We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful and retro”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Old Forge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Old Forge
Certificate of Excellence
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Wonderful and retro”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2013

We have just had our second two night stay in the green room at the Old Forge. It is a lovely place. Wonderfully retro in style - Lucy keeps a super house with brilliant home made cake with tea when we arrived, breakfast with local produce and their own free range eggs - Lucy also makes her own bread and marmalade - Tim is a great waiter! The room is beamed and with a brass bedstead and en-suite shower room and lovely old shabby chic painted furniture. Tim and Lucy are very welcoming and now feel like friends. Tim is seriously involved in classic cars, and if you arrive in one of those, as we did, you feel a bit like royalty. A great place to relax and see the beautiful countryside. Little touches like biscuits with the great choice of tea in the room, and fresh milk and not that awful UHT stuff - in a little fridge on the landing - really do make a difference. Tim is always onto a new project, and loves being at home, and I do not blame him.

Room Tip: The green room has an en-suite, whereas the blue room has a separate bathroom on the landing - not a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lesley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    85
    6
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
77
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2013

Just returned from a fantastic unique weekend staying in the shepherds hut at the Old Forge. The weather was perfect for enjoying the Dorset countryside,we were made to feel very welcome by the owners Tim and Lucy,the creators of a very special holiday place.We started the day with a breakfast that was of a quality only found in genuine farmhouse bed and breakfasts.Thanks for a very memorable weekend I am sure we wil return soon even if we are not as fortunate with the weather.

Room Tip: We used Sam the shepherds hut but there are also two cottages, a Romany caravan and rooms within The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edancy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2013

Lucy and Tim made us very welcome and nothing was too much trouble. Rosie was everything we were expecting. Tim has done a superb job on the restoration with lots of attention to detail. The breakfast was excellent being cooked to order from locally source products. Lucy's home made bread, jam and marmalade was some of the best we had tasted. A new little bonus was the tuck shop. All in all a delightful place to stay. Next time we like to try B & B in the 'Smithy'.
Linda & Peter

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newquay, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2013

I wanted a relaxing a special weekend away with my girlfriend and we wasn't disappointed. From the moment we arrived we fell in love we the beautiful building and location. Upon arrival we were greeted by the amazing Tim and Lucy, tea, coffee and an incredible chocolate brownie. Their passion is infectious and is reflected in the work they have done at the Old Forge. We stayed in the Blue Room which was perfect for a couple. Very quirky, a lovely comfortable bed, wardrobe and sink with a bathroom for our personal use just down the hallway. It also has a TV but we were more interested in viewing the stunning memorabilia, cars and the surrounding area....we forgot TV existed!!! A cooked breakfast which I could happily wake up to every morning, fresh local produce accompanied by freshly squeezed apple juice was beautiful. Tim gave us a tour of his workshops which he uses to restore classic cars, which are to the same high standard as the B&B and some of the other rooms/buildings available. When we return for another stay, The Smithy is on the top of the list for booking, I cannot recommend this incredible place enough and neither of us wanted to leave.

Room Tip: Whichever room you choose - you won't be disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2013

This is a gorgeous little, family run place with a mixture of glamping and B&B-ing. We went with our two very small children who were delighted with the dogs, horses and chickens to say hello to alongside the bikes and on site play area. The sun shone, the sausages sizzled and all was well with the world. Great gastro pub 1 mile away. Just lovely with Tim and Lucy being the icing on the ginger cake! As well as the marriage proposal of some other guests that took place whilst we were there. Really great place.

Room Tip: The B&B rooms and the glamping areas are quite different. Look on line for what you require.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Esther B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2013

A great bank holiday weekend spent in 'The Smithy' (self catering) part ofThe Old Forge. Owners Tim and Lucy Kerridge have choice of accommodation including b and b. The Smithy was comfortable,different and relaxing. Ideal for couples and if walkers a great location, walk from the door.

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank walkers15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2013

We had a great weekend break in the Shepherd's hut. It was brilliantly decorated with relevant memorabilia and vintage items. The stove kept us warm and the little touches like the homemade biscuits, the OS map for our use, and the memoirs of the guy who used to own the Shepherd's hut made it feel very welcoming. I thought it might feel small and cramped but the layout and decor made it just feel very cosy and not cramped at all. The addition of the "tuck shop" with fridge and sink was very useful, and the bathroom was good too. Having the animals roaming around was great and added to the novelty. The breakfast was delicious and Lucy and Tim were friendly and helpful without being over the top - I get the impression they do this because they love it, and that comes through in the way they run The Old Forge.

All in all it was a good way to spend a weekend doing something a bit different!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank icedgems
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Compton Abbas
7.7 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#1 of 2 in Blandford Forum
4.0 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
2.5 mi away
Best Western Shaftesbury The Royal Chase Hotel
2.8 mi away
The Grosvenor Arms
The Grosvenor Arms
#1 of 2 in Shaftesbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
The Crown Inn
The Crown Inn
#1 of 4 in Sturminster Newton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Grove Arms
The Grove Arms
#1 of 1 in Ludwell
4.0 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Talbot
The Talbot
#1 of 2 in Iwerne Minster
4.5 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Forge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Forge

Property: The Old Forge
Address: The Old Forge Chapel Hill The OLD FORGE | Nr Shaftesbury, Compton Abbas SP7 0NQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Compton Abbas
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Compton Abbas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of the Cranborne Chase, The Old Forge is the perfect retreat for those looking to appreciate the slower pace of life. The 18th Century former Carriage and Wheelwrights workshops have been transformed to create a charming Bed and Breakfast and two self-catering cottages with unique appeal. Constantly evolving, recent years have seen the introduction of Sam the Shepherd's Hut and Rosie the 1934 Gypsy Caravan embracing the 'glamping' revolution.Taste of the West 2012 gold award, and national award - the 'Old Favourites Award' from Alastair Sawdays 2013/14. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Old Forge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Forge Hotel Compton Abbas
The Old Forge Compton Abbas, Dorset, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing