We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best B&B in Dorset”
Review of The Old Forge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Old Forge
Reviewed 9 September 2013

Thanks to Tim & Lucy for a great weekend staying in the Smithy. Very comfortable, excellent breakfasts and great hospitality. It was nice to meet the animals too. We can't recommend this accommodation enough, will definitely visit again. Rob & Amy

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rob C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (103)
There are newer reviews for The Old Forge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

59 - 65 of 103 reviews

Reviewed 28 August 2013

My husband and I stayed in Rosie the Gypsy Caravan over the bank holiday weekend. We had a fantastic time. The caravan was compact, cosy and beautifully restored. It was lovely. We had sweeping views of the countryside form our caravan, and a family of chickens, Scrumpy Jack the donkey and a horse for neighbours! They were adorable. A very peaceful setting and a relief when you want to get away from the stresses of city life.

Lots of nice pubs around. You definitely need to book ahead if you plan to eat in one of them, as we were turned away from 3 before finally finding somewhere to have dinner on a Saturday night.

The owners Tim and Lucy were lovely too. Friendly and hospitable, and on hand if you needed any local information. Tim PLEASE do build that BBQ area that you talked about! Breakfast was made from locally sourced ingredients and was delicious.

Can’t wait to try out the Shepherds hut next time!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank YWeeks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2013

We have just returned from a very special 2 night stay in Rosie.

Husband and wife team Tim and Lucy are certainly in the right profession "hospitality" what a charming couple.

Now to Rosie, we are usually strictly 5 star all the way so this was way out of our comfort zone (having never been camping, or glamping) but we were very happy. Rosie was cosy and welcoming, as were the hens donkey and horse.

The area is a great base to explore the coast or beautiful countryside.

The breakfast was dirty! (that means delicious where we live Tim haha).

We were lucky enough to have a full tour of all the accommodation on offer, it is truly a unique, homely and wholesome place to stay, we will definitely be back!!!!

Thank you so much x

Room Tip: All are excellent.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CnD08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013

Just simply a lovely place run by lovely people. Perfect breakfasts with fresh home made and local produce.
An ideal place to discover Dorset, the local area with wonderful pubs (The Compasses at Lower Chicksworth just fantastic location and food) and even the coast which is approx. 1 hour drive but worth it for the walking and scenery. The Old Forge is quirky and different, not run-of-the-mill B&B. view their web site for photos and a full description. If that is what you like book it, you won't regret it. We had a superb 3 day break full of activity, relaxation and super food, oh and great weather. Will be back. Steve and Alison, Derbyshire.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Steve G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2013

We stayed here with family at the beginning of July and were incredibly fortunate to bag 'The Smithy' which was perfect for us and our 8month old baby, plenty of space! Lucy and Tim were brilliant and have turned their home into an extremely unique and special place for people to stay. We were lucky enough to have breakfast served outside in the sunshine every morning accompanied by their 3 dogs :) everything cooked to order and sourced locally it was perfect! There is a great pub about 5 minutes away which was recommended to us if you fancy a change of scenery but not necessary as the b&b has plenty to offer if you just want to unwind and take in the scenery! Great rooms (we managed to view them all) would definitely return again possibly child free to make use of ' Rosie'
Thank you Tim and Lucy x

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nea23Maldives
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2013

We have just had our second two night stay in the green room at the Old Forge. It is a lovely place. Wonderfully retro in style - Lucy keeps a super house with brilliant home made cake with tea when we arrived, breakfast with local produce and their own free range eggs - Lucy also makes her own bread and marmalade - Tim is a great waiter! The room is beamed and with a brass bedstead and en-suite shower room and lovely old shabby chic painted furniture. Tim and Lucy are very welcoming and now feel like friends. Tim is seriously involved in classic cars, and if you arrive in one of those, as we did, you feel a bit like royalty. A great place to relax and see the beautiful countryside. Little touches like biscuits with the great choice of tea in the room, and fresh milk and not that awful UHT stuff - in a little fridge on the landing - really do make a difference. Tim is always onto a new project, and loves being at home, and I do not blame him.

Room Tip: The green room has an en-suite, whereas the blue room has a separate bathroom on the landing - not a...
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lesley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2013

Just returned from a fantastic unique weekend staying in the shepherds hut at the Old Forge. The weather was perfect for enjoying the Dorset countryside,we were made to feel very welcome by the owners Tim and Lucy,the creators of a very special holiday place.We started the day with a breakfast that was of a quality only found in genuine farmhouse bed and breakfasts.Thanks for a very memorable weekend I am sure we wil return soon even if we are not as fortunate with the weather.

Room Tip: We used Sam the shepherds hut but there are also two cottages, a Romany caravan and rooms within The...
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Edancy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Compton Abbas
3.4 mi away
The Grove Arms
The Grove Arms
#1 of 1 in Ludwell
203 reviews
2.5 mi away
Best Western Shaftesbury The Royal Chase Hotel
7.7 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#1 of 2 in Blandford Forum
467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
The Grosvenor Arms
The Grosvenor Arms
#1 of 2 in Shaftesbury
426 reviews
7.6 mi away
The Langton Arms
The Langton Arms
#1 of 1 in Tarrant Monkton
302 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Talbot
The Talbot
#1 of 2 in Iwerne Minster
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Forge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Forge

Address: The Old Forge Chapel Hill The OLD FORGE | Nr Shaftesbury, Compton Abbas SP7 0NQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Compton Abbas
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Compton Abbas
Price Range: £72 - £153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Old Forge 3*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of the Cranborne Chase, The Old Forge is the perfect retreat for those looking to appreciate the slower pace of life. The 18th Century former Carriage and Wheelwrights workshops have been transformed to create a charming Bed and Breakfast and a self-catering cottage with unique appeal. Constantly evolving, recent years have seen the introduction of Sam and Mabel the Shepherd's Huts and Rosie the 1934 Gypsy Caravan embracing the 'glamping' revolution. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your The Old Forge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Forge Hotel Compton Abbas
The Old Forge Compton Abbas, Dorset, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing