We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rosie the Gypsy caravan was retro dream.”
Review of The Old Forge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Old Forge
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Rosie the Gypsy caravan was retro dream.”
Reviewed 17 June 2013

Lucy and Tim made us very welcome and nothing was too much trouble. Rosie was everything we were expecting. Tim has done a superb job on the restoration with lots of attention to detail. The breakfast was excellent being cooked to order from locally source products. Lucy's home made bread, jam and marmalade was some of the best we had tasted. A new little bonus was the tuck shop. All in all a delightful place to stay. Next time we like to try B & B in the 'Smithy'.
Linda & Peter

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    88
    6
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
79
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Newquay, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 10 June 2013

I wanted a relaxing a special weekend away with my girlfriend and we wasn't disappointed. From the moment we arrived we fell in love we the beautiful building and location. Upon arrival we were greeted by the amazing Tim and Lucy, tea, coffee and an incredible chocolate brownie. Their passion is infectious and is reflected in the work they have done at the Old Forge. We stayed in the Blue Room which was perfect for a couple. Very quirky, a lovely comfortable bed, wardrobe and sink with a bathroom for our personal use just down the hallway. It also has a TV but we were more interested in viewing the stunning memorabilia, cars and the surrounding area....we forgot TV existed!!! A cooked breakfast which I could happily wake up to every morning, fresh local produce accompanied by freshly squeezed apple juice was beautiful. Tim gave us a tour of his workshops which he uses to restore classic cars, which are to the same high standard as the B&B and some of the other rooms/buildings available. When we return for another stay, The Smithy is on the top of the list for booking, I cannot recommend this incredible place enough and neither of us wanted to leave.

Room Tip: Whichever room you choose - you won't be disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2013

This is a gorgeous little, family run place with a mixture of glamping and B&B-ing. We went with our two very small children who were delighted with the dogs, horses and chickens to say hello to alongside the bikes and on site play area. The sun shone, the sausages sizzled and all was well with the world. Great gastro pub 1 mile away. Just lovely with Tim and Lucy being the icing on the ginger cake! As well as the marriage proposal of some other guests that took place whilst we were there. Really great place.

Room Tip: The B&B rooms and the glamping areas are quite different. Look on line for what you require.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Esther B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2013

A great bank holiday weekend spent in 'The Smithy' (self catering) part ofThe Old Forge. Owners Tim and Lucy Kerridge have choice of accommodation including b and b. The Smithy was comfortable,different and relaxing. Ideal for couples and if walkers a great location, walk from the door.

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank walkers15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
47 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2013

We had a great weekend break in the Shepherd's hut. It was brilliantly decorated with relevant memorabilia and vintage items. The stove kept us warm and the little touches like the homemade biscuits, the OS map for our use, and the memoirs of the guy who used to own the Shepherd's hut made it feel very welcoming. I thought it might feel small and cramped but the layout and decor made it just feel very cosy and not cramped at all. The addition of the "tuck shop" with fridge and sink was very useful, and the bathroom was good too. Having the animals roaming around was great and added to the novelty. The breakfast was delicious and Lucy and Tim were friendly and helpful without being over the top - I get the impression they do this because they love it, and that comes through in the way they run The Old Forge.

All in all it was a good way to spend a weekend doing something a bit different!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank icedgems
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2013

It may have been bitterly out side,but the genuine warmth of the personal welcome and introduction to The Smithy self catering unit by Lucy, immediately convinced my wife and I that we had indeed found a special place..On opening The Smithy's door, we were greeted by the warmth of the wood burning heater, Flowers on the table and biscuits by the kettle..The kitchen was very well equipped, enabling meals to be cooked with out the need to double up on anything.Sleeping, not a problem, thanks to a wonderfully comfortable bed.Memrobillia relating to a "Smithy",( informed by Tim that it was indeed left from the original working Smithy) adds atmosphere and evokes memories of when as a child, I would watch a Black Smith ., and see him working his bellows and pounding out red hot iron on his anvil.
How much did we enjoy our stay , enough to want to procrastinate our departure, our three days were wonderful.There will be no doubt we will return.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnandDeanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 January 2013

I booked the self catering option of The Smithy for a surprise for my boyfriend's birthday. The information requested and provided by Lucy before we booked was excellent and when we arrived the fire had been lit, which was a lovely welcome. We also had the choice of a cooked breakfast in the main B&B or a continental option, the latter of which we plumped for and the quantity and quality were very welcome. The kitchen is well appointed, the sitting room is a lovely space to relax in and we loved the style of the Smithy - lots of original tools and rustic decoration (not to mention the Lagonda in the nearby garage!). There was even a Xmas tree to keep with the season! We had a very relaxing two nights stay and Lucy recommended two great places to eat. I'd highly recommend this as a unique and romantic place to stay.

Room Tip: Go for the Smithy if you prefer a self catering option
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank summee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Compton Abbas
2.8 mi away
The Grosvenor Arms
The Grosvenor Arms
#1 of 2 in Shaftesbury
389 reviews
2.5 mi away
Best Western Shaftesbury The Royal Chase Hotel
3.4 mi away
The Grove Arms
The Grove Arms
#1 of 1 in Ludwell
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.2 mi away
The Pembroke Arms Hotel
5.4 mi away
The Crown Inn
The Crown Inn
#1 of 4 in Sturminster Newton
131 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Talbot
The Talbot
#1 of 2 in Iwerne Minster
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Forge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Forge

Property: The Old Forge
Address: The Old Forge Chapel Hill The OLD FORGE | Nr Shaftesbury, Compton Abbas SP7 0NQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Compton Abbas
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Compton Abbas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Old Forge 3*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of the Cranborne Chase, The Old Forge is the perfect retreat for those looking to appreciate the slower pace of life. The 18th Century former Carriage and Wheelwrights workshops have been transformed to create a charming Bed and Breakfast and a self-catering cottage with unique appeal. Constantly evolving, recent years have seen the introduction of Sam and Mabel the Shepherd's Huts and Rosie the 1934 Gypsy Caravan embracing the 'glamping' revolution. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Old Forge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Forge Hotel Compton Abbas
The Old Forge Compton Abbas, Dorset, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing