We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Warm Reception”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Oakside B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Holton Heath
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Oakside B&B
Ranked #1 of 1 Holton Heath B&B and Inns
Winchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Warm Reception”
Reviewed 16 September 2013

A very pleasant stay indeed, welcomed by a cuppa, piece of Dorset apple cake and a parking space for our tandem we could not have wished for a better reception.

Warm, clean and tidy with a fantastic breakfast.

Thank you both (Ruth & Mark) for looking after us.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ScooterPalacio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    61
    5
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
13
29
10
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2013

We would have preferred to stay two nights, but unfortunately, the time we booked was during the school holidays. However, our one night stay confirmed that this B n B is excellent. Ruth provides the most wonderful breakfast, and the room we had was so comfortable, getting up was quite a chore. Ruth's welcome with Dorset apple cake and tea was surprising and most welcome after a harrowing drive from London.
Ruth is a very informative and friendly host. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Book early.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stuart S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kettering, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013

From the time we arrived to the time we left Mark and Ruth made us so welcome and we both really wished we could have stayed longer. It's horrible coming home to just cereal but unfortunately Ruth wouldn't come home with us to cook our breakfast! We will definitely be coming back to the nice comfortable beds and very clean modern rooms.
Thanks again.
Mark and Ruth

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Davieyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 11 May 2013

Very comfortable single room, the breakfasts were magnificent - really set me up for the day. The location was ideal for touring the Purbeck area with many National Trust places easily accessible. Ruth and Mark were most welcoming and helpful with suggestions for places of special interest. I would certainly recommend Oakside.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 May 2013

This was our third stay at Oakside, having stayed here twice the previous year. It's now almost a home from home, though I wish my own home was as lovely as this. Ruth and Mark are great hosts and make you feel very welcome. Spotlessly clean rooms, though admittedly a little on the small side. Home made cakes and bread and a quiet location. Lovely breakfasts. Ruth even made a surprise birthday cake for me! Needless to say, we'll be back again.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lindytownsend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chippenham
1 review
Reviewed 21 April 2013

This place is fantastic, I'm so glad we found it. The location is quiet and surrounded by beautiful countryside, and for us the ideal base to visit the many bird-watching sites along this part of the Dorset coast. Mark and Ruth were wonderfully welcoming and seemed to have anticipated our every need. The bed was very comfortable, room facilities excellent, and the breakfast was delicious, including home-make bread and fresh fruit salad. Really, the best B&B we have stayed at for a very long time!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weston-super-Mare, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 April 2013

We found this place to be comfortable and homely with a welcome from delightful hosts. Facilities were first class. The warmth of the lounge was especially welcome in a time of very cold weather.
'Oakside' is well positioned for visits to Kingston Lacy (NT), Poole and Bournemouth as well as the RSPB Reserve at Arne.
We look forward to a return visit later in the year..

Room Tip: The suite with the king size bed was a luxury.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CAV051229
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
markruthwarner, Owner at Oakside B&B, responded to this review, 1 May 2013
We were so glad that you had an enjoyable stay. We love living in an area where there are so many things to see and do throughout the year.

Thank you for your warm comments; and the good thing about being a bird watcher is that each season sees so many new visitors to our shores.

We look forward to seeing you again.

Mark and Ruth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Holton Heath
4.2 mi away
Premier Inn Poole Centre (Holes Bay) Hotel
4.3 mi away
Premier Inn Poole North Hotel
4.3 mi away
Hotel du Vin Poole
Hotel du Vin Poole
#5 of 13 in Poole
1,112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
The Priory Hotel
The Priory Hotel
#1 of 3 in Wareham
327 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Anglebury House
The Anglebury House
#3 of 3 in Wareham
63 reviews
3.2 mi away
Frome Corner
Frome Corner
#12 of 23 in Wareham
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oakside B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oakside B&B

Property: Oakside B&B
Address: Oakside Organford Road | Wareham, Holton Heath, Wareham BH16 6LA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Wareham > Holton Heath
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Holton Heath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oakside is in Southern England on the edge of Dorset's Isle of Purbeck, which forms the eastern end of the Jurassic Coast, a UNESCO World Heritage Site. This area of outstanding natural beauty and abundant wildlife includes many other attractions including the venue for 2012 Olympic Sailing events at Portland. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Oakside B&B Dorset/Holton Heath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing