We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“relaxing in a little history” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Old Forge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Old Forge
Certificate of Excellence
Exmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“relaxing in a little history”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2013

A great bank holiday weekend spent in 'The Smithy' (self catering) part ofThe Old Forge. Owners Tim and Lucy Kerridge have choice of accommodation including b and b. The Smithy was comfortable,different and relaxing. Ideal for couples and if walkers a great location, walk from the door.

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank walkers15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    84
    6
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
76
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2013

We had a great weekend break in the Shepherd's hut. It was brilliantly decorated with relevant memorabilia and vintage items. The stove kept us warm and the little touches like the homemade biscuits, the OS map for our use, and the memoirs of the guy who used to own the Shepherd's hut made it feel very welcoming. I thought it might feel small and cramped but the layout and decor made it just feel very cosy and not cramped at all. The addition of the "tuck shop" with fridge and sink was very useful, and the bathroom was good too. Having the animals roaming around was great and added to the novelty. The breakfast was delicious and Lucy and Tim were friendly and helpful without being over the top - I get the impression they do this because they love it, and that comes through in the way they run The Old Forge.

All in all it was a good way to spend a weekend doing something a bit different!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank icedgems
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2013

It may have been bitterly out side,but the genuine warmth of the personal welcome and introduction to The Smithy self catering unit by Lucy, immediately convinced my wife and I that we had indeed found a special place..On opening The Smithy's door, we were greeted by the warmth of the wood burning heater, Flowers on the table and biscuits by the kettle..The kitchen was very well equipped, enabling meals to be cooked with out the need to double up on anything.Sleeping, not a problem, thanks to a wonderfully comfortable bed.Memrobillia relating to a "Smithy",( informed by Tim that it was indeed left from the original working Smithy) adds atmosphere and evokes memories of when as a child, I would watch a Black Smith ., and see him working his bellows and pounding out red hot iron on his anvil.
How much did we enjoy our stay , enough to want to procrastinate our departure, our three days were wonderful.There will be no doubt we will return.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnandDeanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2013

I booked the self catering option of The Smithy for a surprise for my boyfriend's birthday. The information requested and provided by Lucy before we booked was excellent and when we arrived the fire had been lit, which was a lovely welcome. We also had the choice of a cooked breakfast in the main B&B or a continental option, the latter of which we plumped for and the quantity and quality were very welcome. The kitchen is well appointed, the sitting room is a lovely space to relax in and we loved the style of the Smithy - lots of original tools and rustic decoration (not to mention the Lagonda in the nearby garage!). There was even a Xmas tree to keep with the season! We had a very relaxing two nights stay and Lucy recommended two great places to eat. I'd highly recommend this as a unique and romantic place to stay.

Room Tip: Go for the Smithy if you prefer a self catering option
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank summee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Glos England
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2012 via mobile

We have stayed inRosie on two occasions ,TIm and Lucy such welcoming hosts , scrumptious breakfast with fresh locally sourced produce !
We were very lucky with weather although had one rainy night but snuggled under the down duvet cosy and romantic .
Good local pubs ,well worth the drive and plenty of places to visit including Shaftesbury's famous Hovis hill .
Great Italian in the old Chapel too ! All in all a fab place , can't wait to try Sam the shepherds hut :-) x

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NataSouthGlosEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Sussex
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2012

I have just returned from a weekend away in Sam the Shepherds Hut it was a surprise birthday treat . I was very excited because I have wanted to own one for a while and my husband thought the experience would be good for me first! On arriving Tim and Lucy Kerridge were friendly and warm in their welcome. Sam is exactly as the photo's show.We followed Tim over the style and along the path to a well lit stable door and into a delightful room of nostalgia. Lucy had lit 'Peawee ' a little wood burning stove which made the hut warm and cosy. Inside were little touches to make our stay an enjoyable one. Flowers , Home made biscuits, Radio and tea or coffee and Old fashioned board games.The best part of the experience was leaving behind all the modern day technology which takes over our lives We found a rare time to enjoy each others company.
We had dry weather although it was very cold but knowing we had Sam to return to after our exploring of the Dorset countryside made it all the more enticing. You have breakfast in The Old Forge B&B and it is delicious good choice's,locally sourced food, homemade bread,apple juice and beautifully cooked. Well deserving of the award they received this year.
Once again Thank you to Tim and Lucy for a memorable time.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alison R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Sussex
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2012

It is very easy to get carried away by the 'romance' of a stay in a gypsy caravan, but I thought it might be helpful to have some straightforward facts about my stay,with my husband, for 3 nights at the beginning of October 2012. First the good:-
1)Tim & Lucy Kerridge are lovely people, and were very welcoming and friendly. They have a penchant for collecting relics of the past, and have restored/enlarged their house with a sensitive eye on its history.
2)As many have said before, the breakafast is outstanding. We could (and did) choose fresh berries and creamy natural yogurt, cereals, and a 'full english' which was delicious and cooked to perfection. All the food is organic and sourced as locally as possible. Lucy makes her own bread and marmalade. I could have gone on eating her toast all day long!
3)Rosie has been lovingly and faithfully restored, and you can read all about Gypsy Caravans in the book provided.
4) Rosie was dry and warm, with plenty of cupboards for storage
5) The bed was comfortable (but see below)
6) Rosie was spotlessly clean
7) Rosie is sited in her own little paddock, with views to the hills, horses and a donkey grazing nearby and curious chickens coming to check you out on your arrival. You have your own barbecue, and patio table and chairs
8) There are some smashing pubs nearby, serving high quality food in a friendly atmosphere
Now the not so good:-
1) The bed, although comfortable, is shorter and narrower than your average double. If you are over 6ft tall, or rather on the large side, you might find it a bit of a squash for 2. It is also raised up by about 4ft, with no step, so you have to haul yourself on to it. This could be a problem if you are very small or have mobility problems (I found it an effort, I am 5ft 3 and have one weak arm)
2) The entrance to Rosie is up a flight of wooden steps. This could be tricky if you have mobility problems
3) There is only one small bench seat in Rosie, big enough for one. Any other occupant has to sit on the bed
4) We noticed that the kettle has a flex of the old, fabric-covered type, and there did not appear to be a smoke alarm fitted anywhere. Whilst I appreciate the effort to maintain authenticity, I am not convinced that these items conform to basic safety standards. Sleeping in a wooden caravan without a smoke alarm?
5) If you are unlucky with the weather (as we were) there is nothing to do, nowhere to go except out, and the location of The Old Forge on a very busy main road meant that we couldn't even walk to the nearest pub, having to take the car each time.
6) Occupants have their own toilet/shower room a short walk away. Before our arrival, some dry leaves had blown in. These were never cleared away, and the floor was somewhat dusty, not ideal when you step dripping from the shower. Otherwise, it was clean. But BE WARNED! If your toilet habits require you to get up through the night, you might find the nightime trek to the loo more than you bargained for
Overall, I would say that this would be an ideal choice, for one or two nights, when the weather is fine. Otherwise, you may find yourself wishing you had stayed somewhere a bit more user-friendly

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sossij
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim and Lucy K, Owner at The Old Forge, responded to this review, 16 October 2012
We are so sorry that you were not entirely happy with your stay in Rosie our Gypsy Caravan.
The size of the bed is clearly stated on our website. It is the original bed as is the all the furniture inside.
We would have been more than happy to lend you a stool to assist you in getting in to bed.
We are both passionate about preserving this original 1934 Gypsy Caravan and feel it would be sacrilege to make any major structural changes to it. We have adapted the original steps by putting up a hand rail.
The kettle flex has been checked by a qualified electrician and is perfectly safe to use. We could of course put a smoke alarm in there though we feel it is very low risk as we do not allow any naked flame in there. The heating is electric and discreetly hidden underneath the original stove.
We are sorry about the weather but this is unfortunately something that we are unable to change. Our guests are more than welcome to use our breakfast room during the day.
The bathroom door opens directly outside and in the Autumn it is inevitable that some leaves come in. The distance to the bathroom is also clearly stated on our website.
We feel that you perhaps chose the wrong accommodation for you. We have two lovely B&B rooms in the house with en-suite bathrooms which may have been more suited to your needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Compton Abbas
7.7 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#1 of 2 in Blandford Forum
4.0 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
2.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN The Royal Chase Hotel
5.4 mi away
The Crown Inn
The Crown Inn
#1 of 4 in Sturminster Newton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
The Grove Arms
The Grove Arms
#1 of 1 in Ludwell
4.0 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Grosvenor Arms
The Grosvenor Arms
#1 of 2 in Shaftesbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
0.9 mi away
Fontmell Magna B&B
Fontmell Magna B&B
#2 of 3 in Fontmell Magna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Forge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Forge

Property: The Old Forge
Address: The Old Forge Chapel Hill The OLD FORGE | Nr Shaftesbury, Compton Abbas SP7 0NQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Compton Abbas
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Compton Abbas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of the Cranborne Chase, The Old Forge is the perfect retreat for those looking to appreciate the slower pace of life. The 18th Century former Carriage and Wheelwrights workshops have been transformed to create a charming Bed and Breakfast and two self-catering cottages with unique appeal. Constantly evolving, recent years have seen the introduction of Sam the Shepherd's Hut and Rosie the 1934 Gypsy Caravan embracing the 'glamping' revolution.Taste of the West 2012 gold award, and national award - the 'Old Favourites Award' from Alastair Sawdays 2013/14. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Old Forge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Forge Hotel Compton Abbas
The Old Forge Compton Abbas, Dorset, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing