We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A short break”
Review of Oakside B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Holton Heath
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Oakside B&B
Ranked #1 of 1 Holton Heath B&B and Inns
Weston-super-Mare, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A short break”
Reviewed 3 April 2013

We found this place to be comfortable and homely with a welcome from delightful hosts. Facilities were first class. The warmth of the lounge was especially welcome in a time of very cold weather.
'Oakside' is well positioned for visits to Kingston Lacy (NT), Poole and Bournemouth as well as the RSPB Reserve at Arne.
We look forward to a return visit later in the year..

Room Tip: The suite with the king size bed was a luxury.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CAV051229
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
markruthwarner, Owner at Oakside B&B, responded to this review, 1 May 2013
We were so glad that you had an enjoyable stay. We love living in an area where there are so many things to see and do throughout the year.

Thank you for your warm comments; and the good thing about being a bird watcher is that each season sees so many new visitors to our shores.

We look forward to seeing you again.

Mark and Ruth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    62
    5
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
13
30
10
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Frinton-On-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2013

I stayed here for a couple of nights as I had a business meeting at Holton Heath industrial area. Ruth and Mark were wonderful hosts, and on our arrival we were offered high tea with home made Dorset apple cake, yummy indeed! Ruth and Mark made us feel right at home a lovely couple.

Full english breakfast with homemade sourdough bread a first for me, again extremely yummy! The breakfast room overlooks a horse paddock and you can watch the wildlife, lots of birds, from your breakfast table. Idyllic location with two fabulous host, who were both extremely attentive to our needs. Would recommend this B&B for a stop over or a longer stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Ives, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2013

Great hosts and a very comfortable, well organised house. Breakfasts fit for a king! I wrote in their guest book that it felt like I was visiting family. I wouldn't hesitate to stay there again. Even though the weather was very bad outside, inside was warm and comfortable. Ruth and Mark were very welcoming hosts.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gingerbeardman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 November 2012

A lovely warm, comfortable and welcoming place to stay. Ruth and Mark were perfect hosts and the tea and home made cake on arrival after a long drive was very welcome! Breakfast was first class too. A quiet and attractive location away from the road with ample parking immediately outside. I only stayed for one night but would love to return for a longer stay. I can highly recommend Oakside.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlteaFR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
markruthwarner, Owner at Oakside B&B, responded to this review, 15 November 2012
John, we are delighted that you enjoyed your brief stay -- so sorry the weather wasn't ideal for your photography in the Purbecks; when it is more clement, we hope you will be able to return to take full advantage of your expertise in photographing these special landscapes. Ruth and Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macclesfield, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2012

My husband and I stayed at Oakside for 2 nights in July and didn't want to leave! We had the good fortune to have the King Bedded Double room with en-suite and the bed was sheer heaven. The décor was superb and Ruth's breakfasts are second to non! all though we didn't make use of the tea/coffee facilities in our room, we did enjoy the home made cakes that she very kindly left on the tray, every day. The fact that Ruth searches out interesting places for you to visit while staying in her beautiful home, tells you the type of person she is. A wonderful, warm, multi-tasking superwoman!

We will definitely be going back to Oakside again.

Room Tip: The King Bedded Double has a bed to die for! it was so comfortable that we didn't want to get up...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julia-Turner-72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 August 2012

We stayed just 1 night at Oakside to attend a party in Poole harbour, and then travelled the next day to Jersey by ferry. We would have been happy to stay longer. Our party of 5, aged from 13 to 59, occupied all 3 rooms.
A very warm greeting from Mark and Ruth and a welcome cup of tea with delicious home made cake set the tone. The rooms are clean, and well presented, with tea and coffee making facilities and home made goodies like shortbread. Oakside is in a quiet spot overlooking the adjoining paddocks and fields on one side and a pretty enclosed garden on the other. There's little or no trafic noise, yet it's easy to find and close enough to the main road to get around the area.
And then there is breakfast. The choice of cereals, yogurts, juices, etc was as good as any you'd get in a smart hotel. And the cooked breakfast, which we all had, was better. Not to mention the fruit, toast, home made breads and preserves that we were lucky enough to be offered. As good a breakfast as you'd get anywhere.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank InvictaDix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
markruthwarner, Owner at Oakside B&B, responded to this review, 17 August 2012
Thank you! It makes our efforts worthwhile when we receive such favourable and detailed reviews.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brighton england
Level Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2012

Just back from 2 nights at Oakside. We had the small double (as the king size room was already booked), and yes it is a little small in size but in no way cramped and the bed was exceedingly comfortable. The tea & coffee making facilities in the room were very welcome as we're the home made goodies left on the tray!
What makes this B&B special are Mark & Ruth, from their warm welcome (with tea & Dorset Apple cake) and interesting conversation one feels immediately at home. A special mention must go to the extensive breakfasts which personally we do not think could be bettered.
It's a lovely B&B in a beautiful setting and we will certainly be visiting again.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank windy.z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
markruthwarner, Owner at Oakside B&B, responded to this review, 17 August 2012
We found it a real pleasure to share our hospitality with you. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Holton Heath
4.4 mi away
Travelodge Poole Hotel
3.8 mi away
Springfield Country Hotel
2.7 mi away
The Anglebury House
The Anglebury House
#3 of 3 in Wareham
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
RNLI College
RNLI College
#1 of 13 in Poole
777 reviews
2.2 mi away
Twiga House Bed and Breakfast
3.2 mi away
Frome Corner
Frome Corner
#13 of 23 in Wareham
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oakside B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oakside B&B

Property: Oakside B&B
Address: Oakside Organford Road | Wareham, Holton Heath, Wareham BH16 6LA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Wareham > Holton Heath
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Holton Heath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oakside is in Southern England on the edge of Dorset's Isle of Purbeck, which forms the eastern end of the Jurassic Coast, a UNESCO World Heritage Site. This area of outstanding natural beauty and abundant wildlife includes many other attractions including the venue for 2012 Olympic Sailing events at Portland. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Oakside B&B Dorset/Holton Heath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing