very small. Poole and the beach a fair drive. Weymouth 40 mins.

Overall, a cheap and kind of cheerful break. IMO this site has suffered by the amount of visitors it has received and a lack of care.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank flavell7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014 via mobile

Second time back to this site with our touring caravan.
They were sold out online but after giving them a ring - they had a cancellation which we promptly took.
Usual arrival greeting from the ever helpful and genuinely friendly ladies at the Touring & Camping reception. Got to out pitch and it was full of families and children all out playing. My two children couldn't wait to get put of the car!
We promptly set up and my 11 year old went off to find friends whilst my 2 year old pottered around on his ride on.
The showers & the area were immaculate as I'm really fussy about this ... Can't bear the thought of dirty showers etc. and always take flip flops everywhere else. Never needed them here!
Lovely and warm, roomy and ideal for mummy's with children or daddy's with children
My eldest loved the pool party and the site security is second to none. Both my children enjoyed a little (controlled) freedom.
People here are friendly and genuine. Shops not over priced and the chip shop is great if you fancy a treat.
Love this site as it's always clean, tidy and welcoming. Nothing is ever too much trouble for the staff and it's full of like minded families.
Can't wait to go back
Thank you Sandford - I think my usually fussy dysfunctional family love your site!!

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank The_Luxury_Hunters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Holton Heath
8.2 mi away
Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments
4.1 mi away
Premier Inn Poole Centre (Holes Bay) Hotel
3.6 mi away
Springfield Country Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Premier Inn Poole North Hotel
6.6 mi away
The Haven Hotel
The Haven Hotel
#8 of 14 in Poole
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,356 reviews
17.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Rembrandt
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parkdean - Sandford Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parkdean - Sandford Holiday Park

Property: Parkdean - Sandford Holiday Park
Address: Holton Heath, Poole | Dorset, Holton Heath, Wareham, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Wareham > Holton Heath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Holton Heath
Hotel Class:4 star — Parkdean - Sandford Holiday Park 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The family fun never ends on this leafy country park. You'll find fabulous indoor and outdoor pools, amazing tree-house adventure play, lively kids' clubs and a brilliant climbing wall. Not to mention the pirate ship, delicious places to eat and spectacular Showtime Entertainment. In fact there's so much to see and do there's hardly a minute left to explore the glorious countryside location, dive over to Bournemouth beach, discover Durdle Door, dine out at Poole Harbour or monkey around at Monkey World! * A lively family park in a country setting * Close to Wareham Town with River walks * Fantastic indoor and outdoor pools * Stunning contemporary lodges available * Showtime Entertainment every night ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sandford Holiday Park Hotel Holton Heath
Parkdean - Sandford Holiday Park Dorset/Holton Heath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing